1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

*** F@H Tech Assistance Thread ***

Discussion in 'Folding@Home' started by BUCK NASTY, Jul 10, 2009.

  1. Jstn7477

    Jstn7477

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2009
    Messages:
    3,793 (2.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,491
    Location:
    Sarasota, Florida, USA
    I ran a 6950 2GB and a GTX 550 Ti in my main rig for a while, which worked when I was using core 11 on the AMD card and core 15 on the NV card. Once I learned about the advanced flag, my AMD card changed to core 16 and one of the cards refused to fold. Now I just segregate rigs to AMD or NV, and if I have an extra one of either it goes into a single PCIe slot board.
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  2. theoneandonlymrk

    theoneandonlymrk

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2010
    Messages:
    3,340 (2.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    547
    Location:
    Manchester uk


    kinda like my experience, but i was disableing the gt240 just to fold on the better cards , now its on its own in a p4 rig folding:) ill leave it
  3. Athlonite

    Athlonite

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010
    Messages:
    1,913 (1.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    481
    I think I remember someplace on F@H forums saying that they are updating the servers to support V7 clients as the old gpu2 servers don't give out that info or it's not in a usable form for the V7 client but once they update all the servers that shouldn't be a problem anymore

    if it's core_11 (gpu2 WU) then it 511 points total
    xvi says thanks.
  4. xvi

    xvi

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2006
    Messages:
    1,893 (0.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,022
    Location:
    Washington, US
    Well, now I have a new problem. For the past few days, I haven't been able to get work for my GPU2 clients. SMP seems to work just fine, but I get this in my logs:

    Looks like we're talking to the server and it's replying that there's no work? Any other GPU2 buddies out there getting the same thing?

    (I'll add a SMP slot for this weekend, I suppose)
    Crunching for Team TPU
  5. thebluebumblebee

    thebluebumblebee

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2008
    Messages:
    2,878 (1.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,419
    I'm so surprised.:rolleyes: It's Friday.:roll:

    I don't mean to take pleasure in you not getting work, but this happens so much on Fridays.
    25 Million points folded for TPU
  6. xvi

    xvi

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2006
    Messages:
    1,893 (0.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,022
    Location:
    Washington, US
    This has been happening for a few weeks. I haven't been given a WU yet.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  7. hertz9753

    hertz9753

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2009
    Messages:
    1,076 (0.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    468
    Location:
    Bismarck, ND
    Which server are you trying to download from? Did you try restarting your rig? Also which client are you using?

    http://fah-web.stanford.edu/pybeta/serverstat.html
  8. xvi

    xvi

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2006
    Messages:
    1,893 (0.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,022
    Location:
    Washington, US
    According to the logs, assign-GPU.stanford.edu. I have restarted a few times and I am using the v7 client. As of Tuesday, still no luck. There is no firewall/security preventing access to the aforementioned server.

    Code:
    20:58:54:ERROR:WU01:FS01:Exception: Could not get an assignment
    20:58:54:WU02:FS02:News: Welcome to Folding@Home
    20:58:54:WARNING:WU02:FS02:Failed to get assignment from 'assign-GPU.stanford.edu:80': Empty work server assignment
    20:58:54:WU02:FS02:Connecting to assign-GPU.stanford.edu:8080
    20:58:54:WU02:FS02:News: Welcome to Folding@Home
    20:58:54:WARNING:WU02:FS02:Failed to get assignment from 'assign-GPU.stanford.edu:8080': Empty work server assignment
    20:58:54:ERROR:WU02:FS02:Exception: Could not get an assignment
    Crunching for Team TPU
  9. thebluebumblebee

    thebluebumblebee

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2008
    Messages:
    2,878 (1.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,419
    xvi, you're not going to like this. Seems that Pande is bring to an end the work units for the AMD/ATI GPU's (GPU2, pre-5xxx series cards) like they said last year. They actually said that they would end around September 2011. This thread is confusing with some misinformation, but the good info is towards the bottom of page 2.

