1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

*** F@H Tech Assistance Thread ***

Discussion in 'Folding@Home' started by BUCK NASTY, Jul 10, 2009.

  1. Norton

    Norton WCG-TPU Team Captain

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2011
    Messages:
    8,598 (8.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    19,431
    Thanks for proving my point :toast:

    Still don't understand why the54thvoid is only getting 6k points per wu.... shouldn't it be more? :confused:
     
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  2. thebluebumblebee

    thebluebumblebee

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2008
    Messages:
    2,985 (1.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,496
    Let's see what happens with his next 2 WU"s.
     
    Norton says thanks.
  3. AlienIsGOD

    AlienIsGOD

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2008
    Messages:
    3,440 (1.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,491
    could someone enlighten me as to how to get my 7870 folding?
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  4. Norton

    Norton WCG-TPU Team Captain

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2011
    Messages:
    8,598 (8.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    19,431
    Download client here:
    https://fah.stanford.edu/file-relea...ows-xp-32bit/v7.3/fah-installer_7.3.6_x86.exe

    Get a passkey when you do the install (you will need it for the bonus points) add in the passkey during the setup process

    Follow the instructions in this post to setup a beta slot:
    http://www.techpowerup.com/forums/showpost.php?p=2882920&postcount=8

    If crunching and folding*
    *note- this is what I do (below), others may do differently
    - Delete the CPU slot so the F@H client can't use your CPU
    - crunch as normal- you may need to adjust % usage to free up one core if the folding is sluggish.


    A 7870 on an 8900 beta job w/bonus should get over 50k ppd ;)

    That should be all you need- good luck!
     
    thebluebumblebee and AlienIsGOD say thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  5. mx500torid

    mx500torid

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2007
    Messages:
    821 (0.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,091
    Hi all! Ok I apologize in advance if this is covered somewhere but I couldnt find it. I reformatted 2 of my machines and installed the new client. Both machines it detects the 2600k and both are showing under task manger they are at 100% but for over 8 hours they are at 0%. Any help would be appreciated.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  6. thebluebumblebee

    thebluebumblebee

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2008
    Messages:
    2,985 (1.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,496
    Trying to remember... does this have to do with privileges? Try running the client with admin privileges.
     
  7. TRWOV

    TRWOV

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2011
    Messages:
    3,492 (3.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,048
    Location:
    Mexico
    Would it be worth it to fold on a 7770 or GT640? I have those lying around and I'd like to sell one. Which one would give more PPD?


    EDIT: If I'm reading the internet right, GT640 ~8K, 7770 ~35K, is that so? I guess I'll sell the 640 then. Heck, even the GT430 PCI that I've been holding onto might get better results (10K if the internet is right).

    Does the FAH client accept multi-GPU configs? (ATI+nVidia) or should I put each card on a different PC? What about PCI cards? Are they compatible?


    EDIT2: Does FAH requires significant CPU power? as in, should I dedicate a couple of cores to FAH exclusively? or is it happy sharing with Boinc?
     
    Last edited: Nov 15, 2013
    Crunching for Team TPU
  8. Norton

    Norton WCG-TPU Team Captain

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2011
    Messages:
    8,598 (8.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    19,431
    The 7770 will get 15-30k ppd depending on the job it's working on and AFAIK you don't need to set aside any cores for them anymore.

    My recommendation would be to run only on the 7770- GCN and OpenCl seems to be changing the landscape atm. Example- my 7970 will do nearly 100k ppd at less power and less heat than my GTX 580.... which tops out at 40-50k ppd ;)


    EDIT- crunching and folding on the same rig is 100% fine. You may see a drop in production of a couple of percent but that 's it.
     
    Last edited: Nov 15, 2013
    TRWOV says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  9. TRWOV

    TRWOV

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2011
    Messages:
    3,492 (3.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,048
    Location:
    Mexico
    Good to know. If it doesn't need significant CPU resources I think I'll add a couple more 7770s to the offsite fleet.

    Another question: can I Fold in XP?
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  10. thebluebumblebee

    thebluebumblebee

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2008
    Messages:
    2,985 (1.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,496
    yes
     
    Norton says thanks.
  11. mstenholm

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    2,042 (1.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,149
    I have heard the same - that AMD GPUs now doesn't need the extra core and looking at the CPU usage it is identical for AMD and Nvidia but in my case that was not true. I have two identical 7970s in two different rigs. One is a i970 at 4050 MHz and one is i7-920 at 3350 MHz. Before I reduced the cores for crunching they were suffering (80 and 50k PPD). Now the last results for a 7810 (one thread left free from crunching) was 13580 = 84k PPD (slow Intel), 14192 = 95k PPD (faster Intel) and 14320 =99k PPD for my GTX 680 (i970 at 4050 MHz) which I use all the day. The figures for 7811 are a few percentage lower.

