1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Fallout New Vegas Save Editor

Discussion in 'Games' started by FordGT90Concept, Oct 29, 2010.

  1. FordGT90Concept

    FordGT90Concept "I go fast!1!11!1!"

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Messages:
    13,414 (6.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,394
    Location:
    IA, USA
    I wrote this application to make it easier to modify S.P.E.C.I.A.L. traits and player level in save files. It was a pain to do it manually. Some very important notes:

    -You can't edit the level of a character still in the tutorial. The tutorial ends when you run far enough away from Goodsprings to get the "Edit Character" popup. Once you finish that dialog, the level feature should unlock on future saves.
    -You need .NET Framework 4.0 installed to use it.
    -It backs up the selected save file everytime you click "Save" (the back up has .bak appended to the name). If you save a game and try to open it in FNV and it behaves ackwardly (e.g. never stops loading). Simply delete the modified save file and remove the ".bak" from the file name to restore your old save.
    -I do not recommend increasing your level status. I haven't tried this as there is no real reason to. The reason why I allow you to modify the level is to lower your level which, the next time you gain XP, it forces you to level up again. Keep in mind that you must use all 15 (or 17) skill points every time you level up. You must space yourself out so that you will hit level 30 and still have the 15/17 points to spend otherwise you will get stuck in that dialog.
    -Because it retrieves the name of the player from the file name, this software does not work on the autosave nor quicksave.

    I tried to do as best as I can to make sure it cannot corrupt saves but there is a remote possiblity that it can. If you want to be super-dooper careful, manually back up the save you intend to edit to a different directory prior to messing with it. It can only damage a save file when clicking on "Save."


    Have fun with it and if you have any suggestions, let me hear 'em. ;)


    1.0.2 supports the 4 DLCs out now.
    1.0.3 has bug fixes.

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Aug 27, 2011
    psyko12, yami2ki, qubit and 3 others say thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  2. pantherx12

    pantherx12 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2009
    Messages:
    9,714 (4.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,699
    Location:
    ENGLAND-LAND-LAND
    HAX!


    Sorry, this about the first time I've been able to shout that at someone and it be relevant.

    Thanks for the tool will give it a whirl when I inevitably get new vegas.

    Surprised old FO3 programs don't work with vegas.
  3. FordGT90Concept

    FordGT90Concept "I go fast!1!11!1!"

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Messages:
    13,414 (6.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,394
    Location:
    IA, USA
    They changed the save header a bit (it's got "ENGLISH" in it for some reason XD). I also had to change the file name handling because FNV omits all special characters (including - , '). I would highly recommend not placing those characters in your name or extra spaces in the name because it might break the way it handles the filename.

    Names I wouldn't recommend:
    Code:
    extra  space
    Flippin' Mad
    save, 1
    save - 1
    The game would save those as (respectively):
    Code:
    extra  space
    Flippin  Mad
    save  1
    save   1
    All of those are likely to mess it up. :(


    As always, I highly recommend manually backing up saves before tampering with them.
    pantherx12 says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  4. hinigashi New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2010
    Messages:
    2 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Thanks!

    Thanks for this! But question, you cant edit the S.P.E.C.I.A.L.S stats yet? like agility etc. just it lets me tamper with level but not those stats

    Thanks
  5. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,124 (11.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,459
    your copy pasta is a bit fail, its level 30 in vegas, not 20
  6. FordGT90Concept

    FordGT90Concept "I go fast!1!11!1!"

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Messages:
    13,414 (6.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,394
    Location:
    IA, USA
    It's not finding the offset then. I would recommend changing the player name via "shownamemenu." The longer the better. If you don't want to do that, zip the save up, upload it somewhere, and give me a link. I will take a look at it.


    :confused: All the saves I opened up had the max set at 30, unless I uploaded FO3SE by accident...

    ...that would also explain the above issue.


    Edit: Uploaded.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  7. hinigashi New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2010
    Messages:
    2 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    well the character is called danny, i can change the name again after, il try that! if not il send ya the file! Thanks again! good work
  8. FordGT90Concept

    FordGT90Concept "I go fast!1!11!1!"

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Messages:
    13,414 (6.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,394
    Location:
    IA, USA
    Danny should be long enough, go ahead and send it.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  9. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,124 (11.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,459
    [​IMG]

    ^ that is what i meant
    FordGT90Concept says thanks.
  10. FordGT90Concept

    FordGT90Concept "I go fast!1!11!1!"

