1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

fallout 3 game saves problem

Discussion in 'Games' started by ste2425, Jan 31, 2010.

  1. ste2425

    ste2425

    Joined:
    May 27, 2008
    Messages:
    3,369 (1.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    366
    Location:
    Huddersfield, uk
    well i originally completed the game a few times using the same game saves for my player stats. Well ive uninstalled it since then, backing up my saves in case i ever wanted another go. Well now ive installed that mothership zeta upgrade but for it to work you need to log into that windows live thing which i set up an it all works. Problem is coz when i played it first time round i didnt acces live now when i log into live i cannot access my old game saves. SO when i dont log in i can access my old saves but not use the upgrade when i log in i can only start again but can access the upgrade. Can anyone help out here?
  2. Crusader

    Crusader New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2009
    Messages:
    458 (0.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    64
    Location:
    Victoria, Australia
    You can blame LIVE for this; once you've logged onto LIVE you can't use any saves without being on LIVE, and previous saves usually don't work.

    Fix.. I don't think there is one tbh, unless you used a cracked version which didn't use LIVE what so ever.
  3. Phxprovost

    Phxprovost Xtreme Refugee

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2009
    Messages:
    1,214 (0.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    262
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    thats pretty brutal :shadedshu

    yet another case of:
    Pirates | 1
    Consumers | 0
  4. Crusader

    Crusader New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2009
    Messages:
    458 (0.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    64
    Location:
    Victoria, Australia
    That's Windows LIVE :rolleyes:

    This might go against certain people's beliefs, but it really is the best option to simply pirate any game with LIVE - they're not worth it IMO. (this is coming from someone who has um, three LIVE games I believe: DoW2, FO3, UAW:EA. Plus how ever many more I might have in Steam)


    OT: The whole "getting a pirated version" is afaik the only fix, at least the one I know of.
  5. ste2425

    ste2425

    Joined:
    May 27, 2008
    Messages:
    3,369 (1.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    366
    Location:
    Huddersfield, uk
    ok guys thanks, an sorry yea i think it is a live problem coz i have to sign in to access the mothership upgrade but when i do i loose my saves. oh well gus i have to start again. Thanks anyway
  6. qubit

    qubit Overclocked quantum bit

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2007
    Messages:
    9,821 (4.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,479
    Interesting. I have the original FO3 on Steam. When the Game of the Year edition came out recently on Steam, I didn't get an automatic upgrade or even a reduced price special offer to upgrade to it and I was quite annoyed about it. I have to pay for the whole game all over again. Yeah right. :rolleyes:

    However, as it forces you to use LIVE see Steam product page, at the bottom and lose old game saves, then I think I'm good to stay as I am. ;)
  7. Black Panther

    Black Panther Senior Moderatorâ„¢ Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2007
    Messages:
    8,558 (3.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,911
    Check out your folder: C:\Users\Windows\Documents\My Games\Fallout3\Saves

    You will find saved games there. Copy them.

    There should be a GFWL folder somewhere. O don't remember if it's called LIVE or GFWL.
    Open it and paste the save games you copied inside it.


    It should work now.
  8. ste2425

    ste2425

    Joined:
    May 27, 2008
    Messages:
    3,369 (1.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    366
    Location:
    Huddersfield, uk
    ill give it a try, i didnt no gfwl saved the files in a different place, i just coppied them back the folders in my documents
  9. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,415 (10.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,986
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    fallout 3 was way more buggier than oblivion. I played almost 75$ through fall out three having to dodge bugs with console cheats and then ended up not finishing the game due to a bug in vault 76
    Crunching for Team TPU
  10. ste2425

    ste2425

    Joined:
    May 27, 2008
    Messages:
    3,369 (1.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    366
    Location:
    Huddersfield, uk
    tbh honest this is the only problem ive had with fo3, ive heard allot of people having bugs but i aint had one, well till now
  11. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,415 (10.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,986
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    the game in sense was good BUT i could not enjoy it due to the bugs.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  12. ste2425

    ste2425

    Joined:
    May 27, 2008
    Messages:
    3,369 (1.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    366
    Location:
    Huddersfield, uk
    wat bugs exactly coz i got 90% through without any problems then got bored

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page