1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

FarCry 3 PC System Requirements Released, Always-Online DRM Scrapped for Campaign

Discussion in 'News' started by btarunr, Sep 26, 2012.

  1. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    28,688 (11.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,664
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    The incredible tropical-paradise visuals we were treated to in trailers of FarCry 3 called for some serious hardware muscle. The studio released minimum, recommended, and high-performance system requirements lists for the upcoming AAA title. The lists are quite accommodating of today's mid-range hardware, but can be quite demanding of PCs more than 2 years old. It was also announced that the game will implement a revised Uplay DRM scheme that needs a one-time activation, and doesn't require you to stay logged-in when playing the single-player campaign.

    [​IMG]

    The system requirements lists follow.

    Minimum System Requirements
    • Processor: Intel Core 2 Duo E6700 or AMD Athlon64 X2 6000+ dual-core
    • Graphics: NVIDIA GeForce 8800 GTX or ATI Radeon HD 2900 512 MB with DirectX 9.0c
    • Memory: 4 GB
    Recommended System Requirements
    • Processor: Intel Core i3-530 or AMD Phenom II X2 565 or equivalent quad-core
    • Graphics: NVIDIA GeForce GTX 480 or AMD Radeon HD 5770 or equivalent 1 GB DirectX 11 graphics
    • Memory: 4 GB
    High-Performance System Requirements
    • Processor: Intel Core i7-2600K or AMD FX-4150 or equivalent quad-core
    • Graphics: NVIDIA GeForce GTX 680 or AMD Radeon HD 7970 or equivalent DirectX 11 graphics
    • Memory: 8 GB
    Source: Shacknews
     
    Law-II, Darkleoco, Crap Daddy and 4 others say thanks.
  2. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    28,688 (11.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,664
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    If SysReq Labs follows these lists to the letter, a lot of potential buyers will be tossed out by the "Can My PC Play It?" thingie.
     
  3. EpicShweetness

    EpicShweetness

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2011
    Messages:
    307 (0.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    30
    Location:
    Ft Gordon
    Wow the system I built a LONG time ago (and is somehow still alive) has a Q6600 and a 8800GTX that min spec's, back then you'd rock every game. That some high requirements for a game, must look beautiful!
     
  4. marsey99

    marsey99

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2007
    Messages:
    1,588 (0.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    299
    you think?

    if you dont have a dual core cpu and dx10 gpu in your gaming system you want talking about.

    glad to see they dropped their shitty drm from the sp :)
     
  5. xenocide

    xenocide

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2011
    Messages:
    2,142 (1.64/day)
    Thanks Received:
    459
    Why on earth is the High Performance a 2600K or FX-4150??? The CPU comparisons across the board are kind of wonky. If I recall wasn't the E6700 substantially better than the Athlon X2 they listed? That 2600k is a really poor "equivalent" since the FX4xxx series is deceptively weak for a quad-core. I think saying something to the tune of i5-2xxx series or AMD FX Series would probably have been more accurate, or even listing a Phenom II X4 or better.
     
  6. INSTG8R

    INSTG8R

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2004
    Messages:
    2,899 (0.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    462
    Location:
    Lost in Norway
    Well I have to give Ubi credit for dropping that junk DRM. This game is now back on my radar!
     
  7. kiddagoat

    kiddagoat

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2011
    Messages:
    205 (0.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    35
    Not necessarily, if that system requirement is any indication, the engine for it must be optimized for parallel processing. If it is indeed threaded all to hell, the FX cpus will shine quite nicely on it. That is the one thing Bulldozer does accelerate at.
     
  8. scope54

    scope54

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2005
    Messages:
    274 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    29
    Location:
    Southern California :)
    I believe it only has good multi-threading with Integer workloads, where as games are mostly floating point.
     
  9. damric

    damric

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2010
    Messages:
    373 (0.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    96
    Sweet. Anyone got the campaign mode downloaded yet?
     
  10. xenocide

    xenocide

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2011
    Messages:
    2,142 (1.64/day)
    Thanks Received:
    459
    There are almost 0 gaming oriented benchmarks where an i5-2500k (or even an i5-2300) is not better than an FX-4xxx CPU. Far Cry 2 was very well threaded, and only the FX-8150 was able to remain at the level of the Sandy Bridge i5's. I'm not saying the FX-4150 isn't a capable CPU, just that it's a little wonky to say the i7-2600k is equivalent to the FX-4150.
     
  11. punani

    punani

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2009
    Messages:
    119 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    29
    Location:
    Finland
    Why they have 5770 and GTX 480 on the recommended system .. wasn't GTX 480 almost twice as fast as the 5770 ? :wtf:

    Anyways, hope my i7 920 can cope with max settings :)
     
  12. The Von Matrices

    The Von Matrices

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2010
    Messages:
    1,335 (0.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    441
    Not to mention that the graphical power of a GTX 480 is is no way comparable to HD 5770.
     
  13. MxPhenom 216

    MxPhenom 216 Corsair Fanboy

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    10,038 (6.64/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,260
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    TBH im pretty excited for this game.

    Its not even out yet LOL. Doesn't come out till December 4th.

