1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Far Cry 2 exits to desktop

Discussion in 'Games' started by DarkEgo, Sep 11, 2009.

  1. DarkEgo

    DarkEgo

    Joined:
    May 23, 2008
    Messages:
    1,393 (0.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    226
    After playing Far Cry 2 for a couple of hours it randomly exits to the desktop without an error. It is not my temps as they never go above 45* on the cpu or 35* on the gpu. Has anyone else had this problem? Is there a fix to it?
     
  2. shevanel

    shevanel New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2009
    Messages:
    3,479 (1.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    406
    Location:
    Leesburg, FL
    this is a common problem with FC2.. you're not alone.
     
  3. DarkEgo

    DarkEgo

    Joined:
    May 23, 2008
    Messages:
    1,393 (0.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    226
    Is there a fix?
     
  4. pbmaster

    pbmaster New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2006
    Messages:
    2,590 (0.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    292
    Location:
    Savannah, GA
    Not that I know of. I can tell when it's usually about to happen to...things will start to flash black and then BAM I see my wallpaper.
     
  5. scope54

    scope54

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2005
    Messages:
    274 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    29
    Location:
    Southern California :)
    i get a crash to desktop but only in DX10 mode, so you might be experiencing the same thing. Try running in DX9.
     
  6. pbmaster

    pbmaster New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2006
    Messages:
    2,590 (0.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    292
    Location:
    Savannah, GA
    I also get a weird stuttering effect in DX10, not like FPS drops, it just stutters. Seems to be a fairly common problem, solved my implementing a FPS cap. Try DX9 like scope said, that may solve your problems.
     
  7. DarkEgo

    DarkEgo

    Joined:
    May 23, 2008
    Messages:
    1,393 (0.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    226
    Bud DX9 dosn't look as good... there has to be a fix somewhere.
     
  8. EastCoasthandle

    EastCoasthandle New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2005
    Messages:
    6,889 (1.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,505
    Use the Evict_Resources console command (~) every 1/2 hour or so. See if clearing any cached resources by the game helps the problem. Also update to DX August 2009.
     
  9. DarkEgo

    DarkEgo

    Joined:
    May 23, 2008
    Messages:
    1,393 (0.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    226
    Still havn't found a cure.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page