    I wonder what my 7950 can do. I will find out when it gets cold enough :)
     
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  12. Norton

    Norton WCG-TPU Team Captain

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2011
    Messages:
    8,598 (8.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    19,431
    My 7970 (1050/1425) gets a rating of 95k+ to 120k+ ppd depending on the job- daily average output was pretty consistent aound 90k ppd.

    I do reserve 1 core on the cpu (FX-8350@stock) and leave the other 7 crunching. The ppd did seem a bit less before I did the 1 to 7 split but didn't run long enough to get a good idea of how much it mattered :eek:
     
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  13. xvi

    xvi

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2006
    Messages:
    1,987 (0.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,157
    Location:
    Washington, US
    Do they have a stable connection to the internet?
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  14. Arjai

    Arjai

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2012
    Messages:
    2,029 (2.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,175
    Location:
    St. Paul, MN
    [​IMG]

    So, yea. It has been sitting "Ready" for a half an hour. My WiFi has been recieving stuff the whole time. Will it ever start working? I limited the BOINC Mgr, for WCG, to three cores. So F@H should be using one of the cores but, it is just sitting there, "Ready". ?
     
    laptop-hpc says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  15. Norton

    Norton WCG-TPU Team Captain

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2011
    Messages:
    8,598 (8.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    19,431
    Run the slider up to "full"- it will never run at the current setting will crunching ;)
     
    Arjai says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  16. Arjai

    Arjai

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2012
    Messages:
    2,029 (2.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,175
    Location:
    St. Paul, MN
    I suspended BOINC, opened the F@H Client. Now it is paused for 10 minutes... So, will see what happens in ten min.

    New
    It is now downloading...

    Well, now it is waiting again, for 2 minutes.

    Well, now it is waiting again, for 2 minutes.

    now it says 42 min wait?
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Dec 4, 2013
    Crunching for Team TPU
  17. Norton

    Norton WCG-TPU Team Captain

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2011
    Messages:
    8,598 (8.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    19,431
    Not sure what's going on there? Switch to advanced mode and post a screenshot.

    FYI- please avoid double posting- just update/edit your post...
     
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  18. Arjai

    Arjai

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2012
    Messages:
    2,029 (2.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,175
    Location:
    St. Paul, MN
    Sorry about double posting, wifi last night sucked and did not know I was doing that.

    Anyways, I downloaded the client from the homepage. I was hoping, it would figure out to use my CPU. Or, is there something I need to do for it to stop looking for an AMD64? I have 7.3.6 and an i5 laptop with 4 logical cores. WCG is only using one core, and I think, one thread, set at 50% of cores.

    [​IMG]
    I don't understand what, or ,why, access is denied.

    This is what it read when it was set up:
    [​IMG]

    What is a boy to do? :laugh:
    :lovetpu:
     
    Last edited: Dec 4, 2013
    Crunching for Team TPU
  19. thebluebumblebee

    thebluebumblebee

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2008
    Messages:
    2,985 (1.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,496
    try running the client with administrator privileges.
    move the slider to Full. Just limit the number of cores that it uses. Anything under full will cause Folding to stop if you use the system at all.
     
  20. Arjai

    Arjai

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2012
    Messages:
    2,029 (2.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,175
    Location:
    St. Paul, MN
    I figured it out, after some reading. When I set up the Passkey, I used my real name, instead of my username. Because of that, access was denied. uninstalled, reinstalled used my username to get a passkey and Wallah! I am now Folding!!!

    Yea!

    I am completely unsure how much of a contribution I will make, not huge I am sure, but I am happy that I can now contribute a little to THIS awesome team. In addition to Crunching for the other awesome WCG team!

    Go TPU!!

    :lovetpu:

    Sorry for being such a nuubie! I look forward to getting to know more of you here, I'm sure this team is as cool as the Cruncher's (in fact I know a few here that I know from over there). :toast:

    So, it now says it is running, on the webpage screen. How long before any progress on the progress bar?

    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Dec 4, 2013
    Crunching for Team TPU
  21. Maban

    Maban

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2008
    Messages:
    2,393 (1.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,016
    I'm only getting like 34k PPD (with quick return bonus) with my 680 at 1254MHz now. It used to do like 90k. Have I missed something that they changed recently?
     
  22. mstenholm

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    2,042 (1.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,149
    What kind of frame times do you have? My 680 at 1267 MHz does a 8900 at 4:16 and still get around 94k PPD.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  23. Maban

    Maban

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2008
    Messages:
    2,393 (1.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,016
    It's around 7:45 TPF on 8900. I haven't changed any hardware since it changed. I noticed it start of last month. I stopped for a while figuring it would fix itself. But it hasn't.
     
  24. thebluebumblebee

    thebluebumblebee

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2008
    Messages:
    2,985 (1.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,496
    Last edited: Dec 5, 2013
  25. Maban

    Maban

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2008
    Messages:
    2,393 (1.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,016
    I'll try going back to 327.23 then.

    Edit: Seems to be working good now.
     
    Last edited: Dec 5, 2013

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page