    It would help if I put the link in, huh?
    http://foldingforum.org/viewtopic.php?f=50&t=21337&start=0&hilit=Could not get an assignment
    Last edited: Apr 25, 2012
    xvi says thanks.
    25 Million points folded for TPU
  10. Jstn7477

    Jstn7477

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2009
    Messages:
    3,793 (2.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,491
    Location:
    Sarasota, Florida, USA
    Darn, my 3850 AGP is sort of useless after all then. Is it just the old ATI cards that only support CAL?
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  11. Athlonite

    Athlonite

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010
    Messages:
    1,913 (1.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    481
    It'll probably include nVidia cards that can't run CUDA and OpenCL aswell

    in a way it makes sense to do away with older cards and support only those cards that can use Opencl
  12. T4C Fantasy

    T4C Fantasy CPU & GPU DB Maintainer

    Joined:
    May 7, 2012
    Messages:
    973 (1.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    411
    hey guys, i would like to try something a little different here... my names are all based on my name and hardware, for example Matthew-PS3, Matthew-HD7970... but i want to make a Matthew-3770K aswel, 2 names 1 PC how can i do this?
  13. BUCK NASTY

    BUCK NASTY F@H Mod & 4P Enthusiust Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2007
    Messages:
    4,444 (1.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,508
    Location:
    Tallahassee, FL. U.S.A.
    Don't think you can do it with the newer clients. The same username/team is used for each instance. With the old SMP/GPU2 clients, you could enter diff info for each instance.
    T4C Fantasy says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  14. T4C Fantasy

    T4C Fantasy CPU & GPU DB Maintainer

    Joined:
    May 7, 2012
    Messages:
    973 (1.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    411
    i think i was stupid to fold a 3770k on a P67 mobo haha, i get bsod everytime i even add smp slot now and it never gets past 0.00%
  15. thebluebumblebee

    thebluebumblebee

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2008
    Messages:
    2,878 (1.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,419
    Folding will expose unstable OC's better than anything else. Back your OC down a bit and try again. ( I don't know anything about IB on P67)
    T4C Fantasy says thanks.
    25 Million points folded for TPU
  16. T4C Fantasy

    T4C Fantasy CPU & GPU DB Maintainer

    Joined:
    May 7, 2012
    Messages:
    973 (1.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    411
    i fixed the bsod problem it seems i underclocked my OC but now i can use smp... and it just stays at 0 but the gpu one increased fast (read my system specs for info)
  17. thebluebumblebee

    thebluebumblebee

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2008
    Messages:
    2,878 (1.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,419
    Since you're using an AMD GPU, which uses up to 1 thread from the CPU, you may actually get better total PPD if you decrease the thread count for SMP by 1 or 2. Keeps the clients out of each other's way.
    T4C Fantasy says thanks.
    25 Million points folded for TPU
  18. T4C Fantasy

    T4C Fantasy CPU & GPU DB Maintainer

    Joined:
    May 7, 2012
    Messages:
    973 (1.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    411
    i was trying with uniprocessor, i will try less threads thanks.
  19. T4C Fantasy

    T4C Fantasy CPU & GPU DB Maintainer

    Joined:
    May 7, 2012
    Messages:
    973 (1.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    411
    tested and works :)
    hertz9753 and BUCK NASTY say thanks.
  20. hertz9753

    hertz9753

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2009
    Messages:
    1,076 (0.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    468
    Location:
    Bismarck, ND
    Good to hear.;) Thank you Blue.:toast:
    thebluebumblebee says thanks.
  21. t_ski

    t_ski Former Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2006
    Messages:
    10,747 (3.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,191
    How's the 3770K folding now? Thinking about getting a similar CPU for my kids' P67 board.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  22. T4C Fantasy

    T4C Fantasy CPU & GPU DB Maintainer

    Joined:
    May 7, 2012
    Messages:
    973 (1.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    411
    SMP at 4 9691.96 PPD

    SMP at 2 3810.44 PPD

    2 different slots at the same time using 6 threads and my
    HD7970 at 7549.71 PPD

    my total daily PPD is estimated at 18.5 to 19k
    t_ski says thanks.
  23. T4C Fantasy

    T4C Fantasy CPU & GPU DB Maintainer

    Joined:
    May 7, 2012
    Messages:
    973 (1.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    411
    here is a screenshot i hope its visible

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: May 10, 2012
  24. hertz9753

    hertz9753

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2009
    Messages:
    1,076 (0.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    468
    Location:
    Bismarck, ND
    You should be running the Stanford V7 client. With that even if you chose not to run the 7970 you would be way over 30k ppd with your cpu alone.;)
  25. thebluebumblebee

    thebluebumblebee

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2008
    Messages:
    2,878 (1.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,419
    T4c, you'll want to run one SMP client with 6-7 cores. SMP's also comes with a bonus (you need the passkey) once you've completed 10 SMP WU's. The bonus is based on how fast you get the WU done, so, obviously, 6 cores will get a WU done much faster than 2 or 4. You should be able to get (someone correct me if I'm wrong-this is just an educated guess) 30-40,000 with your system if it is allowed to Fold 24/7.
    hertz9753 and T4C Fantasy say thanks.
    25 Million points folded for TPU

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page