1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Fast chip ready?

Discussion in 'Motherboards & Memory' started by freeboy, Jul 12, 2013.

  1. freeboy

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2007
    Messages:
    979 (0.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    26
    MSI
    Z87-G41 PC Mate Socket LGA 1150 ATX Intel Motherboard
    Not sure if it will handle these chips speed
    CORSAIR Vengeance Pro 8GB (2 x 4GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 2133 Desktop Memory Model CMY8GX3M2A2133C11
    How do I tell ?
    Clueless
  2. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,530 (13.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,927
    Install the RAM. Go into your bios and set the XMP setting to what the RAM is rated at. Done. :)

    Memory Standard
    DDR3 2667(OC)/2400(OC)/2133(OC)/1866(OC)/1600/1333/1066
    Last edited: Jul 12, 2013
    freeboy says thanks.
  3. freeboy

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2007
    Messages:
    979 (0.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    26
    so I take it this board is good with this ram... there was little info at the retailers site for the speeds the board will ahndle and several reviewers noted concerns over fast speed chips and boards bios not accepting them
    thanks
    Last edited: Jul 12, 2013
  4. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,652 (7.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,972
    Location:
    some AF base
    It should work fine as long as the XMP profiles are loaded.
  5. freeboy

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2007
    Messages:
    979 (0.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    26
    man, things have changed in a few years.... XMP... lets get out google and find out what the heck that is...
  6. freeboy

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2007
    Messages:
    979 (0.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    26
    well lots of info on xmp profiles...
    I love the speeds and hate the size, physical size, of these chips... but at around 80$ shipped they are a deal... hummm
  7. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,652 (7.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,972
    Location:
    some AF base
    Memory performance profile basically manufacturers have an extra speed setting saved on the ram that allows a motherboard to simply pull up the settings on everything from voltage to timings.
  8. freeboy

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2007
    Messages:
    979 (0.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    26
    thanks.. yep... looks like 2133 may be tomorrows 1333
  9. drdeathx

    drdeathx

    Joined:
    May 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,132 (1.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    479
    Location:
    Chicago burbs
    Most ram will work but to be safe go to mobo manufacturers website and get approved ram

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page