1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

*** F@H Tech Assistance Thread ***

Discussion in 'Folding@Home' started by BUCK NASTY, Jul 10, 2009.

  1. Mydog

    Mydog

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2010
    Messages:
    454 (0.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    537
    I've heard of one trick that can help if the card is not loaded at 100% and that is to start Firefox while it's running.
    rickss69 says thanks.
  2. rickss69

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2009
    Messages:
    2,431 (1.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    604
    Location:
    Rockvale TN (Not Australia)
    Tried the FireFox thing and it showed a little activity but is still not starting up.
  3. thebluebumblebee

    thebluebumblebee

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2008
    Messages:
    2,864 (1.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,411
    Not from my own expeience, but I've heard bad things about the 270.xx drivers and I've heard good things (+5% PPD) with the beta 275.xx drivers. The 68xx's seem to be problematic.
    rickss69 says thanks.
  4. bogmali

    bogmali Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2008
    Messages:
    6,641 (2.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,124
    Location:
    Olympia, WA USA
    LINK: http://folding.stanford.edu/English/DownloadWinOther

    Click on the one that says "Windows XP/2003/Vista/7 GPU3 (required for Fermi) no-nonsense console client. V6.41"

    Second one from the top.

    As far as drivers, I had to dump v.270.61 yesterday because it was causing my 2 GTX460's to drop to 2D clocks while folding. They are fine now with v.266.58.
    rickss69 and thebluebumblebee say thanks.
  5. rickss69

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2009
    Messages:
    2,431 (1.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    604
    Location:
    Rockvale TN (Not Australia)
    Problem solved for the time being. Pulled the junky card and installed a GTX 295...it sure is a hot bastid tho. :laugh:

    Attached Files:

    KieX says thanks.
  6. rickss69

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2009
    Messages:
    2,431 (1.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    604
    Location:
    Rockvale TN (Not Australia)
    Installed both 460's in another rig. Standalone client would not work but the driver change seems to have done the trick...they be cooking now. Thanks guys! :toast:
    (I was almost ready to send TigerDirect a nastygram. :laugh:)

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: May 31, 2011
  7. thebluebumblebee

    thebluebumblebee

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2008
    Messages:
    2,864 (1.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,411
    Which driver?
  8. rickss69

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2009
    Messages:
    2,431 (1.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    604
    Location:
    Rockvale TN (Not Australia)
    The driver Bogmali recommended...266.58 :)
    hertz9753 and thebluebumblebee say thanks.
  9. Athlonite

    Athlonite

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010
    Messages:
    1,913 (1.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    480
    I really don't know why half you guys are still using old clients V7 is way easier to use and setup for multiple CPU/GPU setups
  10. rickss69

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2009
    Messages:
    2,431 (1.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    604
    Location:
    Rockvale TN (Not Australia)
    I find v2 to be more responsive on my end. Many times v7 takes an inordinate amount of time to settle down and generate some figures for me.
  11. thebluebumblebee

    thebluebumblebee

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2008
    Messages:
    2,864 (1.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,411
    1.)We're old.
    2.)We're stuck in our ways.
    3.)If it's not broke, don't fix it.
    4.)It doesn't work with HFM.net.
    5.)Can't pause individual clients with V7.
    6.)I actually know how to use DOS. cd\\
    :D
    But, I think V7 is the way to go for new Folders.
    rickss69 says thanks.
  12. Athlonite

    Athlonite

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010
    Messages:
    1,913 (1.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    480
    haha lol rofl
  13. oily_17

    oily_17

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2006
    Messages:
    2,313 (0.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    670
    Location:
    Norn Iron
    Will it increase my PPD, compared to running Tracker ? Has anyone checked yet ?

    If not, I dont see the point in changing to something new.It only takes me 2 min to set-up Tracker on a new rig, and it runs without any trouble on all my machines.

    Also the fact that HFM doesn't yet support v7 is a big minus.With HFM running in my dock, I can tell with a quick mouse flick, if all my clients are running and what PPD I am getting.

    So really, I am just old and set in my ways too :D
  14. Mydog

    Mydog

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2010
    Messages:
    454 (0.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    537
    It doesn't do -bigadv yet and I like HFM.net as a tool to see that all the crunchers are operating as they should.

    [​IMG]
    Last edited: Jun 1, 2011
  15. Athlonite

    Athlonite

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010
    Messages:
    1,913 (1.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    480
    so really your saying your only in it for the points and not the science:shadedshu

    eventually you'll have to go to V7 as that's going to be the default app and you wont be able to use the older console clients

    as for HFM.net they are working on getting compatibility with V7

    also the more people who use V7 now while in beta form help get the bugs/perfomance issues ironed out quicker not that there's many to iron out
  16. Athlonite

    Athlonite

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010
    Messages:
    1,913 (1.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    480
    V7 does so do bigadv if your CPU has 8 cores or 4C/8T this is what bigadv were supposed to be done on and now F@H are just enforcing that rule with V7 it also has HFM like ability to show you what where and how much you GPU's/CPU's are doing
  17. rickss69

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2009
    Messages:
    2,431 (1.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    604
    Location:
    Rockvale TN (Not Australia)
    I think what he was trying to say was will he lose any ppd (speed of computation) vs the other client.
    hertz9753 and oily_17 say thanks.
  18. oily_17

    oily_17

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2006
    Messages:
    2,313 (0.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    670
    Location:
    Norn Iron
    Really....and where the hell did I say I was just " in it for the points " :shadedshu....more PPD would mean that it is more efficient than the older clients and so therefore gets more work done (so more science done ).

    It's not like Play Your Cards Right where "points make prizes" :laugh:. I dont think I would have been folding this long if it was just for the points

    I am still waiting on HFM to upgrade to v7, and then I will think of changing to the newer client.
    hertz9753 says thanks.
  19. hertz9753

    hertz9753

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2009
    Messages:
    1,076 (0.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    468
    Location:
    Bismarck, ND
    That is what I would have started with.:laugh: A troll with no proof of age.(42?) And no proof that he folds.:shadedshu
  20. rickss69

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2009
    Messages:
    2,431 (1.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    604
    Location:
    Rockvale TN (Not Australia)
    I'm almost 58...please don't make me prove it. :eek:
    hertz9753 says thanks.
  21. HammerON

    HammerON The Watchful Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2009
    Messages:
    6,422 (3.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,514
    Thanks rickss69 for making me feel young at 41:)
    Crunching for Team TPU
  22. rickss69

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2009
    Messages:
    2,431 (1.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    604
    Location:
    Rockvale TN (Not Australia)
    A mere pup...:laugh:
    HammerON says thanks.
  23. hertz9753

    hertz9753

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2009
    Messages:
    1,076 (0.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    468
    Location:
    Bismarck, ND
    You guys are are way off topic. 43 here.:laugh:
  24. Mydog

    Mydog

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2010
    Messages:
    454 (0.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    537
    Troll? Me?:eek:
    And yes I'm 42:p
    No proof of folding??:wtf: I'm not folding for TPU atm but was going to.
    I actually tried V7 and couldn't get it to run bigadv but I'll have to try again when it supports HFM.:)

    I want to switch my SR-2 rigs over to Linux but I've never used it so I need some advice and help.
  25. F150_Raptor

    Joined:
    May 10, 2011
    Messages:
    355 (0.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    680
    Location:
    Connecticut
    There's a thread about at Hardforum in distributed computing section for linux.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page