1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Fallout: New Vegas!

Discussion in 'Games' started by stinger608, May 12, 2010.

  1. 1Kurgan1

    1Kurgan1 The Knife in your Back

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2008
    Messages:
    10,288 (5.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,362
    Location:
    Duluth, Minnesota
    Is there anyway one of us could gift it to you? Unless you already bought it :( But if gifting gets you around that wait, I'll help you out.
  2. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    41,680 (11.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,210
    i've already been gifted it by an american... but it still wont unlock.
  3. yami2ki

    yami2ki

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2010
    Messages:
    85 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    19
    Location:
    Pittsburgh, PA, USA
    That totally sucks Mussels... :( I'm beginning to hate Steam as well, for different reasons, but yeah...


    Anyway, I just picked my copy up tonight, only played it for an hour or so though. So far I'm loving Hardcore Mode, makes the game much more immersible. I also like how it feels more "FPS-like" than Fallout 3, as in you can look down your sights, and crouch for accuracy, etc without using VATS.
  4. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    41,680 (11.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,210
    aussies get shafted with steam.

    i'm pro-steam, i quite like it - its just that new games fuck us over.


    1. all prices are in USD. we have to guess what it really costs, since they dont advertise their conversion rates at all.

    2. we often pay MORE. vegas is $40 USD more than you guys pay atm (hence, me getting gifted it)

    3. Despite the fact we pay USD, at higher than US rates, and get quoted US release times... our games never unlock til the EU time.

    4. L4D2. butchered Au version. thankfully getting gifted US versions negates this.
  5. yami2ki

    yami2ki

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2010
    Messages:
    85 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    19
    Location:
    Pittsburgh, PA, USA
    Wow... that's just bullshit...

    I seriously don't think I could be an Aussie gamer, lol.. dunno how I'd live without my violence, gore and nudity.
  6. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    41,680 (11.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,210
    very few games actually end up censored, 99% of the time they resubmit the game with zero changes and it gets approved as M15 instead of R18.

    the review board and classifications board are separate, valve just caved in too early.
    TheLaughingMan says thanks.
  7. yami2ki

    yami2ki

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2010
    Messages:
    85 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    19
    Location:
    Pittsburgh, PA, USA
    Oh, really? I thought they were really strict on violence and stuff. Learn something new everyday...
  8. KainXS

    KainXS

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2007
    Messages:
    5,598 (2.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    501
    they optimized it really good for the low end, even my pos HD4200 can play it on medium 1280x720 somehow and still be playable.
    crazyeyesreaper and Mussels say thanks.
  9. PVTCaboose1337

    PVTCaboose1337 Graphical Hacker

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2006
    Messages:
    9,513 (3.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,142
    Location:
    San Antonio, Texas
    Sorry I got enthralled in the game. Last screenshots of the night. I am going to beat it if I don't slow down...

    Also, implied sex omg.

    [​IMG]

    You bet I'm well rested! :D

    Attached Files:

  10. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    41,680 (11.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,210
    oh rly, thats impressive.
  11. WhiteNoise

    WhiteNoise

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2009
    Messages:
    1,291 (0.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    251
    Location:
    Riverside, California
    Been playing all night and it runs beautifully with ultra mode enabled at 1920x1080 everything on.

    I'm not sure what my fps is but the game hasn't stuttered or anything. Not once. Runs as smooth as a baby's ass.

    TBH it really doesn't look any better than FO3 anyways...which ran perfect as well.
  12. pr0n Inspector

    pr0n Inspector

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2008
    Messages:
    1,292 (0.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    151
    Breaking news! Another buggy game using Gamebryo.
    Worthless engine is worthless.
  13. crazyeyesreaper

    crazyeyesreaper Chief Broken Rig

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    Messages:
    8,073 (4.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,666
    Location:
    04578
    i love how you call it worthless when its the last game engine that allows user tweaking for better performance and to my knowledge is one of the better scaling engines in use right now

    then again i suspect since you probably dont modify the engine or tweak any aspect of it or design content for that game engine that your basis is based on some bad experiences from games that werent patched when.... last i checked just about every game released today is released as buggy pos regardless of engine. This is a situation where i find it hilarious to hear somethings useless. At least this game engine offers AA HDR is editable by end users and oh wait whats this content from as far back as morrowind works in this version of Gamebryo so an engine that supports content across 7+ years with only minor edits, hmm interesting so do you care to actually put a reason for your claim?

    That and the fact that its used for Warhammer Online, Morrowind, Oblivion, Fallout 3 + New vegas , Civilization 4, Civilization Revolution, Sid Meiers Pirates, etc etc etc if the game engines so terrible i guess all those games are utter crap and you will never play them. and the other 200+ titles made on the Net Immerse / Gamebryo engine and the 50 or so titles in development are all games you will never buy or play either lol

    and yes i am trolling :roll:
    Last edited: Oct 20, 2010
  14. WhiteNoise

    WhiteNoise

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2009
    Messages:
    1,291 (0.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    251
    Location:
    Riverside, California
    I haven't stumbled onto any bugs either. So far its perfectly stable and well coded. And I have not had to edit the ini file...didn't have to do that with FO3 either.

    Anyways...off to bed!
  15. crazyeyesreaper

    crazyeyesreaper Chief Broken Rig

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    Messages:
    8,073 (4.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,666
    Location:
    04578
    i only edit ini file for better shadow map resolutions

    Oblivion it was 256x256 with a 1gig gpu you can go up to 2048x2048 *works on self shadows as well so they dont look horrible*

    Fallout 3 shadows were much improved didnt need large lvls of tweaking but a few edits could be made to make them better

    Fallout New Vegas im waiting on purchasing i want the game badly but i wont pay the $$ for it ill wait for a steam / holiday deal
  16. Black Panther

    Black Panther Senior Moderatorâ„¢ Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2007
    Messages:
    8,535 (3.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,893
    SLI or Crossfire?

