1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Fans/Fan Controller

Discussion in 'System Builder's Advice' started by apheX?, Jan 26, 2009.

  1. apheX?

    apheX? New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2008
    Messages:
    121 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    15
    Location:
    England
    Okay so i have a problem.

    I have 2 Thermaltake THunderblade fans (Red LED) and they come with a 3pin connector. So i connected this to my Zalman ZM2 or whatever it is and it can only read it, it cant change the rpm.

    I later noticed the 3pin connectors only have 1 wire so in effect only 1/3 pins are being used. How can i mod/fix this? if i can at all... because these fans are at 2000rpm and are LOUD!

    THanks
  2. nolifer112

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2008
    Messages:
    183 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    i'm confused....what uses only one pin (fan or your zalman whatever)
  3. nolifer112

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2008
    Messages:
    183 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    if it uses only one(i think its the rpm pin) where is it getting it's power???
  4. oli_ramsay

    oli_ramsay

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2007
    Messages:
    3,476 (1.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    569
    Location:
    UK
    The 3 pin connector with 1 wire is the RPM wire only. the fans must be getting their power from a 4 pin molex connector?
  5. apheX?

    apheX? New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2008
    Messages:
    121 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    15
    Location:
    England
    Yeah sorry i should of explained in more detail.

    1 3pin cable (which has only 1 yellow wire) and a 4pin molex (well 2, 1 female - 1 male)

    I turn it down on my zalman fan controller and nothing happens :(
    nolifer112 says thanks.
  6. intel igent

    intel igent New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2005
    Messages:
    4,641 (1.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    434
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada
    i don't think you can use those fan's/controller together and get it to work properly, i USED to own a thermaltake hardcano12 that would not play nice with my 120mm fan's so i swapped it out for a sunbeam :toast:
  7. oli_ramsay

    oli_ramsay

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2007
    Messages:
    3,476 (1.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    569
    Location:
    UK
    apheX? says thanks.
  8. apheX?

    apheX? New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2008
    Messages:
    121 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    15
    Location:
    England
    so basically get a 4pin molex to a 3pin and plug that into the fan controller? im guessing the fan will get its power form the fan controller then? cuz atm its plugged into the power supply.
  9. Bundy

    Bundy

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2007
    Messages:
    1,121 (0.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    157
    yes it will. Also, there will be only two wires between the adapter. If you put your single wire into the spare hole on the 3 pin plug, your zalman will show RPM as well.
    apheX? says thanks.
  10. apheX?

    apheX? New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2008
    Messages:
    121 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    15
    Location:
    England
    is this the right cable? Here

    How do i go about putting that single wire in? its not like just plug it in the hole is it?
  11. intel igent

    intel igent New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2005
    Messages:
    4,641 (1.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    434
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada
  12. apheX?

    apheX? New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2008
    Messages:
    121 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    15
    Location:
    England
    ???

    Fan Compatibility 1 x 4-Pin (Supports fans with PWM function)
    3 x 3-Pin (Supports fans with RPM output function)
    Fan RPM Control 60~5,940rpm PWM Regulation Method (Fan No.4)
    Voltage Control Method (Fan No.1~3)
  13. apheX?

    apheX? New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2008
    Messages:
    121 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    15
    Location:
    England
    ahem!
  14. Bundy

    Bundy

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2007
    Messages:
    1,121 (0.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    157
    It looks like you will have to cut the wires and build a whole new plug. Here is one before use http://www.dse.com.au/cgi-bin/dse.storefront/4982332717c41d9c273fc0a87e0106b6/Product/View/P2733
    I also have a fan plug here that has a slightly different construction. In this one, each wire is pushed into the plug and locks into place. In either type of plug though, the best option appears to build a new plug from scratch.
    The advantage of doing your own plug is that you can also do away with the molex adapter and reduce some cable clutter.
    apheX? says thanks.
  15. SirMango

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2007
    Messages:
    109 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
  16. Bundy

    Bundy

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2007
    Messages:
    1,121 (0.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    157
    Ive tried that on my 120mm fans and found the speeds were too slow for the fans to be effective. Maybe it works better on other fans.
    apheX? says thanks.
  17. apheX?

    apheX? New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2008
    Messages:
    121 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    15
    Location:
    England
    hmm, i might have to take the exspensive way and chuck these current fans...? What RED LED fans have a 3pin connector that will fully work with the zalman fan controller?

    Because if i get that cable connector I wont be able to change the fan speed really will i? because i cant see its current rpm...
  18. oli_ramsay

    oli_ramsay

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2007
    Messages:
    3,476 (1.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    569
    Location:
    UK
    You will be able to change the speed of it if you get an adapter, but you could just get some new 3 pin fans and take the easy way out.
  19. Bundy

    Bundy

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2007
    Messages:
    1,121 (0.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    157
    I think you will still be able to control the speed without the RPM wire connected. Thats because the power is being set by the Zalman. It's different if using a fan as PWM, in that case, the fan sets the power usage, based on the RPM signal.
  20. apheX?

    apheX? New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2008
    Messages:
    121 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    15
    Location:
    England
    so if i decide to take the easy way out what fans should i get what will have a 3pin connector? i dont know if they have them or not you see... I want 120mm RED LED ones.
  21. Bundy

    Bundy

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2007
    Messages:
    1,121 (0.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    157
    Any that use 3 wires. Sorry I think I confused you. PWM fans have a 4pin plug and 4 wires.
  22. kiriakost

    kiriakost New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2008
    Messages:
    1,054 (0.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    69
    Location:
    Volos, Greece
  23. King Wookie

    King Wookie New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2008
    Messages:
    1,197 (0.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    277
    Location:
    Johannesburg, South Africa
    apheX? says thanks.
  24. apheX?

    apheX? New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2008
    Messages:
    121 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    15
    Location:
    England
    No yeah yeah i know that

    Cheers, gotta decide whether to get two of the Zalman fans or get the cable now... hmmm
  25. apheX?

    apheX? New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2008
    Messages:
    121 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    15
    Location:
    England
    Okay, so i got the cable and it didnt work and now i cant find any of those Zalman fans where i am (UK). Any suggestions?

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page