1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

*** F@H Tech Assistance Thread ***

Discussion in 'Folding@Home' started by BUCK NASTY, Jul 10, 2009.

  1. thebluebumblebee

    thebluebumblebee

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2008
    Messages:
    2,864 (1.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,411
    A question for you guys:
    I'm still on 939 systems. I have two of the Asus 9600GSO cards and am wondering if it would be okay to run both cards on an Asus A8R-MVP. The reason for the question is not whether it will run SLI - it won't - but rather the fact that the MOBO can only supply 8 channels when using 2 video cards and PCI-E version 1 at that. This is a machine that will not be used for gaming - okay, maybe a little - so:
    1.)will the 8 channel affect Folding?
    2.)will the bandwidth available make any gaming (nothing new, maybe older RTS games) unplayable?
    I don't really want to do this, but it is about the only way that I can think of to get both GSO's going full time.
    Separate question: If I can't do the above, can I run a GSO as a secondary card and Fold on it with an ATI card as the primary (non-Folding), and not on the above MOBO?

    BTW: XP PRO 32bit
  2. El Fiendo

    El Fiendo

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2008
    Messages:
    2,305 (1.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,164
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    I assume its x8 per card. If it is, there should be no noticeable bottleneck in F@H. Some say you can go as little as x4 without issue in F@H though I wouldn't recommend it. If I'm not mistaken you can mix cards though I was under the impression it could only be done on Windows 7. However, I'm not at all certain on this.
  3. pbmaster

    pbmaster New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2006
    Messages:
    2,590 (0.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    292
    Location:
    Savannah, GA
    Just installed the GPU client for my 4890. Shortly after it tries to start work it freezes, screen blacks out, comes back on and says the driver recovered and the F@H core had an error. Using Catalyst 9.8.

    EDIT: Never mind, put it in compat mode and it works fine now.
    Last edited: Sep 3, 2009
  4. theonedub

    theonedub habe fidem

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2009
    Messages:
    7,125 (3.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,656
    Little assistance needed-

    I'm trying to get a BFG 9800GT setup to fold but I am having a couple issues with temps and fan control. The model has a controllable fan, but when I bump it up to anything past 50% it can, but not always, drops back down to ~50% after 5-120mins. If I bring up a website in FF the fan speed drops to ~35%.

    I was thinking that there might be an issue with the card going to 2D settings? I tried with 182 drivers and with 190 drivers with no difference. Anyone have any ideas? I am not entirely clear how/where to disable 2D/3D clocks.

    Thanks!
    Crunching for Team TPU
  5. thebluebumblebee

    thebluebumblebee

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2008
    Messages:
    2,864 (1.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,411
    Anyone?
    Yesterday I tried putting two Asus 9600GSO's on my Asus A8R-MVP Crossfire MB with XP Pro 32 bit. The system would sit there for several minutes before booting, almost as if it thought there was something different but couldn't find it. There was no indication of the second card within the OS. This is an early Crossfire MB so maybe it ONLY works with 2 ATI cards? Works fine with 1 Nvidia card. Ideas???
  6. stanhemi

    stanhemi New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2008
    Messages:
    802 (0.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    351
    Location:
    Montreal,-Canada.
    i have a zotac 9800gt and i have the same issue with the fan speed (need to flash bios) but my card don't switch from 2d/3d it stay at full load.install fahmon and watch your ppd
    theonedub says thanks.
  7. theonedub

    theonedub habe fidem

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2009
    Messages:
    7,125 (3.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,656
    After taking a long stare at it, the C/S/M clocks are not changing- my mistake. I tried RivaTuner and Precision and the fan speed still drops. If it stays at say 70% for more than 2 hours it will still drop after a WU completes or if any Flash enabled website is opened in Firefox. If I try to set it back to 70% immediately after it drops it will only stay @ that speed for a couple seconds. At least I know the card isn't defective.

    Can you explain to me a bit more about flashing the BIOS to alter the fan speed? Thanks for the help.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  8. mx500torid

    mx500torid

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2007
    Messages:
    742 (0.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    752
    I got a Asus x38 wifi Deluxe board and tried 2 250 gts and could not get it to recognize 2 cards only 1 so i took the easy way out instead of beating my head against the wall:banghead: I bought a 3 way sli board, well 3 of them:laugh: now all i need is more video cards. Now I can crossfire for gaming and not bother my folding.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  9. mike047 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2009
    Messages:
    483 (0.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    170
    Location:
    Zirconia NC usa
    My three 9800gt cards do the same thing. I just set the fan on auto and forgot about it:D
    OC at 1750, I think. Doesn't tun over 80c. I quit worrying about it.

    Crunch Hard and Crunch Often:rockout:


    i have a 260 that has been idle, i am working temporary so i might bring it online
  10. theonedub

    theonedub habe fidem

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2009
    Messages:
    7,125 (3.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,656
    Long time no see Mike! Glad to see you are working (just started a new job myself).

    I'm switching to the 9800GT b/c I could only run the GTX+ for 2 days a week if that with the heat. Trying to pass the GTX+ to someone one in need (in my FS Thread). Tempted to keep it for winter though.

    btw, if you never get that dormant 260 up... :D
    Crunching for Team TPU
  11. bogmali

    bogmali Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2008
    Messages:
    6,641 (2.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,124
    Location:
    Olympia, WA USA
    Team-If you're having issues with setting up 2 or more GPUs to fold, head over to this thread and see if you connect the dots with a lot of FAQs already answered:D
  12. msgclb

    msgclb

    Joined:
    May 15, 2008
    Messages:
    1,718 (0.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,270
    Location:
    Oklahoma City
    I've been plagued the last couple of days by one of my i7 rigs crashing. These crashes have happened several times when I wasn't watching and then I finally saw a BSOD which I believe was IRQL_NOT_GREATER_OR_EQUAL.