    Has anyone tried NV on a SLI or CF rig?

    I hope it isn't like FO3 in that regard - in Fallout if you enable HDR and you have 2 gpu's (even in the case of a 5970) the sky starts flickering like crazy :shadedshu
  17. 1Kurgan1

    1Kurgan1 The Knife in your Back

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2008
    Messages:
    10,288 (5.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,362
    Location:
    Duluth, Minnesota
    Theres fixes for that, no flickering on my 2x 5850's. Granted the optimization doesn't impress me, I can't run the best texture pack out there as it causes my game to stutter, I can't even use the 2nd best, I have to use the normal version of it, very disappointing, and even then I still get a stutter here and there.
  18. Black Panther

    Black Panther Senior Moderatorâ„¢ Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2007
    Messages:
    8,535 (3.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,893
    Yes there is a fix for ATI (remove the atimgugsomething.dll file) but as yet there's no fix for Nvidia - the game looks dull without hdr and on the laptop if I disable SLI I'd be getting like 20 fps instead of 45 fps :(
  19. crazyeyesreaper

    crazyeyesreaper Chief Broken Rig

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    Messages:
    8,073 (4.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,666
    Location:
    04578
    you have to edit the INI files kurgan the gamebryo engine uses very conservative texture size preload limits basically by editing some of the numerical values on key settings you can change that examples i think oblivion was like 25mb max but you could go all the way to 250mb of pre loaded data that was what helped stop stuttering in the older games. and sometimes its just gpu vram issues

    example 1gig allows 2048 shadow texture size in oblivion for shadows and self shadows but anything higher you get 1fps average but a 1280mb gtx 470 allows up to 4096 shadow texture sizes with no real loss of performance. Sadly all the gpu power in the world wont fix the issue once the v ram limit is reached and thats probably whats happening in your case granted some edits cause huge performance hits

    example Oblivion with all my edits has 0 stutter and i never have to worry about super low frame rates when it loads data but my avg frame rate went from 100+ outside down to 45fps but the minimum went from 5fps to 29fps granted this is single card wise Since its the same game engine the same situation applies with Fo3 and new vegas if my hunch is correct. Give it a few patches and a few weeks for tweakers to start doing there thing most of this will be worked out by the community anyway

    it should also be mentioned Fallout3 and new vegas still use Shader Model 2.0 in general with some 3.0 effects theres work arounds to force it in all gamebryo games but sometimes they dont work correctly and some items do not have 3.0 shader assigned thus they are invisible in game its a bit wonky but performance does go up some from testing ive done in Oblivion and Fo3

    from digging around seems New Vegas has changed nearly nothing from Oblivion in how its game engine behaves so almost every change that worked in Oblivion and Fo3 will work in New Vegas with 0 issues
    Last edited: Oct 20, 2010
  20. 1Kurgan1

    1Kurgan1 The Knife in your Back

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2008
    Messages:
    10,288 (5.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,362
    Location:
    Duluth, Minnesota
    Problem with that though is that most cards on the market only have 1024mb RAM. For the top end NMC texture pack they recommend OC'd i5's and i7's (creator must be an Intel fan as my CPU will hang with and beat some of those.), SLI/CF, and 4GB Ram, but I can't even get close to running that. The one I run is the Normal Pack and here's the description on that from the mod maker "(For those with good PC's, who get a good performance on the Default Game and have some power to spare)" Which I feel my PC classifies far above "good" :(

    I do like that a lot hasn't changed, but thats also what makes me angry about the game in general. I like playing hack and slash in 3rd person, I was never able to get into Oblivion because the missing animation from walking and strafing was missing, FO3 it isn't there either, but I play shooters in first person so it don't bother me, but just amazing that it's not there for a well liked company such as Bethesda.

    I was just going off your 5970 example, no clue on NV, but ATI will work fine, just download a new dll. rename it, replace it and works great.
    Black Panther says thanks.
  21. dinjo_jo New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2009
    Messages:
    162 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    8
    Anyone knows how long is the game ?
  22. viczulis

    viczulis New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2007
    Messages:
    891 (0.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    69
    Location:
    Ohio
    And is it worth the 50.00. Finally finishing DEAD Space (awesome) :laugh: Trying to finish games never finished. And Vegas is on top of list to get with Lost Planet.
  23. WhiteNoise

    WhiteNoise

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2009
    Messages:
    1,291 (0.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    251
    Location:
    Riverside, California
    I never had that problem with Fallout 3 and I played it on the same crossfire system that I'm playing Vegas on. Everything works good. Sky looks awesome.
  24. WhiteNoise

    WhiteNoise

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2009
    Messages:
    1,291 (0.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    251
    Location:
    Riverside, California
    Did you enjoy Fallout 3? If yes then you will enjoy Vegas. Visually its about the same..in fact so much is just like FO3 that its just more of the same pretty much...just a slightly different setting and much better shooting...iron sites rock and hardcore mode is the only way to play it.
    viczulis says thanks.
  25. 1Kurgan1

    1Kurgan1 The Knife in your Back

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2008
    Messages:
    10,288 (5.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,362
    Location:
    Duluth, Minnesota
    Yeah, I'm glad they introduced Iron Sights, it's almost all I use in Bad Company 2, and after getting the Iron Sight Mod for FO3, I don't think I could do without it, firing the M60, M249, and PKM down the Iron Sights just feels so badass. What real weapons do they have in the game now, I liked the gattling guns before just because they are massive, but since I got real world weapons in FO3, I been using the LMG's and sticking away from the gatlings, so would be nice to see some real LMG's, Shottys, and other weapons.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page