1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Far Cry 2 exits to desktop

Discussion in 'Games' started by DarkEgo, Sep 11, 2009.

  1. DarkEgo

    DarkEgo

    Joined:
    May 23, 2008
    Messages:
    1,393 (0.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    226
    After playing Far Cry 2 for a couple of hours it randomly exits to the desktop without an error. It is not my temps as they never go above 45* on the cpu or 35* on the gpu. Has anyone else had this problem? Is there a fix to it?
     
  2. shevanel

    shevanel New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2009
    Messages:
    3,479 (1.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    407
    Location:
    Leesburg, FL
    this is a common problem with FC2.. you're not alone.
     
  3. DarkEgo

    DarkEgo

    Joined:
    May 23, 2008
    Messages:
    1,393 (0.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    226
    Is there a fix?
     
  4. pbmaster

    pbmaster New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2006
    Messages:
    2,590 (0.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    292
    Location:
    Savannah, GA
    Not that I know of. I can tell when it's usually about to happen to...things will start to flash black and then BAM I see my wallpaper.
     
  5. scope54

    scope54

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2005
    Messages:
    280 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    30
    Location:
    Southern California :)
    i get a crash to desktop but only in DX10 mode, so you might be experiencing the same thing. Try running in DX9.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  6. pbmaster

    pbmaster New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2006
    Messages:
    2,590 (0.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    292
    Location:
    Savannah, GA
    I also get a weird stuttering effect in DX10, not like FPS drops, it just stutters. Seems to be a fairly common problem, solved my implementing a FPS cap. Try DX9 like scope said, that may solve your problems.
     
  7. DarkEgo

    DarkEgo

    Joined:
    May 23, 2008
    Messages:
    1,393 (0.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    226
    Bud DX9 dosn't look as good... there has to be a fix somewhere.
     
  8. EastCoasthandle

    EastCoasthandle New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2005
    Messages:
    6,889 (1.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,507
    Use the Evict_Resources console command (~) every 1/2 hour or so. See if clearing any cached resources by the game helps the problem. Also update to DX August 2009.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  9. DarkEgo

    DarkEgo

    Joined:
    May 23, 2008
    Messages:
    1,393 (0.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    226
    Still havn't found a cure.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)