1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

*** F@H Tech Assistance Thread ***

Discussion in 'Folding@Home' started by BUCK NASTY, Jul 10, 2009.

  1. thebluebumblebee

    thebluebumblebee

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2008
    Messages:
    3,107 (1.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,632
    This is where ATI has an advantage. You can go into CCC and watch how busy the card is. You are not aiming for 100% usage, but something in the low 90's would be good. Bad thing is that those EV settings can be different for different size WU's. You just have to find a happy median. Good luck.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  2. NastyHabits

    NastyHabits

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2008
    Messages:
    1,076 (0.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    615
    Location:
    Oakland, CA
    I'm folding on one of my PCs using the console client with a 4850 and use 3% CPU at most. Here's my environment variables:

    BROOK_YIELD 2
    CAL_NO_FLUSH 1
    CAL_PRE_FLUSH 1
    FLUSH_INTERVAL 128

    I still only get 2200~2800 depending on the project.
     
    BraveSoul, thebluebumblebee and Perra say thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  3. Perra New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2009
    Messages:
    147 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    22
    Location:
    Örebro, Sweden
    Thanks! I had missed CAL_PRE_FLUSH, now my ppd is around 1745 and still rising :)
     
  4. niko084

    niko084

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2006
    Messages:
    7,636 (2.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    729
    So if what I am reading looks right, it's not worth clocking my 4850 for folding because I can't control the shader clock?

    Secondly, anyone know how long it takes them to show your stats, I recently started folding due to slacking off for years getting it setup, been doing it for the last 3 days on 6 machines which have all finished multiple projects and well within their deadlines and I can't find my name anywhere on the status or team profiles.... :(
     
  5. NastyHabits

    NastyHabits

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2008
    Messages:
    1,076 (0.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    615
    Location:
    Oakland, CA
    Not correct. The problem is with the ATI work units Stanford makes for ATI cards. The algorithms for ATI cards are old and don't take advantage of the ATI cards abilities. This will probably change within the coming year, as Stanford plans on adding OpenCL support to the OpenMM development tools they use. My explanation is probably over-simplified, but essentially correct. (I think).

    Also, even though a similar Nvidia card will out perform the equivalent ATI card by almost 3 to 1, your 4850 will outperform the CPU client by 6 to 1.

    For example I have one PC with a GTS 250 at around 6200-6900 PPD, another PC with my 4850 gets around 2100-2500 PPD, and if I run a CPU client I get around 300-350 PPD.

    No matter how great or small your daily output, we appreciate every PPD and WU contributed by all TPU folding members. :toast:
     
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  6. thebluebumblebee

    thebluebumblebee

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2008
    Messages:
    3,107 (1.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,632
    I can't find you anywhere either. Are you Folding with user niko084? Sorta sounds like you didn't put your username and team in when setting up the client(s). FAHmon will indicate that info.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  7. niko084

    niko084

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2006
    Messages:
    7,636 (2.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    729
    I think you misunderstood me, I'm running the ATI client, but I don't know if it's faster if I leave my clock up or if I knock it back down.

    Generally I leave it 315/500 but when I clock it up it goes to 745/1050 I know people clock the shaders on their Nvidia cards to fold faster, so I was more curious if I should leave my card clocked at 745/1050 or if it wont make a difference so I can just drop it?

    I think I figured out why my scores haven't been updating though, checked the logs, all the machines fail about 10 times before they actually send the data.

    I get no data from FAHMon, it shows it, shows the work but gives me no results as to PPD.
    Yes I'm folding under Niko084 and I entered it on all the machines and the team number and I even created a passkey just to make sure that wasn't the issue..

    Now that I saw the errors, I'll wait it out another day and see what happens.
     
  8. thebluebumblebee

    thebluebumblebee

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2008
    Messages:
    3,107 (1.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,632
    can you post a screen shot of FAHmon for us?
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  9. bogmali

    bogmali Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2008
    Messages:
    6,644 (2.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,124
    Location:
    Olympia, WA USA
    This is where my knowledge limitation comes in (when it comes to ATI cards):(......Stan Hemi and Mmaakk are the experts on this......Speaking of which, anybody heard from my buddy Mmaakk?
     
