1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

*** F@H Tech Assistance Thread ***

Discussion in 'Folding@Home' started by BUCK NASTY, Jul 10, 2009.

  1. hertz9753

    hertz9753

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2009
    Messages:
    1,089 (0.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    474
    Location:
    Bismarck, ND
    Give a pm to one of your crunching friends that are folding. I had heck of a time shutting down WCG.
     
  2. Athlonite

    Athlonite

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010
    Messages:
    1,972 (1.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    511
    click configure
    click slots tab
    click add slot
    select SMP
    click ok and ok
    and away you should go
     
    Bow says thanks.
  3. Bow

    Bow

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2008
    Messages:
    2,461 (1.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,106
    Location:
    South of Planet Earth
    Folding on my CPU is going to take 11 hrs 43mim.....sure dont get much for it.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  4. Athlonite

    Athlonite

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010
    Messages:
    1,972 (1.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    511
    Bow it'll depend on what WU's you get but I can tell you now you wont get bigadv wu's as you've only got a hexacore cpu and at 11h43m that's 2.75 times as fast as I was getting on my PII x4 so it's doing well you'll do 2 SMP WU's a day
     
  5. nflesher87

    nflesher87 Staff

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2006
    Messages:
    4,499 (1.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    487
    Location:
    Texas
    hey guys just got back from vacation and am installing clients now :)
    do I need a passkey?
     
    bogmali and hertz9753 say thanks.
  6. BUCK NASTY

    BUCK NASTY F@H Mod & 4P Enthusiust Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2007
    Messages:
    4,560 (1.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,846
    Location:
    Tallahassee, FL. U.S.A.
    yes, sending PM now. Thanks for helping us!!!

    :toast:
     
    More than 25k PPD
  7. mlee49

    mlee49

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2007
    Messages:
    8,497 (3.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,107
    Quick question, I'm setup using the Folding@Home Client Control and did get setup for ChimPowerUp but not sure if I should be using the -bigadv for the cpu.

    Can I set these under the Config -> smp slot-> edit-> Add Extra slot options

    [​IMG]
     
  8. bogmali

    bogmali Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2008
    Messages:
    6,646 (2.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,125
    Location:
    Olympia, WA USA
    Put in those two boxes:

    Name = client-type
    Value = bigadv
     
    mlee49 says thanks.
  9. Bow

    Bow

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2008
    Messages:
    2,461 (1.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,106
    Location:
    South of Planet Earth
    So my x6 wont run bigadv?
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  10. bogmali

    bogmali Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2008
    Messages:
    6,646 (2.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,125
    Location:
    Olympia, WA USA
    Give it a shot, it's not guaranteed but I've known someone that did receive a -bigadv WU using an AMD Hex Core. I have a 1090T but it's folding regular SMP because it's also feeding a GTX580.
     
    Bow says thanks.
  11. thebluebumblebee

    thebluebumblebee

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2008
    Messages:
    3,222 (1.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,738
    Bow, don't try it. You're Folding on those video cards and they take too much CPU. Just stay with SMP.
     
    Bow says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  12. Bow

    Bow

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2008
    Messages:
    2,461 (1.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,106
    Location:
    South of Planet Earth
    SMP Folding.
     
    hertz9753 says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  13. Athlonite

    Athlonite

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010
    Messages:
    1,972 (1.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    511
    No it wont you can add the bigadv switch but you wont get one as the new version now queries the hardware directly to find out what you've got, so it knows from the beginning you only have six cores even using the -SMP 8 switch wont get you an A4 WU but on the bright side you'll rip through the normal SMP WU's at 2 a day + your GPU's :)
     
    Bow says thanks.
  14. cdamax New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2009
    Messages:
    20 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7
    i have a 460 hawk folding actually 10.737,1 ppd but when i oc after 4 or 5 hours goes quietly into safe mode half speed my question is what is diference compared to a game becose in a game i dont have that issue, the speed original is 780/1560/900 i set to 840/1680/1000 +20mv i am from argentina sory for the spelling.
     
  15. Athlonite

    Athlonite

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010
    Messages:
    1,972 (1.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    511
    most likely heat try an OC without the increased Volts
     
  16. bogmali

    bogmali Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2008
    Messages:
    6,646 (2.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,125
    Location:
    Olympia, WA USA
    What driver version? Version 266.66 is the most recent that is stable, 270.61 still has issues with multiple cards going into 2D mode from my experience. My 2 GTX560ti do not like 270.61 as one card would drop to 2D mode.

    Another trick is stopping and restarting the client.
     
  17. thebluebumblebee

    thebluebumblebee

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2008
    Messages:
    3,222 (1.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,738
    Games don't put 100% load on a GPU for hours on end.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  18. cdamax New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2009
    Messages:
    20 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7
    49° when folding thanx for the help.
     
  19. cdamax New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2009
    Messages:
    20 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7
    thanx but when go in safe mode 405mhz restar is the only way 270.61 is the driver that i use
     
  20. cdamax New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2009
    Messages:
    20 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7
    so is ok if i oc the memory for example? thanks.
     
  21. mstenholm

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    2,107 (1.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,228
    no need/very little gain from OC memory
     
    cdamax says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  22. entropy13

    entropy13

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2009
    Messages:
    4,960 (2.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,217
    Is going with 3 separate 2-hour periods be just the same or is there an advantage of doing this for 6 straight hours?
     
  23. mstenholm

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    2,107 (1.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,228
    If we are talking GPU folding the difference is small. If it is CPU SMP running bonus units you lose a lot. There is a number of check points in the folding process (both kind) and each time you stop/start the client it would re-start at the last check point. That said you don't lose folding time when you are folding, but that you do when you stop the client, but you know that.

    Edit: to see which kind of CPU units that gives a bonus look at this link http://fah-web.stanford.edu/psummary.html

    If there is something else then 0.00 in the Kfactor column then there is a time bonus for fast completion.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  24. niko084

    niko084

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2006
    Messages:
    7,636 (2.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    729
    Is there any real reason to run F@H within a VM or multiple VM's?

    Trying to get the most I can these next few days, I'm down a few video cards so I'm rocking out all the cpu's I can get my hands on that account for anything.
     
  25. thebluebumblebee

    thebluebumblebee

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2008
    Messages:
    3,222 (1.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,738
    Not any more.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page