1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

February World Community Grid Team Challenge Planning!

Discussion in 'World Community Grid (WCG)' started by [Ion], Jan 31, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. [Ion]

[Ion] WCG Team Assistant

Thanks Received:
    Hey Team! I'm excited to announce that a new Team Challenge is in the works! This is my first time running a competition, so I'd like your input for the process! My current plan is to start the challenge either the first or second week of February (perhaps either the 6th or the 12th) and then let it run for the remainder of the month. Half-way through we would have a game giveaway as before. I have an AMD Never Settle game coupon and an AMD Nexuiz coupon that I'd be putting up for grabs there.

I'm going to see if I can get Chicken Patty to put up an announcement a few days before we start--hopefully we can recruit some new members that way.

While a competition where everyone throws in what they can is fun, prizes are all the better. In addition to the game giveaway, I'm hoping to have some more tangible prizes like in our last big event. I'm willing to offer up one or two cash (PayPal, really) prizes--probably something on the order of $20-25 each. I'm also willing to offer up spare hardware that I have. In terms of hardware prizes, I can offer up hard drives (a couple, probably), DDR2 RAM, and LGA775 CPUs. I may be willing to offer a full system--probably a Core 2 Duo-class system. Obviously, these aren't the greatest prizes, so I would love contributions. If you have hardware (or cash) that you'd be willing to donate, it would be greatly appreciated--just send a PM my way!