1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Eyefinity Active Display Adapter

Discussion in 'AMD / ATI' started by Aceman.au, Dec 30, 2011.

  1. Aceman.au

    Aceman.au

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2008
    Messages:
    1,506 (0.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    80
  2. kciaccio New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2009
    Messages:
    366 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    46
  3. Aceman.au

    Aceman.au

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2008
    Messages:
    1,506 (0.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    80
    Oh bugger... Already ordered it... Oh well
     
  4. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    43,514 (10.94/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10,711
    Location:
    Australalalalalaia.
    active means they need power, so how can you have an active one that doesnt use power?


    and the reason the one he got was so expensive was because its mini DP to DVI, for whatever reason those cost more.
     
  5. Aceman.au

    Aceman.au

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2008
    Messages:
    1,506 (0.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    80
    I think they're called Passive adapters if they have no USB power... I dunno, just a guess
     
  6. BrooksyX

    BrooksyX

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2008
    Messages:
    3,947 (1.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    569
    my mini dp to dvi adapter isnt powered and its active.

    This is the one I have: http://www.amazon.com/dp/B004071ZXA/?tag=tec06d-20

    I know its active because I made the mistake of buying a passive one first (well actually twice haha :banghead:)
     
  7. Aceman.au

    Aceman.au

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2008
    Messages:
    1,506 (0.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    80
    Oh well... Might as well have overkill then not enough
     
  8. wiak

    wiak

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2004
    Messages:
    1,794 (0.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    212
    Location:
    The Kingdom of Norway
    Expensive Active DP to DVI-DL (Dual Link) supports upto 2560x1600 resolution
    Cheaper Active DP to DVI-SL (Single Link) supports upto 1920x1200 resolution
    so if you have a 27/30" monitor then get the expensive one, if you dont the cheaper ones are good enough ;)
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page