1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

*** F@H Tech Assistance Thread ***

Discussion in 'Folding@Home' started by BUCK NASTY, Jul 10, 2009.

  1. Fitseries3

    Fitseries3 Eleet Hardware Junkie

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    15,509 (6.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,106
    Location:
    Republic of Texas
    i know linux has great SMP kernal support but im not sure about F@H SMP.

    worth looking into.

    i'd love to hear from you BUCK
  2. mstenholm

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    1,972 (1.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,102
    Last edited: Mar 20, 2010
    Fitseries3 says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  3. thebluebumblebee

    thebluebumblebee

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2008
    Messages:
    2,661 (1.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,191
    Aren't VM's Linux in a box?
    More than 25k PPD
  4. NastyHabits

    NastyHabits

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2008
    Messages:
    1,061 (0.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    587
    Location:
    Oakland, CA
    From the Swiftech web-site:

    The Pump housing, internals, and specifications derive from the MCP350 pump:

    * Motor: Electronically commutated, brushless DC, spherical motor.
    * Nominal Voltage: 12 VDC
    * Nominal current: .69A to 1A
    * Nominal Power: 8.3 to 12W

    I hope that helps.
    BUCK NASTY says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  5. overclocking101

    overclocking101

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2009
    Messages:
    2,886 (1.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    405
    Location:
    vermont
    how do i change the .cfg file on my dual gpu's to fold using less gpu load?? i can take a screenshot of the cfg file. im not using the viewer clien that you can just move the slider on im using the kernel client i think it is??
  6. Fitseries3

    Fitseries3 Eleet Hardware Junkie

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    15,509 (6.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,106
    Location:
    Republic of Texas
    possible to run the os off a 4gb flash drive?
  7. thebluebumblebee

    thebluebumblebee

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2008
    Messages:
    2,661 (1.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,191
    You can change the priority on the console client, but it requires running the install again. (AFAIK.., there's probably a way to edit the client.cfg file to do the same thing) Use the -configonly only switch and change the priority to idle. Then remove the -configonly switch and restart the client. I think that most of us shut down the Folding client(s) to game, and I would think that is especially true for the ATI clients with their heavier CPU load. That's not to bash ATI, I have both. As for getting the usage down to 35-50%, I don't know how to do that. The only idea I have is to remove the environmental settings and then set the affinity of the fahcorexx.exe to one CPU core. There are programs that will set and keep the affinity even if the client gets a new WU.

    Generally, Folding and gaming don't mix. Now if you were to Fold on GPU1 and game on GPU0, that might work, but considering it's ATI, I think I'd try to assign the affinity.

    Now, about that CPU of yours.....
    More than 25k PPD
  8. dustyshiv

    dustyshiv

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2008
    Messages:
    504 (0.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    386
    Location:
    Dubai, U.A.E
    Guys,

    I have a couple of questions on -bigadv WU. How do I setup my clients to receive these WU and what are the hardware requirements?
    Crunching for Team TPU
  9. bogmali

    bogmali Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2008
    Messages:
    6,627 (2.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,102
    Location:
    Olympia, WA USA
    Straight from SniperXX's page on OCN (which is based on LinuxRouter's guide):

    "To run the bigadv flag you will need an i7 or SMP setup with 8+ cores. The minimum memory requirement to run this is 6GB, anything less will cause headaches for you or problems with the VM. Please remember that folding with bigadv is still experimental, but the benefits out weigh the negatives.

    Due to the fact that this image will push your CPU to the max, please make sure your overclock is 100% stable. I thought my previous overclock was stable but it crashed after several hours of folding. So I recommend keeping an eye on your pc and monitoring temps the first few hours just in case"
    dustyshiv says thanks.
  10. Fitseries3

    Fitseries3 Eleet Hardware Junkie

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    15,509 (6.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,106
    Location:
    Republic of Texas
    in linux or windows?
  11. bogmali

    bogmali Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2008
    Messages:
    6,627 (2.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,102
    Location:
    Olympia, WA USA
    On a separate note, anyone know why my completed -bigadv unit not upload on one of Stanford's server:wtf::confused:? It's been doing the same thing since yesterday trying to upload and at the same time pull another WU:wtf::confused:

    [​IMG]
  12. Fitseries3

    Fitseries3 Eleet Hardware Junkie

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    15,509 (6.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,106
    Location:
    Republic of Texas
    so use a linux VM in win7....

