1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Fan speed on 9.4 CCC quit ?

Discussion in 'AMD / ATI' started by Altered, May 6, 2009.

  1. Altered

    Altered

    Joined:
    May 7, 2008
    Messages:
    920 (0.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    132
    I noticed this morning that my video card fan speed is showing up as 0%. :( It has always worked before but not today. The fan is actually running on my card though. I just dont know how fast. This is with 9.4 CCC has anyone else had this magically happen? If so what did you do to fix it?
     
  2. EastCoasthandle

    EastCoasthandle New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2005
    Messages:
    6,889 (1.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,507
    Are you using ATT or rivatuner by any chance?
     
  3. Altered

    Altered

    Joined:
    May 7, 2008
    Messages:
    920 (0.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    132
    no just CCC
     
  4. EastCoasthandle

    EastCoasthandle New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2005
    Messages:
    6,889 (1.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,507
    What are your temps at idle?
     
  5. Altered

    Altered

    Joined:
    May 7, 2008
    Messages:
    920 (0.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    132
    49C but this is a OC card from the factory. 815Core/925Mem The idle has pretty much been 45 to 50C when the fan reading worked thats was true anyway. LOL
     
  6. Kreij

    Kreij Senior Monkey Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    13,881 (4.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,625
    Location:
    Cheeseland (Wisconsin, USA)
    You aren't accidentally looking at Load instead of Fan Speed are you? Just checking :)
     
  7. Altered

    Altered

    Joined:
    May 7, 2008
    Messages:
    920 (0.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    132
    Damn delete this post before my stupidity spreads. I havent woke up good yet and you are correct. What a idiot I am. Thanks
     
  8. EastCoasthandle

    EastCoasthandle New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2005
    Messages:
    6,889 (1.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,507
    ^^^ Good idea. Altered post a picture of CCC's OverDrive tab. Let us see what you see.
    Edit:
    I just read your post, good to see all is well. Take a look at mine:
    [​IMG]

    As you can see I don't have manual fan control checked because temps are good without it.
     
  9. Altered

    Altered

    Joined:
    May 7, 2008
    Messages:
    920 (0.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    132
    It was Yeah I dont use manual either. My card has always stayed at 60-62C max using auto. I guess I just freaked when i glanced at it 1/2 awake this morning.
     
  10. EastCoasthandle

    EastCoasthandle New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2005
    Messages:
    6,889 (1.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,507
    Just keep in mind that if the fan speed reads 0% the fan should be around 900+ RPM. But always check to make sure. In any case glad all is well :toast:
     
  11. aCid888*

    aCid888* New Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2008
    Messages:
    2,754 (1.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    645
    Location:
    In a state of flux...
    [​IMG]

    CCC don't like speeds over 790/1100 it appears.

    I use RivaTuner for the OC + Fan control, and GPUz for the monitor function on all temps....works well. :)
     
  12. Altered

    Altered

    Joined:
    May 7, 2008
    Messages:
    920 (0.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    132
    Just to clarify this was just my mistake my CCC is working perfectly fine as well as my video card.
    [​IMG]
     

    Attached Files:

    • CCC.JPG
      CCC.JPG
      File size:
      166.8 KB
      Views:
      72
  13. aCid888*

    aCid888* New Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2008
    Messages:
    2,754 (1.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    645
    Location:
    In a state of flux...
    The screenshot you posted is hard to see, try TPUCapture; best thing to take a screenshot of something.

    It integrates with "Prt Scrn" so all you need to do is press it and you can even auto upload it to TPU. :toast:

    Don't know why my CCC wont go higher... :confused:
     
  14. rockit00

    rockit00

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2005
    Messages:
    224 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    24
    @Altered, Hey the Catalyst 9.4's do work perfectly! They install in Windows 7 RC and you don't even have to reboot. But that fan speed reading and activity reading ought to be separated or re-labeled somehow. When I open ATI Overdrive and glance at the dials, I go:eek: almost every time!:roll:
     
  15. Altered

    Altered

    Joined:
    May 7, 2008
    Messages:
    920 (0.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    132
    Try the Attached Thumbnails pic at the bottom of my post. Sorry it didn't come out to good on the larger image. :ohwell:

    I guess I got burned as well. :shadedshu I am not use to the way they are labeled now that there are 3 gauges on it. I am glad they finally did get the fan on CCC though it was like running antique hardware with no fan control or readings.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page