1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Fallout 3 HD Texture Pack!

Discussion in 'Games' started by erocker, Dec 8, 2008.

  1. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,583 (13.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,979
    Here it is: http://www.gamershell.com/news_65974.html

    And according to VR-Zone forums this is how it's done:

    Enjoy!:toast:
  2. newconroer

    newconroer

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2007
    Messages:
    2,977 (1.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    294
    Finally...
  3. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,583 (13.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,979
    I know.. Sitting here at work has become very unappealing all of a sudden.:laugh:
  4. Cold Storm

    Cold Storm Battosai

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2007
    Messages:
    15,014 (5.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,999
    Location:
    In a library somewhere on this earth
    Doesn't that all ways happen! Downloading right now.. taking about 8 mins with my connection. Can't wait to get it going!
  5. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,583 (13.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,979
    I'm wondering how this is going to work with ATi cards... I have a feeling, not too well..:( Good thing there is a nice new non-ATi card on it's way here.:D I feel a little guilty about it and am thinking I should of gone 4850x2 or 4870 1gb.:ohwell: Then again, I don't want to be labeled as a fanboy or anything. (like it matters)
  6. Cold Storm

    Cold Storm Battosai

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2007
    Messages:
    15,014 (5.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,999
    Location:
    In a library somewhere on this earth
    I'll Label you FANBOY... lol.. j/k..
    :laugh:

    I still have my AMD/ATI rig in my wishlist... I was going to build it for Christmas... But, now I gotta wait for PII to come out... Grrr
  7. mrhuggles

    mrhuggles

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2007
    Messages:
    1,540 (0.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    174
    makes me glad i got the 2900xt with 1gb of ram :)
  8. mrhuggles

    mrhuggles

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2007
    Messages:
    1,540 (0.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    174
    tried out graphics pack, its got alot of tweaks, it looks WAY better, only adverse effects for me is load times, and the stuttering on loading of new textures is worse. but no real impact on framerate normaly.
  9. ste2425

    ste2425

    Joined:
    May 27, 2008
    Messages:
    3,412 (1.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    374
    Location:
    Huddersfield, uk
    screen shots?
  10. Tatty_One

    Tatty_One Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2006
    Messages:
    16,569 (5.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,439
    Location:
    Worcestershire, UK
    Getting the game for Christmas, this will be my first job after installation......thank you!
  11. CY:G

    CY:G New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2006
    Messages:
    173 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12
    I wouldnt mind if someone posts some pics :)
  12. thraxed Guest

    maybe i can experience some stuttering issues now:)
  13. PVTCaboose1337

    PVTCaboose1337 Graphical Hacker

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2006
    Messages:
    9,513 (3.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,142
    Location:
    San Antonio, Texas
    I will try this out later this afternoon. I hope my FPS will be ok.
  14. InnocentCriminal

    InnocentCriminal Resident Grammar Amender

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2005
    Messages:
    6,486 (1.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    847
    Anyone willing to post some before & after screenies?
  15. newconroer

    newconroer

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2007
    Messages:
    2,977 (1.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    294
    I don't have time to post comparison shots at the moment.

    I can say that it is a sight better. There's a lot of main textures, like wasteland ground, rocks, roads/streets, rubble, and that's good. However, there's still quite a bit missing, like inner city housing, indoor walls, subway walls, etc.

    Some of that loss is assauged by the fact that there's quite a bit of smaller stuff, like newspaper/trash on ground, benches and trashcans, some weapons, some characters and quite a bit of other stuff too.

    I imagine someone will take it a bit further being more thorough and possibly higher detail, but this is definatley a welcome start.
  16. Gzero New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2005
    Messages:
    718 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    52
    Location:
    Scotland
  17. mrhuggles

    mrhuggles

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2007
    Messages:
    1,540 (0.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    174
    raiseing cpu from 2.4ghz to 3.2ghz reduced loadtimes, is that normal?
  18. Gzero New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2005
    Messages:
    718 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    52
    Location:
    Scotland
    lol at 4v? (are you sure that's your vcore?)

    Yes it would be normal that you turned a poor performing cpu into a much more speedy cpu by overclocking the fsb.
  19. mrhuggles

    mrhuggles

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2007
    Messages:
    1,540 (0.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    174
    well i mean, overclocking cpu didnt bump typical framerate at all, and the texture pack didnt either, the only thing raiseing the cpu did was reduce load times,.... wondering why that would reduce load times... i didnt touch the fsb, i simply raised the multiplier from 6x to 8x
  20. kylew

    kylew New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2007
    Messages:
    604 (0.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    70
    Location:
    Liverpool
    I reckon it's down to your CPU is able to decompress the game data quicker because of its increased speed.
  21. ZenZimZaliben

    ZenZimZaliben

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2005
    Messages:
    2,562 (0.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    528
    mrhuggles, your system specs says your running your CPU @ 4.0Volts...
  22. Black Panther

    Black Panther Senior Moderatorâ„¢ Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2007
    Messages:
    8,564 (3.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,919
    Wow, maxi-super-mainframe it must be... :D

    Back on topic - why hasn't anyone posted before and after screenshots yet?

    To say the truth I'm a bit wary of this texture pack. The site doesn't even mention the name of the creator/modder which is strange because modders are proud of their work... The site itself doesn't show before and after screenshots...

    I think I'll just wait for Qarl's texture pack... hope it gets released soon.
  23. Jaffakeik

    Jaffakeik

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2008
    Messages:
    2,584 (1.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    187
    Location:
    Northampton,UK
    i pud data files in falout rood directory and made 0 to 1 in save file as shown in first post.but waht about that txt file >ArchiveInvalidation who was inside downloaded hd pack.is it with some meaning or just nothing special?

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page