    And its not like the campaign mode and if theres a multiplayer will be seperate. Its all one game. LMAO
     
  14. Ghost

    Ghost

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    272 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    82
    Location:
    Unknown
    If these requirements are real, I expect to see this during game intro:

    [​IMG]
     
  15. Camm New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2012
    Messages:
    1 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I'd have to agree in regards with CPU; either FC3 is heavily parallel (which would be awesome to see to be honest as no one's really taking advantage of threads yet) - or its a load of marketing bollocks for AMD evolved.

    On another note - whilst a 5770 is in no league close to a 480, if it has been optimised for AMD, it might (just maybe) be enough to jump it (look at BF3 performance under nvidia vs amd for example, or Shogun 2 AMD vs Nvdia, or Dirt 3 AMD vs Nvidia)
     
  16. xenocide

    xenocide

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2011
    Messages:
    2,142 (1.64/day)
    Thanks Received:
    459
    Even if it can support an infinite number of threads, even a Quad-Core Nahalam-based i7 would outperform an FX-4150, what logical reason do they have for throwing an i7-2600k (something that crushed the FX-4150) on there as an "equivalent?"
     
  17. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,683 (6.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,984
    Location:
    some AF base
    Here is my thing FX whatever notwithstanding that it is a slower CPU than the 2600K. Games are Games and you will gain more FPS having a GTX 480 vs a 5770 than 2600K vs FX 4150. How on gods green earth is the GTX 480 in the same sentence as the 5770? People upgrade from the 5770 to a GTX 480 that's like a night and day difference in games.
     
  18. LDNL

    LDNL

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2011
    Messages:
    465 (0.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    106
    Location:
    Finland
    Minimum System Requirements

    Processor: Intel Core 2 Duo E6700 or AMD Athlon64 X2 6000+ dual-core
    Graphics: NVIDIA GeForce 8800 GT or ATI Radeon HD 2900 512 MB with DirectX 9.0c
    Memory: 4 GB

    Recommended System Requirements

    Processor: Intel Core i3-530 or AMD Phenom II X2 565 or equivalent quad-core
    Graphics: NVIDIA GeForce GTS 450 or AMD Radeon HD 5770 or equivalent 1 GB DirectX 11 graphics
    Memory: 4 GB

    High-Performance System Requirements

    Processor: Intel Core i7-2600K or AMD FX-8150 or equivalent quad-core
    Graphics: NVIDIA GeForce GTX 680 or AMD Radeon HD 7970 or equivalent DirectX 11 graphics
    Memory: 8 GB

    Fixed all the typos
     
  19. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,683 (6.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,984
    Location:
    some AF base
    See that sounds a lot more sane.
     
    Chevalr1c and MxPhenom 216 say thanks.
  20. dickobrazzz New Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2011
    Messages:
    43 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Location:
    Russia, Moscow
    LOL:laugh::roll:

    i think i5 2320 or fx6100/ ph ii 1075/965 and nv 560ti or amd 6870/6930 will be enough
     
  21. NeoXF

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2012
    Messages:
    615 (0.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    80
    Uhm... it's a AMD endorsed (and vice-versa) game... what do you guys expect? Just how Enter The Matrix (only game I can remember for sure) endorsed Intel's shit Netburst Pentium 4s, or Doom 3 for nVidia's shitty GeForce FX series (earlier on, not at the time of the actual launch)... That's not to say the AMD FX-x1xx CPUs are complete shit, I'm actually hoping for Far Cry 3 to be the first game to actually utilize AMD new "take" on multicore x86 CPUs with Bulldozer to it's "fullest" potential... especially since (at least on Windows) there isn't that much (general) software that does it to begin with... and using Intel's compiler is just part of the problem.

    As for the GPU side, apart from the recommended/medium requirements, I don't see anything sketchy about it... tho I do hope they didn't "optimize" AMD GPUs for it by gimping nVidia ones... (like nVidia does sometimes when it's the MANY other times around).

    But at any rate, I hope it's at least 60 frames per second average playable on max settings with 4x non-post-process AA, on the R7970s and GF680s... I really hate games that MIGHT look good, but aren't worth shit when you can't play them "as intended" on launch day, or without paying insane amounts of money (for many, even that didn't help for another 1 or 2 GPU generations), when either they're not optimized (GTA IV) OR the hardware isn't there yet (can't think of one at the moment, sadly... maybe Doom 3, especially with the immense VRAM requirements, but great performance overall otherwise) OR BOTH (Crysis is probably the best example here, but FEAR or TES IV: Oblivion can also apply).
     
    Last edited: Sep 26, 2012
  22. Lionheart

    Lionheart

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2008
    Messages:
    4,063 (1.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    811
    Location:
    Milky Way Galaxy
    Unbalanced system requirements but whatever, looking forward to this game.....DX11 pls :)
     
  23. arnoo1

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2009
    Messages:
    746 (0.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    124
    Location:
    Netherlands
    wow this is not good news, i am a poor student, and i have a crappy old gtx275
    still looking forward to the game
    system req is damn high like metro
     
  24. NeoXF

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2012
    Messages:
    615 (0.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    80
    To Hell with D3D11... wish it was OGL 4.2+ LOL
     
  25. joyman

    joyman

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2011
    Messages:
    84 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    22
    Perhaps the game engine uses instruction set that is present on Bulldozer architecture and not on Sandy Bridge, like XOP and FMA4, because no matter how well threaded it is 4150 is 2 modules(4 cores if we take them as cores) and this is nowhere more threads as 2600k. We'll see... On the graphics front it would be refreshing to see something different than TWMTBP.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page