1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Eyefinity Cost = Anger?

Discussion in 'AMD / ATI' started by bpgt64, Feb 19, 2010.

?

How much pain?

Poll closed Mar 1, 2010.
  1. Your going to die

    15 vote(s)
    34.1%
  2. Your going to be bruised

    10 vote(s)
    22.7%
  3. Your going to be ok

    2 vote(s)
    4.5%
  4. Idk, this is dumb.

    17 vote(s)
    38.6%
  1. bpgt64

    bpgt64

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2008
    Messages:
    1,481 (0.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    193
    Location:
    ATL, GA
    So I just ordered two more 24inch moniters from microcenter...for eyefinity on my HD 5870 CFs......How much am I going to be hit tonight by my wife?


    No seriusly, I just ordered two off brand 24 inch moniters cus they were only 150 bucks a pop, one was actually 130 open box. Going to see if its worth it! However I am worried about differing pixel pitch, my current 24 has .270, the new ones have .272... not sure if .002 is going to make that much of a difference.

    Also I should be able to use the two DVIs and an HDMI for the monitors no? I have heard some nonsense about the D-Port?

    I have ordered an Active Display Adapter, one approved by AMD
     
    Last edited: Feb 21, 2010
    MKmods says thanks.
  2. Fourstaff

    Fourstaff Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    9,212 (4.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,995
    Location:
    Home
    As long as your wife likes it, there is no worry.
     
    bpgt64 says thanks.
  3. Semi-Lobster

    Semi-Lobster New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2009
    Messages:
    353 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    29
    Do those monitors have a display port? For 3 screen eyefinity to work at least one of the monitors MUST have use a Display port
     
    bpgt64 says thanks.
  4. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,980 (12.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,401
    That is not nonsense about the displayport. You need it for eyefinity to work. You'll have to get an adapter. Don't worry about the pixel pitch thing, you won't notice a difference.
     
    bpgt64 says thanks.
  5. MKmods Case Mod Guru

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2008
    Messages:
    5,697 (2.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,748
    Location:
    Nevada
    I was thinking about this so thanks for the thread.. Please keep us informed on how it goes...


    (good thing about the great cost on the LCDs is if it dosent work or the wife freaks they are sellable)

    you should have a 5th option in the poll.."Clueless but curious"
     
    bpgt64 says thanks.
  6. bpgt64

    bpgt64

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2008
    Messages:
    1,481 (0.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    193
    Location:
    ATL, GA
    [​IMG]

    god my place looks dirty...

    Yea, I got f-d by that little fact about the D-Port, and good luck finding an HDMI to DP adapter locally...I am hosed untill next week....Going to hunt for one tomorow but I think I am sunk untill then...

    I shut her up by giving her the rest of my paycheck...So she's calmed down..she was pissed when she saw the box at first though...

    I am wondering if I can plug the third moniter into the second GPU and see if it will let me us it...

    Also anyone know of a store that might sell this;

    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produ...e=Display_port_to_HDMI-_-12-270-273-_-Product

    locally...I'll drive all over the Atlanta GA metro area if I have to...but waiting till, probably next Wednesday WILL kill me.
     
    Last edited: Feb 20, 2010
  7. DirectorC

    DirectorC New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009
    Messages:
    1,624 (0.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    268
    Location:
    Florizy
    Classy :laugh:
     
    bpgt64 says thanks.
  8. DTV DRAGON

    DTV DRAGON New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2008
    Messages:
    877 (0.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    64
    Location:
    canada
    that monitor setup looks very nice!! and I know exactly what ya mean about the wife lol, Iam going to get beat over the head if she catches the ups dude delivering my 5870 on tuesday Dragon
     
    bpgt64 says thanks.
  9. bpgt64

    bpgt64

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2008
    Messages:
    1,481 (0.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    193
    Location:
    ATL, GA
  10. Cheeseball

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2009
    Messages:
    673 (0.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    85
    @bpgt64

    A little off-topic, but can you send/link me that Hitomi (Dead or Alive) wallpaper that's on your 3rd display to me please? :)
     
    bpgt64 says thanks.
  11. jagd

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2009
    Messages:
    460 (0.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    89
    Location:
    TR
    Last edited: Feb 20, 2010
    bpgt64 says thanks.
  12. bpgt64

    bpgt64

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2008
    Messages:
    1,481 (0.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    193
    Location:
    ATL, GA
    Your right, unfortunately...I am gonna have to order this part...fack.

    http://microcenter.com/single_product_results.phtml?product_id=0308069

    Wondering if that will work...Some passive adapters have been able to work, according to AMD's site..I see no one that carries these active adapters though..
     