  10. thebluebumblebee

    thebluebumblebee

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2008
    Messages:
    3,107 (1.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,632
    Can you imagine his surprise when he comes back?
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  11. bogmali

    bogmali Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2008
    Messages:
    6,644 (2.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,124
    Location:
    Olympia, WA USA

    :roll: No kidding.......I can't wait to talk shit to 'em:D
     
  12. niko084

    niko084

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2006
    Messages:
    7,636 (2.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    729
    My machine is torn down but I can pretty much describe it.

    The box on the left is Yellow, it shows progress %, the name, ETA is 0mn, PPD is 0.00, shows the core the PRCG, the credit, and downloaded and deadline times.
     
  13. thebluebumblebee

    thebluebumblebee

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2008
    Messages:
    3,107 (1.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,632
    Tell us what one of the download/deadline times are, please.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  14. niko084

    niko084

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2006
    Messages:
    7,636 (2.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    729
    29 November 01:54

    This is a problem on every single system I have setup with the GPU client, for Nvidia or ATI...
    The standard CPU clients show everything fine.
     
  15. thebluebumblebee

    thebluebumblebee

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2008
    Messages:
    3,107 (1.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,632
    Crunching for Team TPU
  16. niko084

    niko084

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2006
    Messages:
    7,636 (2.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    729
    Sweet it's about time... LOL

    Anyways, here is the screenshot of my FahMon.

    Sorry for the poor quality, I'm stuck on fresh build systems here.
     

    Attached Files:

  17. NastyHabits

    NastyHabits

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2008
    Messages:
    1,076 (0.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    615
    Location:
    Oakland, CA
    We simply can't clock the shaders on ATI cards. They're also implemented differently. Overclocking an ATI card will make a difference. Especially the core, the memory not so much. You will probably have to clock it a little more conservatively than simply going for the max stable clocks as if you were benching or going for a personal best on 3DMark 06 for example.

    My 4850 will go to 690/1150, but I clock it at 650/1000 for folding.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  18. [Ion]

    [Ion] WCG Team Assistant

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Messages:
    11,863 (6.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11,109
    Location:
    North Carolina, United States
    You should be able to get about 1500 PPD if you overclock. My friend had an OCed 8600GTS (also 32 shaders) that he got about 1300-1800 PPD on.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  19. Laurijan

    Laurijan

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2007
    Messages:
    2,251 (0.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    352
    Location:
    Oulu, Finland
    I have folded for several days now with my GPU and my CPU at the same time..

    I use the client
    Windows XP/2003/Vista Console client only zip file (with Windows-service-install option) for CPU
    and the client
    Windows: V6 GPU2 (ATI 2xxx, 3xxx, 4xxx; nVidia) clients Windows XP/2003/Vista GPU System tray client (installer msi) for GPU

    Now i downloaded FahMon but it only shows PPD for the CPU client even though both clients have run for many hours now

    Pic:
    [​IMG]

    What is wrong?
     
  20. niko084

    niko084

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2006
    Messages:
    7,636 (2.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    729
    Erm, now I have been failing to get work for the last hour or so..
     
  21. pbmaster

    pbmaster New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2006
    Messages:
    2,590 (0.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    292
    Location:
    Savannah, GA
    I can't seem to get the SMP client to work. I followed the instructions in the guide, and got the message twice, but it just sits at 0%..same thing it did when I tried this last time.
     
  22. thebluebumblebee

    thebluebumblebee

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2008
    Messages:
    3,107 (1.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,632
    Does task manager show that your system is busy? Folding on the CPU is a slow process.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  23. pbmaster

    pbmaster New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2006
    Messages:
    2,590 (0.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    292
    Location:
    Savannah, GA
    Yeah I realized that now. It just took longer to get from that initial percent. Going fine now, thanks.

    I do have one question though, should my CPU have a higher PPD than my GPU? Cause right now it does
     
    Last edited: Oct 19, 2009
  24. niko084

    niko084

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2006
    Messages:
    7,636 (2.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    729
    Doesn't surprise me, I think my 4850 holds me around 2.5k ppd or something, not sure what my cpu can do but I have E5200's at stock 2.5 doing about 800ppd I believe. I'll have to check these later.

    So that being said a well overclocked quad can probably crank some points compared to an ATI card.
     
  25. pbmaster

    pbmaster New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2006
    Messages:
    2,590 (0.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    292
    Location:
    Savannah, GA
    My CPU is getting over 1800 PPD right now and my 4890 is only getting 1600. Doh!
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page