1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Fastest Memory on the Market

Discussion in 'Motherboards & Memory' started by Johnny5, Feb 2, 2007.

  1. Johnny5

    Johnny5 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2007
    Messages:
    218 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    Can someone tell me where system memory is right now(how fast, which is the best) Im looking to upgrade. Need info. thanks
     
  2. Mediocre

    Mediocre New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2006
    Messages:
    1,240 (0.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    77
    LOL!!

    Um..there are lots of different types of memory....

    Some system information would be nice.

    DDR, DDR2, PC100??!

    I mean come on, people in these forums are good, but we ain't psychics
     
  3. Sasqui

    Sasqui

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2005
    Messages:
    7,854 (2.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,565
    Location:
    Manchester, NH
  4. Sasqui

    Sasqui

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2005
    Messages:
    7,854 (2.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,565
    Location:
    Manchester, NH
    I automatically assumed DDR2... I guess I'm a psychic :wtf:
     
  5. Mediocre

    Mediocre New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2006
    Messages:
    1,240 (0.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    77
  6. Mediocre

    Mediocre New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2006
    Messages:
    1,240 (0.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    77
    Good guess though, DDR2 is the proper assumption from his question on AGP video card upgrades
     
  7. Johnny5

    Johnny5 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2007
    Messages:
    218 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    Welll i thought the question was pretty staightforward. Isnt ddr2 faster then ddr? Basically if money wasnt an object im sure someone is producing the fastest memory money can buy.
     
  8. bruins004 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2005
    Messages:
    2,480 (0.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    75
    Yes DDR2 can attain faster speeds, however, the timings on the memory are looser.

    Also, note that systems cannot use both DDR and DDR2.
    For example, systems that use AMD socket 939 can only use DDR memory while the new AM2 and C2D systems can only use DDR2 memory.

    It all depends on the system you have.
     
  9. Khriez New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2006
    Messages:
    79 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Why not over 800 ? I could use advice here. I plan on building a new system in a few months.

    http://www.tigerdirect.ca/applications/SearchTools/item-details.asp?EdpNo=2701644&CatId=2265

    If that is overkill for me, then please....educate me so I can save a few hundred bucks LOL. I'm not sure if that 'SLI-Ready' for RAM makes a big difference when using two Vid cards on SLI. I do plan on buying one GeForce 8800 GTX, and then in a few months when the price drops even more I'll buy a second one.
     
  10. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,684 (6.64/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,984
    Location:
    some AF base
    anything beyond 800mhz has to be oc'd to hit that ram speed the maximum divider offered by a mobo is 800mhz

    BTW OCZ has ddr2 1150mhz ram
     
  11. Khriez New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2006
    Messages:
    79 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
  12. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,684 (6.64/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,984
    Location:
    some AF base
    yesfor the new C2D 6X50 series which uses a 1333mhz FSB (333mhzx4) but the ram is still only going to operate at a max of 800mhz w/o an oc its the same as the 1066 fis set ups the ram isnt running @ 1066 but 800mhz instead
     
  13. Khriez New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2006
    Messages:
    79 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Okay cool, so if say bought an E6400, OC'd it to like.... 3.0 Ghz I wouldn't even have to worry about reducing the RAM speed? I could just go crazy and keep OCing until I hit 900 Mhz or something, hehe. Am I getting the general idea right ?

    If that didn't make any sense about reducing ram speed, I read a guide here that if your RAM is PC3200 (200 Mhz), you should go in the BIOS and reduce it down to 166 Mhz. Then as you overclock you should pay attention to the clock speed; so it doesn't go over 200 Mhz again.

    Excuse the newb here. :)
     
  14. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,684 (6.64/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,984
    Location:
    some AF base
    most ddr3200 is ok up to ddr4000 or 250mhz you only drop that value on cheap stuff
    [​IMG]
    see thats ddr3200@4000
    the only thing that you get extra w/ staying close to ddr400 is lower timings
     
  15. DOM

    DOM

    Joined:
    May 30, 2006
    Messages:
    7,551 (2.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    828
    Location:
    TX, USA
    whats you system specs. be easyer to help you
     
  16. Khriez New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2006
    Messages:
    79 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    It won't help to give them out, since I was asking questions for a future buy. :) I just need to save up cash.
     
  17. DOM

    DOM

    Joined:
    May 30, 2006
    Messages:
    7,551 (2.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    828
    Location:
    TX, USA
    so how soon are you looking on getting the new stuff ?

    so are you just on looking on some stuff or a whole new rig ?
     
  18. Khriez New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2006
    Messages:
    79 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Okay, here is the story... (keep in mind I'm being very optimistic) well my mom has made some nice co-worker friends, even though it's an agency of only labor-crap jobs, I guess you'd be lucky to find some place that pays like 14 bucks an hour. There is this guy my mom knows says he can get me a job at this factory place; he just needs to talk to his agency.

    So if i work full time, I'll need to save up 2000 bucks (already got like 800 bucks saved up...hehe I have already planned that just for the 8800 GTX). Perhaps in about 6 weeks or so I can buy a new system (If I get this job, I'll be working full time at 12 bucks an hour). My budget is 3000 bucks, perhaps 2500 though.

    I'll probably keep my hard drive and perhaps my crap CD reader, just to save 200 bucks or so. Also I'm hoping prices drop but I doubt that will happen within a 2 months time.

    I'll be buying a new CPU+MOBO+RAM+other main parts like Power Supply. I already ordered a case, 2 anti-static wrist straps, an extra case fan. I'm very anticipated on this new build, I can't play any of the new games out lol.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page