1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

FarCry 3 PC System Requirements Released, Always-Online DRM Scrapped for Campaign

Discussion in 'News' started by btarunr, Sep 26, 2012.

  1. renz496

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2012
    Messages:
    86 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7
    heard some news about the game will indeed be on AMD Gaming Evolved banner quite sometime ago. when the spec like 480 and 5770 are listed on the same tag on recommended card needed it kind of confirm the news lol.

    http://www.hardwarecanucks.com/news/games-news/amds-gaming-evolved-program-snags-far-cry-3/

    i like the idea about the gpu maker working closely with game dev to optimize the performance on their hardware but honestly i don't like the story when the dev already sponsored by company A it will shut it doors to work with company B. (like the one happen with that holy Batman game lol).
  2. mediasorcerer New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2011
    Messages:
    979 (0.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    225
    Location:
    coast ,melbourne
    Oh hooray you can play offline, thats a winner in my book, about time too, maybe they are listening after all, i loved the first far cry, i still laugh when i think of the scene where you could sneak up and release the tridents out of there cages on your enemies haha, cant wait for this !!!

    thanx for update ~g1,
  3. tacosRcool

    tacosRcool

    Joined:
    May 14, 2012
    Messages:
    860 (1.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    71
    This game looks amazing! Good thing my computer is high end! Another great thing is that Ubisoft is a little less evil to its PAYING customers.
  4. HossHuge

    HossHuge

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2008
    Messages:
    2,020 (0.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    489
    Location:
    EDM, AB, CAN
    Is there a particular resolution standard for each requirement?

    for example;

    1440*900 Minimum

    1920*1080 Recommended

    2560x1440 High-Performance
  5. Recus

    Recus

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2011
    Messages:
    500 (0.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    165
    [​IMG]

    When high end GPU/CPU running like mainstream is good thing... Not.
  6. renz496

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2012
    Messages:
    86 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7
    to be honest i don't believe it that 480 will only perform on par with 5770 in this game. i'm looking forward to official bench on this game when it comes out this december
  7. 3870x2

    3870x2

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2008
    Messages:
    4,875 (2.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    689
    Location:
    Joplin, Mo
    There is a lot of buzz about system requirements.

    I stopped looking at specs since 2004, since then they were mostly irrelevant.

    A 680 is required, but if you turn AA off, or lower shadows, you can run pretty close to max settings with an 8800GTX.

    Some things are very resource intensive compared to others, if you can learn to tweak your settings you won't be missing much with lower end hardware.
  8. Durvelle27

    Durvelle27

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2012
    Messages:
    2,433 (3.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    608
    Location:
    Memphis, TN
    So i can almost max this game XD
  9. raptori

    raptori

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Messages:
    635 (0.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    62
    Processor: Intel Core i7-2600K , LOL @ the "K" .
  10. johnnyfiive

    johnnyfiive

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2008
    Messages:
    3,891 (1.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    876
    Location:
    Tucson, AZ
    Cool. Now lets focus on the important factor in this title. If its anything like FarCry 2, I'm going to blow a fuse.

    IT BETTER NOT SUCK LIKE FC2. <---
  11. 3870x2

    3870x2

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2008
    Messages:
    4,875 (2.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    689
    Location:
    Joplin, Mo
    Never played, but from what I hear, the problem with FC2 is that it had very annoying tendencies like respawning enemies and such.

    Other than that, it could have been an alright game.
  12. johnnyfiive

    johnnyfiive

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2008
    Messages:
    3,891 (1.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    876
    Location:
    Tucson, AZ
    That, and a lot of other annoyances. One of them being, having to randomly give yourself medicine because you have malaria... :confused:
  13. RejZoR

    RejZoR

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2004
    Messages:
    4,450 (1.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    875
    Location:
    Europe/Slovenia
    The fact that they are pushing their Uplay junk is a good enough reason not to buy this game... we don't need hundreds of idiotic clients. Get it Ubi? Steam was the first and i won't complain. But everyone else are just "me too" in a hope to lock users to their crap. Thanks but no thanks.
  14. D007

    D007

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2007
    Messages:
    3,060 (1.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    374
    Location:
    Pompano beach, Florida
    Lmao the 680 on high end requirements list.. That's what I call futureprofing a game for graphics.. Be able to play it in years and think "Dam this game still looks great"..

