1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Fans/Fan Controller

Discussion in 'System Builder's Advice' started by apheX?, Jan 26, 2009.

  1. Thrackan

    Thrackan

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2008
    Messages:
    3,482 (1.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    656
    Right. This is why I never buy fans with only a 4-pin Molex connector :D

    Basically, a normal 3-pin fan connector has 3 wires connected: 12v, GND and RPM.
    A normal fan controller has a variable resistor that connects to the 12v line of your fan. The knob can be used to turn fan speed down.
    Your ZM-MFC2 (wild guess :D) works a little different, but you should still be able to control any properly connected fan (with 3 pins!) with it.

    2 options:
    - Mod your 12v and GND into the same connector your RPM sensor is on (which is wired Yellow (RPM), Red (12v), Black (GND)
    - Get fans with a normal 3-pin connector.

    EDIT: I just saw your adapter cable. Mod the RPM wire into the empty hole on the small connector there, should work fine.
     
  2. apheX?

    apheX? New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2008
    Messages:
    121 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    15
    Location:
    England
    i have no idea how to do that... and how do i know if a fan has a 3pin connector? say i see one on scan.co.uk, it never says.
     
  3. Thrackan

    Thrackan

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2008
    Messages:
    3,482 (1.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    656
    Last edited: Feb 9, 2009
    apheX? says thanks.
  4. apheX?

    apheX? New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2008
    Messages:
    121 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    15
    Location:
    England
    Thanks but what is it i have to do? lol sry im a dummie
     
  5. Thrackan

    Thrackan

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2008
    Messages:
    3,482 (1.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    656
    Heh, no problem, I'll just lay it out for you :D
    1. Connect your fan's 4-pin (the bigger one) to the adapter cable
    2. Get the yellow wire out of the smaller connector of the fan
    3. Stick the yellow wire into the smaller connector of the adapter cable
    4. Stick the small adapter end on your Zalman MFC2 (on a 3-pins connection)
    5. Go all "yay!" and stuff
     
    apheX? says thanks.
  6. apheX?

    apheX? New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2008
    Messages:
    121 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    15
    Location:
    England
    you know the 4 pin molex adapter i got only has 2 pins in it right?
     
  7. King Wookie

    King Wookie New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2008
    Messages:
    1,197 (0.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    277
    Location:
    Johannesburg, South Africa
    There's your problem. You need 2 wires for power, and the 3rd for the rpm monitoring. Red and black are power, the yellow or white is normally rpm sensing.
     
  8. t77snapshot

    t77snapshot

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2008
    Messages:
    4,213 (1.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,764
    Location:
    S.Cali
    Get the Thermaltake "smart fan" It comes with it's own rpm controller.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  9. Thrackan

    Thrackan

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2008
    Messages:
    3,482 (1.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    656
    That's why you take the seperate yellow RPM wire on your fan and put it in the small side of the adapter :D
     
  10. kiriakost

    kiriakost New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2008
    Messages:
    1,054 (0.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    69
    Location:
    Volos, Greece
  11. apheX?

    apheX? New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2008
    Messages:
    121 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    15
    Location:
    England
    Sucess! Thanks a bunch Thrackan! its worked and now there really silent, seriously i come in the room and have no idea its on! lol

    Here are my temps with the fans at around 1040rpm. I heard that i should be looking to keep everything below 50 degrees right?

    1 Problem tho, now i connected them all i dont know what it is but theres a faint buzz noise, loose screw or something i dont know....
     

    Attached Files:

  12. Thrackan

    Thrackan

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2008
    Messages:
    3,482 (1.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    656
    I've had several causes for faint buzzing before.

    - Once it was a fan running low speed, the noise went away when I turned the fan up a bit.
    - Second time it was the fan of my PSU. Switched PSU later on.
    - Right now it is my 250Gb hard disk (WD2500JS) which is buzzing even though it is in rubbers. I'm going to make damping on my 4-in-3 module and/or replace my 250Gb drive.
     
  13. Exavier

    Exavier New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2007
    Messages:
    982 (0.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    81
    Location:
    Bath, UK
    I have this really odd vision of thrackan's hard drives all suspended by knotted condoms now..
     
    Thrackan says thanks.
  14. Thrackan

    Thrackan

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2008
    Messages:
    3,482 (1.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    656
    You have to wipe off the lube first though :D

    Nah, they're in a 4-in-3 module which has rubber grommets around the screws.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page