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Messages:
    13,414 (6.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,394
    Location:
    IA, USA
    Ohhhh, I was checking the program code. XD

    Yeah, copy and paste glitch. XD
    Crunching for Team TPU
  11. Mindweaver

    Mindweaver Moderato®™ Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2009
    Messages:
    5,155 (2.64/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,653
    Location:
    Statesville, NC
    Sweet i'll check this out later Ford! I'm off to Costco with the woman!
    Crunching for Team TPU
  12. DaedalusHelios

    DaedalusHelios

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2008
    Messages:
    4,920 (2.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    812
    Location:
    Greensboro, NC, USA
    I am stuck at level 30 so this editor will help. Thanks man. :)
  13. DaedalusHelios

    DaedalusHelios

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2008
    Messages:
    4,920 (2.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    812
    Location:
    Greensboro, NC, USA
    *Update*
    LOL It doesn't edit the experience points on my saves. Therefore I cannot level up after lowering my level.

    Thanks for putting forth the effort though. I couldn't make an app like that myself. I have 0 experience in that line of work. :)
    Last edited: Nov 6, 2010
  14. FordGT90Concept

    FordGT90Concept "I go fast!1!11!1!"

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Messages:
    13,414 (6.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,394
    Location:
    IA, USA
    You'd have to be at level 29 or less, unfortunately, because you'd instantly level up when you gain experience again...

    But truth be told, I never searched for experience points in the save. I make no promises I can make it editable but at least I can look.


    Edit: I investigated it but I have good and bad news:
    The Good News) I might be able to make it editable.
    The Bad News) I increased the value to more than my character needed to level up (14301/14300) and it did not trigger the level-up sequence.
    Conclusion) If I added it, there would still be no way, via save, to make your level 30 character level up. :(


    I think the only way to level up anymore is via console commands. Mind you, you could use the save editor to drop down to say, level 25, load the save in the game, adjust your XP via console command. Theoretically, you would get 5 level ups in a row right after you close the console.
    Last edited: Nov 7, 2010
    DaedalusHelios says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  15. shevek New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2010
    Messages:
    2 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    any way to add the ability to edit skill points?
  16. FordGT90Concept

    FordGT90Concept "I go fast!1!11!1!"

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Messages:
    13,414 (6.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,394
    Location:
    IA, USA
    Unfortunately, no. I have searched and searched and searched and have come up blank for skill points in FO3 and FNV. Sorry.

    But, by lowering your level, you can artificially increase skill points by forcing more than 30 level-ups.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  17. shevek New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2010
    Messages:
    2 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    have you tried contacting the folks that make that fo:nv xbox360 save editor?
  18. grapedog New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2010
    Messages:
    1 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    It also doesn't work with the console command saves, which is what I normally use. Had to let the game save it the way it likes to save it in order to open that save. Was getting an invalid string input error, or something like that when I tried to load up a save used through the console save command.
  19. FordGT90Concept

    FordGT90Concept "I go fast!1!11!1!"

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Messages:
    13,414 (6.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,394
    Location:
    IA, USA
    Nope.


    Console saves probably change the file name. It uses the file name (specifically, the player name) to locate data inside of the file. I looked at making it so it doesn't care about file names but changing that would unfortunately break all the code in there.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  20. axmaeefimblack New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2011
    Messages:
    1 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    could you please make a youtube video

    if you do can you message DoGaxmaeefimblack on youtube with the video attached? it would really help alot. thanks.
  21. FordGT90Concept

    FordGT90Concept "I go fast!1!11!1!"

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Messages:
    13,414 (6.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,394
    Location:
    IA, USA
    Huh? Video of what?
    Last edited: Aug 16, 2011
    Crunching for Team TPU
  22. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,124 (11.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,459
    i was wondering if he was a spam bot or something, but he only made that one weird post.
  23. Crusader

    Crusader New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2009
    Messages:
    458 (0.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    64
    Location:
    Victoria, Australia
    I might be wrong, but can't you just do all of this with console commands ingame?
  24. FordGT90Concept

    FordGT90Concept "I go fast!1!11!1!"

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Messages:
    13,414 (6.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,394
    Location:
    IA, USA
    Probably. :p
    Crunching for Team TPU
  25. blu3flannel

    blu3flannel

    Joined:
    May 14, 2010
    Messages:
    898 (0.58/day)
    Thanks Received:
    120
    Location:
    NYU
    You can, but it takes a really long time to type out all the commands and edit every single value. Believe me, I've tried it. Enabling all the skills takes around 20 minutes. :shadedshu

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 2 (0 members and 2 guests)

Share This Page