    u just running F@H in linux or in win7 too?

    works with 16 threads as well?
  13. bogmali

    bogmali Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2008
    Messages:
    6,627 (2.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,102
    Location:
    Olympia, WA USA
    It's a linux coded SMP client that you can run on windows using VM ware. Not sure if it works on 16 threads. I only run mines on SMP7 which only uses 7 cores so I can dedicate the other core to my GPU folding clients;)
    Fitseries3 says thanks.
  14. Fitseries3

    Fitseries3 Eleet Hardware Junkie

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    15,509 (6.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,106
    Location:
    Republic of Texas
    thanks
  15. msgclb

    msgclb

    Joined:
    May 15, 2008
    Messages:
    1,718 (0.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,270
    Location:
    Oklahoma City
    I've only have something similar happen once. It wouldn't upload or get a new wu. I don't remember how long I waited but I finally did a Ctrl-C, shutdown -h now, removed the copy from the VM, deleted the linux, extracted a new copy and ran it. Essentially I started over. I just figured that it got corrupted.

    I believe that I've upload 2 bigadv WUs since your Apr 1 problem.
  16. bogmali

    bogmali Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2008
    Messages:
    6,627 (2.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,102
    Location:
    Olympia, WA USA
    So did you ended up getting the credit when you did the CTRL C? I remember doing that before and it deleted the file that needed to be uploaded and so there goes the 60K plus points down the drain:shadedshu:banghead:
  17. msgclb

    msgclb

    Joined:
    May 15, 2008
    Messages:
    1,718 (0.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,270
    Location:
    Oklahoma City
    I'm sure I lost the points along with the time.:shadedshu:banghead:
  18. Fitseries3

    Fitseries3 Eleet Hardware Junkie

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    15,509 (6.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,106
    Location:
    Republic of Texas
    how long do the big WUs take?

    i been full bore on 8 threads for over an hour and still at 0%

    :confused:
  19. bogmali

    bogmali Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2008
    Messages:
    6,627 (2.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,102
    Location:
    Olympia, WA USA
    It'll take a little while before see the % progress.
    Fitseries3 says thanks.
  20. Fitseries3

    Fitseries3 Eleet Hardware Junkie

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    15,509 (6.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,106
    Location:
    Republic of Texas
    holy S!

    25403pts for 1 WU?

    dayum.

    finally got 1%
  21. bogmali

    bogmali Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2008
    Messages:
    6,627 (2.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,102
    Location:
    Olympia, WA USA
    That is just the preliminary points for that -bigadv WU, you also get "bonus" points depending on how fast you get that WU to finish. If and when you get your TPF, you calculate your total points by using this link:

    http://www.linuxforge.net/bonuscalc.php
  22. PowderedSugar

    PowderedSugar New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2009
    Messages:
    10 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Location:
    NJ
    Alright guys, I am very slowly buying the parts for an i7 rig. So far I have an EVGA X58 SLI LE and a CORSAIR CMPSU-850HX. I'm thinking about getting an i7-930 and this ram. http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16820231225
    I will also be putting in 2x9600GSO's and a 8800gts that I already have. Is this enough ram to run -bigadv and 3 gpu clients? Would a SSD be more cost/power/performance efficient than buying a 7200rpm HD? Does anyone have any recommendations for a UPS for this build? Thanks in advance.
    BUCK NASTY says thanks.
  23. mstenholm

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    1,972 (1.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,102
    Nice choice of hardware. 6 GB should be fine. Folding does not use more the 150 KB (per card?, not sure only have one in each rig). My SDD experiance is that my chrunching is faster (two E8400 rig, one with a SDD and one with a 7200 rpm). I have heard that there is a lot of HD work involved in the transmitting of the bigadv results so there is a benefit.

    Good luck with the build. :toast:
    PowderedSugar says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  24. Fitseries3

    Fitseries3 Eleet Hardware Junkie

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    15,509 (6.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,106
    Location:
    Republic of Texas
    is there a way to fold with ATI cards in linux?
  25. BUCK NASTY

    BUCK NASTY F@H Mod & 4P Enthusiust Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2007
    Messages:
    4,380 (1.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,306
    Location:
    Tallahassee, FL. U.S.A.
    I know some guys were folding Nvidia GPU's with a Wine Wrapper in Linux, but do not know if it would work with ATI.
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page