    I then ran this system all night without folding and had no problems. I then started the 1st card and had a BSOD while folding the second WU.

    This rig has two GTX 260 SP216 cards in a Gigabyte X58 board running Win7 64-bit.
    My first stab at solving this BSOD was to replaced the graphics driver.

    Old Driver: 185.81
    New Driver: 190.62

    Last known up time: 6:35:00
    GPU 0 WU complete: 2 with current WU @ 83% 77c
    GPU 1 WU complete: 2 with current WU @ 68% 64c

    I just had another BSOD a few minutes after updating the above info. I didn't see what caused it but after :banghead: for the last couple of days I was hoping this new driver would be all I needed. I'm betting it's one of the GPUs. Any comments?

    The GPUs are set up using HOW TO: Set up two nvidia clients.
  13. EnergyFX

    EnergyFX New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2007
    Messages:
    1,554 (0.64/day)
    Thanks Received:
    340
    Location:
    Annapolis, MD
    Question: Do some WUs require less processing power than others? Currently one of my GPUs seems to be more heavily loaded than the other (one is generating way less heat). The "cool" one is also ticking percentage points about half as fast as the other. So far this is the first WU I have seen do this. Both cards have been nearly identical in heat and time to process.
  14. theonedub

    theonedub habe fidem

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2009
    Messages:
    7,125 (3.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,656
    Some WUs, 1888pt ers, cycle between full load and idle to control excessive temperatures. 353, 472, 787, and 511 WUs run full bore 100% I believe.
    EnergyFX says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  15. NastyHabits

    NastyHabits

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2008
    Messages:
    1,072 (0.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    609
    Location:
    Oakland, CA
    Guru's,

    I finally cobbled together a PC to hold my Geforce 250. I have it clocked at 816/1250/1936, fan at 60%, temps holding at 69C. Am in a safe ballpark? It seems to cranking out the PPDs at good clip (787 at 6200 ppd). I haven't cranked up the motherboard yet. Will try when I get better cooling on the CPU. (BTW: I'm stoked so far).
    Crunching for Team TPU
  16. theonedub

    theonedub habe fidem

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2009
    Messages:
    7,125 (3.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,656
    69C is fine for the GTS250 at those clocks- its going to enjoy the bay area temps :) Thanks for adding to the team :rockout:
    NastyHabits says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  17. mx500torid

    mx500torid

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2007
    Messages:
    742 (0.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    752
    Great cards:rockout:
    Crunching for Team TPU
  18. thebluebumblebee

    thebluebumblebee

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2008
    Messages:
    2,864 (1.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,411
    Seems that I remember someone else having a similar problem (but not on i7) and it was solved by changing RAM voltage.
  19. skylamer

    skylamer

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2009
    Messages:
    205 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    22
    b U M P
  20. El Fiendo

    El Fiendo

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2008
    Messages:
    2,305 (1.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,164
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    Yes, my i7 OC is unstable and has caused a couple of BSODs. It drops from 4.00GHz to 2.4GHZ, or 20x multi to 12x multi. All C1/C3/C5/ options are off in the BIOS, EIST is as well. All power management features should be off as well. I can't think of anything else. I'm certain my BSODs are CPU related and not GPU related though. I'm going to be tweaking more and I'll have a look at memory voltage, so if anyone's got suggestions I'd be appreciative too.
  21. dhoshaw

    dhoshaw

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2008
    Messages:
    194 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    163
    I'm running 2 9800GX2's on my Gigabyte crossfire MB; I've had no problems when running Vista & Win 7.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  22. thebluebumblebee

    thebluebumblebee

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2008
    Messages:
    2,864 (1.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,411
    It appears to be an issue with that MB. Others have posted similar problems in Asus's forums which Asus did not answer :mad:. Thanks anyway.:)
  23. msgclb

    msgclb

    Joined:
    May 15, 2008
    Messages:
    1,718 (0.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,270
    Location:
    Oklahoma City
    I pulled the 2 GTX 260 cards from the Gigabyte X58 system and installed a GTX 260 that was in another i7 rig. Using the 2 cards that I pulled it crashed after 6 hours but I've now been running this GTX 260 for more than 42 hours folding and crunching 8 threads at 100%.

    I would :toast: my success but that just might jinx me.:laugh:
  24. JayliN New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2009
    Messages:
    71 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11
    Location:
    NYC
    A question for the pros:

    I'm running 2xvmware notfred images right now which utilize all four cores to 100%. ~ 4200ppd

    I also have 2 4670s in this system that are capable of folding at ~1300ppd each. I want to fold with them but also game when I want to. How difficult is it to set up 2 gpu clients in addition to the 2 smp clients I'm running now? What would I have to do to pause the gpu clients when I want to game? I guess I can forget about crossfire too right?

    Just wondering if its worth it to fold with my 4670s. any input would help.
  25. hat

    hat Maximum Overclocker

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    16,869 (6.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,060
    Location:
    Ohio
    I don't think running multiple instances of the gpu core works unless you disable xfire/sli... which kills your performance obviously.
    JayliN says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page