1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

*** F@H Tech Assistance Thread ***

Discussion in 'Folding@Home' started by BUCK NASTY, Jul 10, 2009.

  1. theonedub

    theonedub habe fidem

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2009
    Messages:
    7,130 (3.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,658
    I swear this 1888 unit is never using the GPU @ 100% not even in pulses. Im a little weary of OCing, my last OC adventure was upsetting and unsuccessful. I read the stickies and read up on it, seems like this thing can be clocked easy (just like my e5200 was supposedly). How do you test if an OC was stable on a video card? OCCT?
    Crunching for Team TPU
  2. BUCK NASTY

    BUCK NASTY F@H Mod & 4P Enthusiust Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2007
    Messages:
    4,445 (1.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,518
    Location:
    Tallahassee, FL. U.S.A.
    Use EVGA Precision to up the clocks to 700/1700/800. The GSO's overclock like mad and are absolutely bullet proof. Trust me, as I have 12 of them. Can you post the brand/model of GSO you have?
    Last edited: Aug 1, 2009
  3. theonedub

    theonedub habe fidem

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2009
    Messages:
    7,130 (3.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,658
    :eek: What is a good setting for a less 'extreme' oc? :laugh:
    Crunching for Team TPU
  4. BUCK NASTY

    BUCK NASTY F@H Mod & 4P Enthusiust Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2007
    Messages:
    4,445 (1.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,518
    Location:
    Tallahassee, FL. U.S.A.
    Can you post the brand/model of GSO you have?
  5. theonedub

    theonedub habe fidem

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2009
    Messages:
    7,130 (3.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,658
    Pretty sure it is an XFX PVT96OSDFH.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  6. BUCK NASTY

    BUCK NASTY F@H Mod & 4P Enthusiust Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2007
    Messages:
    4,445 (1.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,518
    Location:
    Tallahassee, FL. U.S.A.
    Meh, DDR2 model. You are limited by the memory bandwidth. You can still clock the hell out of the core/shaders.
  7. theonedub

    theonedub habe fidem

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2009
    Messages:
    7,130 (3.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,658
    OK, what should I set it to then? How do I test it for stability?
    Crunching for Team TPU
  8. BUCK NASTY

    BUCK NASTY F@H Mod & 4P Enthusiust Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2007
    Messages:
    4,445 (1.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,518
    Location:
    Tallahassee, FL. U.S.A.
    Core 650/shaders 1600/mem 600
    You may have more room to work with on the memory. Fan should be at 100%, which I think is default for that model. Is it too late for you to return it? It will never get within 80% of DDR3 GSO production.
  9. mike047 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2009
    Messages:
    483 (0.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    170
    Location:
    Zirconia NC usa
    It will do 1750:rockout: without issue.

    Use EVGA precision.

    @Buck, it was part of my farm.
  10. theonedub

    theonedub habe fidem

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2009
    Messages:
    7,130 (3.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,658
    Man Buck, way to put a downer on my GPU Folding high :(

    Ill clock it up, guess I should've found a way to get the 250 instead in retrospect.

    Got it running at c650/1650/600. Slight whine from PSU when the card is at load- normal, right?
    Last edited: Aug 1, 2009
    Crunching for Team TPU
  11. mike047 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2009
    Messages:
    483 (0.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    170
    Location:
    Zirconia NC usa
    I only overclocked the shader. You might wait for the new PSU to run it up to 1750.
  12. theonedub

    theonedub habe fidem

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2009
    Messages:
    7,130 (3.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,658
    Okay, c600/1650/500 for now, core @ 600 just to round it out. I think this is a fine GPU, it absolutely kills my PS3 in terms of PPD.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  13. theonedub

    theonedub habe fidem

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2009
    Messages:
    7,130 (3.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,658
    Another oddity with these 1888s. When its running with WCG the temps only go from 49c-56c in pulses, but when I suspend WCG the gpu temps go up to 62C constant and my PPD increases. WCG is set to low priority and F@H is set to normal. Thoughts?
    Crunching for Team TPU
  14. El Fiendo

    El Fiendo

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2008
    Messages:
    2,305 (1.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,164
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    I recommend getting Prifinity (google that and it will come up) and setting the GPU client to a higher priority then what the client's own settings will allow. The upside to a standalone program and not using task manager is task manager won't save the settings. So each time a WU is uploaded, it will revert back to default priority.
  15. BUCK NASTY