    Last edited: Feb 20, 2010
  13. bpgt64

    bpgt64

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2008
    Messages:
    1,481 (0.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    193
    Location:
    ATL, GA
    I am more than likely going to try a D-Port to DVI, as I want the HDMI to still carry the audio as is. I thought the need for the active D-Port adapter had to do with dual monitors being plugged into that one DVI port?

    http://support.amd.com/us/eyefinity/Pages/eyefinity-dongles.aspx

    All the posts I find are from September during the release, Amd has since certified several passive adapters...
    http://support.amd.com/us/eyefinity/Pages/eyefinity-dongles.aspx

    All the posts I find are from September during the release, Amd has since certified several passive adapters...
     
    erocker says thanks.
  14. jagd

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2009
    Messages:
    460 (0.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    89
    Location:
    TR
    bpgt64 says thanks.
  15. bpgt64

    bpgt64

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2008
    Messages:
    1,481 (0.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    193
    Location:
    ATL, GA
    They don't I have been trolling the net for the past 3 hours reading amazon and newegg reviews on local hardware. The adapters do work, but only with 2 moniters. I have ordered an approved Accell adapter off Amazon after it got 3 good reviews from folks using similar setups. Guess I really need to sell me old low rez 1680x1050 moniter to pay for it asap.
     
  16. (FIH) The Don

    (FIH) The Don

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2009
    Messages:
    6,823 (3.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,910
    Location:
    Viking Land
    you should not complain, nvidias version will be SO expensive,

    1. you MUST have 2 or more cards in SLI to get 3dview

    2. the monitors do afaik have to be 120hz:eek:

    så that would be extremely expensive, one good thing about it is that older gtx-2xx cards will be supporting it through a driver update
     
    bpgt64 says thanks.
  17. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,324 (8.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,778
    Somebody on this forum very recently (in the past 2 weeks or so) tried the same thing with a passive adapter. Sorry, that I can't remember who it was, but I'm very positive about this. It didn't work. It needs to be an active adapter.
     
    bpgt64 says thanks.
  18. (FIH) The Don

    (FIH) The Don

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2009
    Messages:
    6,823 (3.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,910
    Location:
    Viking Land
    +1 on that ;)
     
    bpgt64 says thanks.
  19. bpgt64

    bpgt64

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2008
    Messages:
    1,481 (0.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    193
    Location:
    ATL, GA
    I also remember it as being a software based solution, instead of hardware based. I was contemplating dumping my cards pretty soon, but I got them at a net cost of 100 dollars(yes 100 dollars, had an HD4870 X2 die on me and the egg gave me a full refund of the 550+ sales from a GTX 275) so I'll hold on to them for now...untill Fermi comes out :p
     
    Last edited: Feb 20, 2010
  20. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,980 (12.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,401
    Right on AMD's website it says what you need for eyefinity. The only displayport adapter I know of that works is the one made by Sapphire for about $100 dollars. If you need to use a multiple monitor setup, it's expensive. I wouldn't get rid of your stuff before Fermi comes out though, it was stated that their multiple monitor setup will not be very good. All in all, for these kind of setups it's going to cost you money and it should be expected. Nothing to get angry over. I really want a Ferrari 458 Italia, but it's expensive. It doesn't make me angry.

    There are no software based solutions for this. Are you reffering to the Matrox TripleHead2Go? That may be what you need.
     
    bpgt64 says thanks.
  21. MKmods Case Mod Guru

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2008
    Messages:
    5,697 (2.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,748
    Location:
    Nevada
    Last edited: Feb 20, 2010
    bpgt64 says thanks.
  22. bpgt64

    bpgt64

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2008
    Messages:
    1,481 (0.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    193
    Location:
    ATL, GA
    The posts title was referencing how mad my wife would be at me brining home two more 24 inch monitors, not my anger at the company.

    My comment about a software based solution was in reference to the new Nvidia cards, there multiple monitor based setup is driven by software, instead of hardware like the AMD based solution. I live on my computer, I work from home a fair amount as well as game a fair amount, so any investment in my home solution is not wasted(well dual HD 5870s was a bit wasteful, but heh).

    250 dollars for that seems a touch extreme...The solution I purchased was an AMD approved active adapter, so it @#$% well better work. I am not worried though, amazon.com has several posts about it working fine with similar setups as mine. If not I'll return it.
     
  23. Polarman

    Polarman New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2008
    Messages:
    1,627 (0.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    292
    Location:
    Rimouski
    Your not done yet!

    Now you have to ask your wife to get a bigger desk for those 3 monitors. :D
     
  24. Solaris17

    Solaris17 Creator Solaris Utility DVD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Messages:
    17,421 (5.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,719
    Location:
    Florida
    sigd fantastic
     
  25. bpgt64

    bpgt64

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2008
    Messages:
    1,481 (0.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    193
    Location:
    ATL, GA
    Don't like my ghetto-finity desk extension?
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page