1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Eyefinity on triple 19"WS monitors

Discussion in 'AMD / ATI' started by mos187, Dec 19, 2009.

  1. mos187

    mos187 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2007
    Messages:
    181 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7
    Hi guyz, just wanted to ask how would Eyefinity work on triple 19" wide screen monitors, i currently have may main 23" monitor but i also got a couple of 19 inchers with a resolution of 1440 x 900 on some older rigs laying around, so was thinking of getting a third 19 incher from a friend to try out Eyefinity, would it work fine or would the 19" monitors with the above mentioned resolution fail in performance??
  2. Conflict0s

    Conflict0s

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2008
    Messages:
    399 (0.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    64
    Location:
    Manchester, United Kingdom.
    I have also been interested in Eyefinity. From what I have read/watched, one monitor must run through the display port on the graphics card. So either one of your monitors will have to have a display port on it or you could get a ACTIVE display port adapter.
    If you are just thinking about using Eyefinity for applications and no gaming, then I wouldn't think there would be a problem unless you decided to make a application use more than one screen. But as you will have different resolutions across the screens, when gaming this will give a weired effect as the pixel per inch will change the image on the screen, so you may see that the game on the 19"s are slightly stretched.
    MKmods says thanks.
  3. mos187

    mos187 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2007
    Messages:
    181 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7
    thanx Conflict0s for the quick reply, iam thinking of setting up triple 19"ws monitors in which all of them have the same resolution of 1440x900, so will that work and performance wise in gaming what do you think??
  4. Conflict0s

    Conflict0s

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2008
    Messages:
    399 (0.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    64
    Location:
    Manchester, United Kingdom.
    Ah right, yea it would work perfectly :)
    The only thing now is weather your graphics card can run games at sufficient enough frame rates at the resolution of 4320x900 (1440 x 3 for horizontal pixel count). What card will you be running these 3 screens with?

    EDIT: Sorry, I just checked your specs, 5850 CF Nice XD. You will easily be able to run any game out there at that resolution, I will see if I can find some YouTube links that will show you your performance that you would get.
    mos187 says thanks.
  5. bobzilla2009 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2009
    Messages:
    455 (0.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    39
    I'm pretty sure Eyefinity still has problems in CF though, but i'm certain that it'll be fixed fairly soon.
  6. mos187

    mos187 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2007
    Messages:
    181 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7
    What kind of problems, if it's sw related then i think ATI solved it by releasing their catalyst 9.12 hotfix which enables crossfire eyefinity in all 5800/5700 series cards, so im looking into trying those for a start, hope they works...
  7. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,490 (13.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,900
    9.12 Hotfix takes care of that.
  8. lemonadesoda

    lemonadesoda

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2006
    Messages:
    6,242 (2.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    963
    Eyefinity is a great concept but a BAD IMPLEMENTATION. Requiring an active DP adapter to drive 3 identical DVI screen is pure foolishness. ATI made a bad decision to make the "3rd display" on the 5xxx series a display port only output. Let's hope they revise their designs and we dont have to wait until 6xxx series before they have eyefinity working properly, ie. on three identical monitors identical links.

    http://forums.techpowerup.com/showthread.php?t=110927
  9. mos187

    mos187 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2007
    Messages:
    181 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7
    Just like erocker said " 9.12 Hotfix takes care of that " when you running CF....
  10. Conflict0s

    Conflict0s

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2008
    Messages:
    399 (0.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    64
    Location:
    Manchester, United Kingdom.
    What I would like to see (I don't think it is possible though) is two monitors driven of one card and then another monitor driven of the other card in a crossfire setup. This would eliminate the need for an adapter or monitor with a display port.
  11. Jizzler

    Jizzler

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2007
    Messages:
    3,392 (1.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    633
    Location:
    Geneva, FL, USA
    ^ Because that makes sense, and we can't have none of that ;)

    mos187, if you get it up and running, don't forget to post the experience!
  12. mos187

    mos187 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2007
    Messages:
    181 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7
    will do, waiting for my third monitor....
  13. mikeyhd New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2009
    Messages:
    43 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    8
    I got it running with 2 card in CF with 9.12 hotfix along with dell active display adaptor, it run fine, no problem at all.

    performance is good i.e 5760x1080 for NW2 is in the 90 with everythings max out

    my gripe is it only does 1920x1080 for 3 monitors, I did not find a place to setup 1650x1050 for 3 monitors
  14. mos187

    mos187 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2007
    Messages:
    181 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7
    did you experience any flickering issues with the monitor connect through the dell active displayport adapter, i heard alot of issues regarding that adapter, i think it was the (Bizlink) branded adapter..
  15. wahdangun

    wahdangun New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2008
    Messages:
    1,512 (0.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    114
    Location:
    indonesia ku tercinta
  16. mikeyhd New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2009
    Messages:
    43 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    8
    yes it was the bizlink adaptor.

    1. The "cripness" on the monitor with that adaptor is less than DVI, it clear, but not as sharp without it.

    2.When you boot into windows it show your desktop, then it goes blank for a few seconds then it resume the normal desktop. I don't know the reason for that

    3. flickering I haven't seen one, I have only play iRacing, ARCA SimRacing, NW2, and Total War. that based on 4 hours game play only.

    4. Sometimes when you change resolution in game the screen goes blank, and it resume again, no big deal.
  17. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    41,934 (11.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,358
    to run eyefinity you need:

    3 screens with identical resolutions
    one screen with display port, or an active display port to DVI adaptor (expensive)

    To run it in crossfire you also need the catalyst 9.12 hotfix drivers (or newer, when they come out)


    I don't believe its possible to mix and match monitors between the cards in crossfire with eyefinity.
  18. mos187

    mos187 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2007
    Messages:
    181 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7
    Mussels says thanks.
  19. mos187

    mos187 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2007
    Messages:
    181 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7
  20. wahdangun

    wahdangun New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2008
    Messages:
    1,512 (0.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    114
    Location:
    indonesia ku tercinta
    ups sorry, i didn't notice it

    yeah it shame it not yet available, but good luck with your eyefinity setup, i watch the demo and it totally rock, and feel immerse too
  21. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    41,934 (11.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,358
    my problem with eyefinity is that i'd get used to it, and then go to LAN events where they only allow one monitor per person :(
  22. mos187

    mos187 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2007
    Messages:
    181 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7
    now thats a problem, but i think in the near future eyfinity/multidisplay gaming is gonna be much easier/cheaper to setup so most LAN parties will have that, lets hope so...
  23. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    41,934 (11.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,358
    its power/space requirements - someone takes three screens, he needs three power points and room for three screens
  24. mos187

    mos187 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2007
    Messages:
    181 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7
    sorry, i misunderstood...

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page