    UBI's Drm is horrendous though.
    Anyone who has experienced ubi's drm issues knows how bad it gets..
    Ever played any of the silent hunter games?
    You have no idea.. Ubi will just give up and offer absolutely NO support if they just plain don't feel like it..
    I have no respect for that business model..
  15. yapchagi

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2010
    Messages:
    96 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10
    they didn't say how much VRAM needed for high settings requirement. Only recommended settings needs 1 GB VRAM there.
  16. Ikaruga

    Ikaruga

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2011
    Messages:
    866 (0.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    182
    2600K would not even feel the load where the FX-4150 maxes out, what kind of gibberish is this (perhaps they meant 8150?)
    With the native resolution of today's monitors, most of the games are tend to be GPU bond anyway, and there is no way on earth that a "proper" code would run equal or faster on a HD-5770 than how it would run on a GTX-480.
    Either there are some serious slowdowns on Nvidia cards, or the person who wrote this had absolutely no idea about GPUs whatsoever.
  17. xorbe

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2012
    Messages:
    379 (0.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    55
    They were trying to have some "realistic" aspects (and advertised that too) but yah they overlooked the part where people generally like fun more than realism when it comes to gaming. Supposedly the team actually spent some time on the savannah, but goodness knows how stretched that "fact" is. Of course, entire camps of enemies respawning if you step 0.1mm too far is not exactly realistic ... and don't forget "Far Cry 2: Vehicle Repair for Dummies!"

    Oh, and people are going way too crazy here about some probably highly arbitrary suggested specs that got slapped on the box.
  18. xenocide

    xenocide

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2011
    Messages:
    2,127 (1.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    458
    It would be absolutely suicidal to code a game for Instruction Sets that are present only on the minority companies CPU's. It's one thing to optimize a game for AMD or Nvidia GPU's because the split is rather even, but optimizing for AMD CPU's by using Instruction Sets exclusive to them when Intel represents a much larger portion of the market is insane. Hell, I'd be amazed if anyone could find a single benchmark where the FX-4150 is on par for the i7-2600K...
  19. KissSh0t

    KissSh0t New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2012
    Messages:
    114 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    28
    Location:
    Down Under
    I might consider buying Ubisoft games again since they have scrapped the always on DRM, I haven't bought any of their games for years now because of how they chose to treat PC gamers.
  20. Prima.Vera

    Prima.Vera

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2011
    Messages:
    2,185 (2.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    283

    To much fuss about this DRM. Just look at Diablo 3...
  21. Bjorn_Of_Iceland

    Bjorn_Of_Iceland

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2008
    Messages:
    3,172 (1.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    375
    Diablo 3 gets content updates, mp coop, and secure spot on a centralized server for your character data. Its an always on in the first place, because the mechanics requires you to be always on. Just like why mmorpgs are always on. Having an always on drm for singleplayer FPS that would stay the same forever is nonsensical and annoying
  22. Completely Bonkers New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    2,580 (0.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    516
    Code:
    {if cpu=amd goto moar
    do loop wait}
    :moar
    {if gpu=amd goto evenmoar
    do loop wait}
    :evenmore
    ...gamecode
    
  23. Prima.Vera

    Prima.Vera

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2011
    Messages:
    2,185 (2.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    283
    No, is not like any other MMO. MMO are only online. In D3 even if I choose solo gaming, I still have to log online. No net, no D3... Ring a bell?
  24. xenocide

    xenocide

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2011
    Messages:
    2,127 (1.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    458
    He's referring to the fact that it has always-on DRM by design. They store character data on servers so it cannot be compromised (by legitimate players or hackers) and constantly stream updates to the game which add bug fixes, balance changes, and content. Far Cry 3 has no reason to be always on because it needs exactly none of those things.
    Bjorn_Of_Iceland and KissSh0t say thanks.
  25. Live OR Die

    Live OR Die

    Joined:
    May 19, 2007
    Messages:
    3,888 (1.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    383
    Cool i should be able to smash High-Performance :toast:

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page