    BUCK NASTY F@H Mod & 4P Enthusiust Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2007
    Messages:
    4,445 (1.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,518
    Location:
    Tallahassee, FL. U.S.A.
    Bump up your memory to 600. It will increase you memory bus and therefore, increase PPD. I had 2 of those cards before and got a max of 3100ppd with a 353pt WU. What are you getting now and what WU?
  16. theonedub

    theonedub habe fidem

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2009
    Messages:
    7,130 (3.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,658
    On the 353s I am averaging 3244ppd and that was with stock clocks. Have not had any on the OC yet with the epic 1888 running.

    It says I am getting 2691avg on this 1888. The rolling 3 frame average gets as high as 3200. It gets much higher without WCG running as well. I will bump the mem to 600 for the time being.

    I will look into Prifinity as well. Thanks for the advice.

    Update-----> Current 1888 is avg a steady ~3300ppd w/ card @ c600/1650/600, much more bearable. Should only take 12hrs which sounds about right.
    Last edited: Aug 2, 2009
    Crunching for Team TPU
  17. krusha03

    krusha03

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2006
    Messages:
    67 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7
    Location:
    Netherlands
    I have a question. I used the tweak guide for ati cards to reduce CPU usage since i wanted to fold with the CPU as well and with the SMP client running alone I get only around 600PPD. My system specs are:

    AMD X2 Athlon 4000+ @ 2.65GHz
    2GB DDR Ram
    HD4850 512MB DDR3 @ 700/1090

    Now i know this CPU is weak but from what I read FAH is only clock dependent and C2D and AMD X2 at the same clock should provide more or less the same PPD. My T9300 at 2.5GHz gives me around 1200PPD which is double my AMD. Is this ok?

    Also my HD4850 is giving me around 2200-2500PPD depending on the project. Is this because of the CPU or this is normal? According to the reviews here at TPU it should be more around 3000PPD.
  18. stanhemi

    stanhemi New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2008
    Messages:
    802 (0.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    351
    Location:
    Montreal,-Canada.
    are you using ''get and set cpu affinity'' ?

    my 4850 gave me around 3000-4200 ppd and don't overclocked your memory only the core.
  19. goldfries

    goldfries New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2009
    Messages:
    68 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Location:
    Malaysia
    from my experience, the HD4850 was only giving me about 2.4k to 2.7k PPD. I was running the Asus HD4850 Top. even the 9600GT out ran it for folding.
  20. NastyHabits

    NastyHabits

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2008
    Messages:
    1,073 (0.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    613
    Location:
    Oakland, CA
    Ditto here. Saving my pennies and living on rice and beans 'til I can afford a GTS 250
    Crunching for Team TPU 25 Million points folded for TPU
  21. BUCK NASTY

    BUCK NASTY F@H Mod & 4P Enthusiust Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2007
    Messages:
    4,445 (1.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,518
    Location:
    Tallahassee, FL. U.S.A.
    Your T9300 is essentially a underclocked E8400, so your PPD is correct. Intel crunches/folds more efficiently than AMD. I get 800 ppd from my 65nm Athlon X2's.
  22. stanhemi

    stanhemi New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2008
    Messages:
    802 (0.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    351
    Location:
    Montreal,-Canada.
    sorry but the 4850 produce 2500-4200ppd
  23. krusha03

    krusha03

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2006
    Messages:
    67 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7
    Location:
    Netherlands
    CPU affinity lock is enabled or actually it says Disable CPU affinity lock - NO, I have no idea what does this command do :eek:

    Ok so the places where i read that info were incorrect since someone stated there that FAH is a rare application where AMD and Intel work with same efficiency and the clock is the main factor.
    Last edited: Aug 7, 2009
  24. stanhemi

    stanhemi New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2008
    Messages:
    802 (0.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    351
    Location:
    Montreal,-Canada.
  25. goldfries

    goldfries New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2009
    Messages:
    68 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Location:
    Malaysia
    ok. :) i've not seen it but will note what you mentioned. I've done f@h on HD4890 and HD4870X2 as well and even that i don't get more than 3k PPD on average.

    I did note that more CPU resources used when using ATI card. I get about 13.5k PPD For GTX295. 3.5k for 9600GT and 5.5k for GTS250.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page