1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

face lift.

Discussion in 'Cases, Modding & Electronics' started by trickson, Mar 29, 2013.

  1. trickson

    trickson OH, I have such a headache

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2004
    Messages:
    6,494 (1.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    956
    Location:
    Planet Earth.
    Gave my tired old case and system a face lift a while ago (8 months ago) haven't cleaned it for 4 months. It is still kicking ass as my main gaming system. :rockout:

    I had to get new power and reset switch's This is the 3rd set! As you see I modded this set as well.
     

    Attached Files:

    de.das.dude says thanks.
  2. Frick

    Frick Fishfaced Nincompoop

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2006
    Messages:
    10,622 (3.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,235
    How do you even go through power switches? :p
     
    de.das.dude says thanks.
  3. trickson

    trickson OH, I have such a headache

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2004
    Messages:
    6,494 (1.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    956
    Location:
    Planet Earth.
    I just do. :D
     
  4. Delta6326

    Delta6326

    Joined:
    May 21, 2008
    Messages:
    3,825 (1.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    667
    Location:
    Iowa, USA
    I see dust bunnies... :) go ASUS P5Q! we both got old hardware, but still rockin the games.
     
    trickson says thanks.
  5. trickson

    trickson OH, I have such a headache

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2004
    Messages:
    6,494 (1.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    956
    Location:
    Planet Earth.
    Hell! Yeah! :rockout:
    This system can handle any thing! :rockout:
     
  6. trickson

    trickson OH, I have such a headache

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2004
    Messages:
    6,494 (1.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    956
    Location:
    Planet Earth.
    check out my score!
    :rockout::rockout::rockout::rockout:
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 1, 2013
  7. trickson

    trickson OH, I have such a headache

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2004
    Messages:
    6,494 (1.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    956
    Location:
    Planet Earth.
    So I just fixed up a new power switch/ re-set switch and I modded a front USB sounds hub!
     

    Attached Files:

  8. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    21,568 (6.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,100
    Let's stay on topic here please.
     
  9. trickson

    trickson OH, I have such a headache

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2004
    Messages:
    6,494 (1.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    956
    Location:
    Planet Earth.
    Cleaned up some more. Still have to sand and repaint the entire case but I am just doing little things one at a time slowly. Here is what I have so far.
    The power HDD Lights do work and are now located next to the power/reset witch.
    Fresh pain on them. :D
     

    Attached Files:

  10. MxPhenom 216

    MxPhenom 216 Corsair Fanboy

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    9,976 (6.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,227
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    That shizz means absolute nothing. What do you get in 3dmark :)
     
  11. trickson

    trickson OH, I have such a headache

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2004
    Messages:
    6,494 (1.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    956
    Location:
    Planet Earth.
    LOL. I do not know. :confused:
     
  12. Athlonite

    Athlonite

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010
    Messages:
    1,932 (1.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    491

    ROFL I call BS on that score especially the HDD score :slap:
     
  13. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,588 (10.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,092
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    That HDD score is BS, Platter HDDs will not go over 5.9
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  14. Mindweaver

    Mindweaver Moderato®™ Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2009
    Messages:
    5,206 (2.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,692
    Location:
    Statesville, NC
    A single one may not, but he has them in RAID 0. Before I bought my SSD and was using 3x 250gb WD RE2 in RAID0 179mb read, 170 write and I'm pretty sure I had a 7.9 in there as well. But really those scores are bs anyway.. That is based on the performance when Windows 7 first came out. I doubt they update the scores.. So, based on that I believe a RAID 0 setup would have scored high then, but not now with 500+ read/write SSD's. So, I wouldn't even count that score. :toast:
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  15. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,588 (10.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,092
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    I have a raid zero setup with three 64mb cache 7,200 RPM drives on a spare PC here and still get 5.9

    Also the score can be cheated easily

    http://www.petri.co.il/artificially_raise_wei.htm
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  16. Athlonite

    Athlonite

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010
    Messages:
    1,932 (1.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    491
    raid0 never gets higher than 5.9 full stop if your only using standard desktop HDD's the only way to get higher is to use faster HDD's 10~15Krpm and that may get you a 6.2~4 or SSD's for up into the 7's

    my two Samsung F1 500GB HDD's in raid0 only gets a 5.9


    but hey I can get this

    [​IMG]
     
  17. Mindweaver

    Mindweaver Moderato®™ Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2009
    Messages:
    5,206 (2.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,692
    Location:
    Statesville, NC
    Hmm, what speeds are you getting? Wait yea, I believe you are right. I maxed out the score in Vista, not win 7. :toast:
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  18. trickson

    trickson OH, I have such a headache

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2004
    Messages:
    6,494 (1.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    956
    Location:
    Planet Earth.
    LOL! No one believes me? LOL! I am able to manipulate the score I know how. I can not however figure out how to go past 7.9! LOL! I so got sick of seeing that fucking 5.9 shit!
     
  19. Athlonite

    Athlonite

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010
    Messages:
    1,932 (1.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    491
    I feel ya pain trickson I think it sucks that raid0 HDD's doesn't get over 5.9 I mean come on atleast give us a 6.4~5 god dammit
     
    trickson says thanks.
  20. trickson

    trickson OH, I have such a headache

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2004
    Messages:
    6,494 (1.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    956
    Location:
    Planet Earth.
    Some pic's of how things are looking so far.
     

    Attached Files:

  21. Athlonite

    Athlonite

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010
    Messages:
    1,932 (1.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    491
    That's huge arse power/reset button set how do you manage to kill em so often
     
  22. trickson

    trickson OH, I have such a headache

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2004
    Messages:
    6,494 (1.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    956
    Location:
    Planet Earth.
    I don't know really, It just happens. I am still working on it. I like it. :D
     
  23. Frick

    Frick Fishfaced Nincompoop

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2006
    Messages:
    10,622 (3.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,235
    Because WEI scores are terribly important? :p
     
  24. trickson

    trickson OH, I have such a headache

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2004
    Messages:
    6,494 (1.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    956
    Location:
    Planet Earth.
    Any way all fun aside. I got part of the case done not going to mess with it as it looks great IMHO. That would be top and front. Not the Power button I still have work to do on that. :toast:

    [​IMG]
     
  25. Mindweaver

    Mindweaver Moderato®™ Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2009
    Messages:
    5,206 (2.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,692
    Location:
    Statesville, NC
    Good job! I like function over Cosmetic, but I believe you've nailed it on both parts with what you have available. :toast:
     
    trickson says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page