1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Fallout 3 Thread

Discussion in 'Games' started by AsRock, Oct 28, 2008.

  1. PVTCaboose1337

    PVTCaboose1337 Graphical Hacker

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2006
    Messages:
    9,513 (3.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,142
    Location:
    San Antonio, Texas
    I have not destroyed Megaton, I shot Mister Burke in the head. I disarmed the bomb as well. I am on my way to Tenpenny tower to see what is going on in there.

    Also, I have had two hit squads out to kill me so far, have you guys encountered any yet?
  2. JC316

    JC316 Knows what makes you tick

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2006
    Messages:
    9,362 (3.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    903
    No, I have friends in high places. No hit men after me ;)
  3. newconroer

    newconroer

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2007
    Messages:
    2,870 (1.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    270
    I was holding off installing this...but I've changed my mind!

    Since Koroush hasn't released a performance guide for it yet, does or can anyone make a claim in regards to XP vs Vista?
  4. Darknova

    Darknova

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2006
    Messages:
    5,037 (1.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    535
    Location:
    Manchester, United Kingdom
    No, but it will run like silk on your rig on Vista, I guarantee that.
  5. newconroer

    newconroer

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2007
    Messages:
    2,870 (1.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    270
    Okie, Vista it is!

    Lord I'm never gonna finish the other games; it's gonna be Crysis (a year later) all over again.
  6. Darknova

    Darknova

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2006
    Messages:
    5,037 (1.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    535
    Location:
    Manchester, United Kingdom
    Oh, and another thing (this applies to everyone out there). I was having issues with crashes during cut-scenes, but after adding an exclusion to my ffshow filters for fallout3.exe all the crashes stopped. So if there is anyone having this problem, try out what I did :)
    newconroer says thanks.
  7. newconroer

    newconroer

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2007
    Messages:
    2,870 (1.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    270
    Hmm, I haven't noticed any DURING cutscenes, but that is a good find, as there's probably a lot of us with FFshow that wouldn't think twice about that.
  8. Darknova

    Darknova

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2006
    Messages:
    5,037 (1.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    535
    Location:
    Manchester, United Kingdom
    I couldn't get past the first cutscene at first, but when I googled around I found this, tried it out and bam, I was playing fine. Still crash out sometimes though, but I was playing for 4, maybe 5 hrs straight without a crash :)
  9. Nick89

    Nick89

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2006
    Messages:
    1,742 (0.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    176
    Location:
    The Nevada Wasteland
    OK, I fu*king hate Securom.

    I boot up my computer and click on the Desktop shortcut for fallout3 and I get the securom error Wrong disk inserted.

    WTFH ITS THE RIGHT FU*KING DISK! everytime I try to start the game! WRONG DISK INSERTED!

    Attached Files:

  10. Kursah

    Kursah

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    7,620 (2.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,578
    Location:
    Missoula, MT, USA
    That sucks man...I've dealt with that before, usually solved with a no-cd "patch", re-install..hell run the game using autoplay on the dvd...though if you go the no-dvd/cd patch, that means online is prolly nixed...dunno what online is even about in Fallout 3, but I can say on my G/F's rig (see sys specs) it runs amazing at 1440x900, everything maxed, AA at 4X, looks amazing. I'm letting her play it while I work my way thru FC2 SP and MP. Since CoD5 looks to be a major let down as-far-as something fresh, FC2 and F3 will be just fine!
  11. tigger

    tigger I'm the only one

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2006
    Messages:
    10,183 (3.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,399
    There is no online in fallout3,its single player only.
  12. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,919 (7.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,644
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    Whats the live option for in the main menu? Like dl content?
  13. tigger

    tigger I'm the only one

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2006
    Messages:
    10,183 (3.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,399
    I dont know,but on the bethesda sites faq it says single player only.
  14. FordGT90Concept

    FordGT90Concept "I go fast!1!11!1!"

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Messages:
    13,329 (6.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,358
    Location:
    IA, USA
    Quick question: How creepy/horror (e.g. mutants sneaking up on you and making nasty sounds) is this game compared to S.T.A.L.K.E.R.?
    Crunching for Team TPU
  15. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    41,976 (11.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,389
    less. but an 8 foot tall big green man with a minigun popping his head around a corner has its own appeal.
    FordGT90Concept says thanks.
  16. das müffin mann

    das müffin mann New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2007
    Messages:
    3,759 (1.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    335
    Location:
    Appleton, WI
    and then blowing his head off adds just a little more to said appeal :D
  17. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    41,976 (11.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,389
    yeah. the gore is what makes it special.
  18. ktr

    ktr

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2006
    Messages:
    7,407 (2.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    687
    Achievements...and possible DLC.
  19. mab1376

    mab1376

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2006
    Messages:
    946 (0.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    46
    Location:
    Long Island, NY
    i just got up to mr. burke and i agreed to blow up megaton
  20. Widjaja

    Widjaja

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2007
    Messages:
    4,819 (1.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    636
    Location:
    Wangas, New Zealand
    So far this is a good game IMO.
    But I need help with the lock picking.
    I don't know how to do it.
    All I can do is move the mouse around and the bobby pin moves but nothing else happens.

    BTW if anyone wants to change the appearance of their characters face just type showracemenu into the console command, just like in Oblivion.
    If you want to take screenshots just type tfc into the console command as well.
  21. FordGT90Concept

    FordGT90Concept "I go fast!1!11!1!"

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Messages:
    13,329 (6.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,358
    Location:
    IA, USA
    If lock picking is anything like Oblivion, it's a pain in the ass. You got to jiggle it and when it is in the up position, you have to click the attack button to lock the pin in place and advance to the next until you get them all. It would be pretty easy, except the rate the pins move is random for each jiggle.
    Last edited: Oct 31, 2008
    Crunching for Team TPU
  22. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    41,976 (11.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,389
    use the WASD keys. i dont quite get it either, but you're really just moving the bobby pin into the right angle, and then turning the lock.
  23. Nick89

    Nick89

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2006
    Messages:
    1,742 (0.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    176
    Location:
    The Nevada Wasteland
    ER finally got it to work, I hate securom I feel like sending them a nasty letter.

    The lock picking is really easy its nothing like oblivion, you use the mouse to move the bobby pin and the WASD keys to move the screw driver.
    FordGT90Concept says thanks.
  24. Paulieg

    Paulieg The Mad Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2007
    Messages:
    11,912 (4.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,978
    Location:
    Wherever I can find the iron.
    How the hell do you get into the galaxy radio building?
  25. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,919 (7.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,644
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    Is that in megaton? Just blow it up lol

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page