1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Feedback on my new build

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by Franklinwallbrown, Jan 22, 2008.

  1. asb2106

    asb2106 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2008
    Messages:
    1,940 (0.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    149
    Location:
    kTOwN WI!!
    and yes, the qx was runing at stock speeds and it can OC way higher than the q6600 but its just to show you have a very fast quad for less than 300 bucks!
  2. niko084

    niko084

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2006
    Messages:
    7,636 (2.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    729
    Well because they are the same design at heart *over the idea of cache and 45nm* naturally a chip clocked up with a higher FSB will score higher naturally, as raising your FSB makes more difference to a lot of other things in the end..

    A system with a 1000mhz fsb with a x1 multiplier will be faster than a 250mhz with an x4 multiplier naturally.
  3. asb2106

    asb2106 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2008
    Messages:
    1,940 (0.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    149
    Location:
    kTOwN WI!!
    yep, granted the artichture is the same, or similar

    And in relation to the 780i chipset -> there is no support for the upcoming 1600FSB 45nm procs(as of yet), but I think - THINK - that it will support the current 1333 45nm's.
  4. Franklinwallbrown

    Franklinwallbrown New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2007
    Messages:
    1,228 (0.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12
    I'd like to go with a 1333FSB w/ OCed RAM @ 1333.
  5. Bluefox1115

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2007
    Messages:
    751 (0.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    48
    Location:
    RI, USA
    stop this madness already and just go Phenom o_O
  6. Franklinwallbrown

    Franklinwallbrown New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2007
    Messages:
    1,228 (0.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12
    LOL...I would if the Phenoms worked properly (hearsay).
  7. Franklinwallbrown

    Franklinwallbrown New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2007
    Messages:
    1,228 (0.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12
    I do plan to buy & watch HD DVD/Blu Rays. Would there be any reason for me to get your DVD drive if I already have one (an AOpen Duw1616l-31)?

    I wanted my case because it is supposed to be quiet, but I don't know if I care anymore?

    I wanted the 10K because I heard they were good for gaming. The loads are shorter, therefore, you can ready yourself first/better, but I'm thinking that doesn't matter anymore either. You know?

    Yeah, I think I've fallin' in love w/ that screen.

    I personally don't know about videocards, so, I guess I need to look up benchmarks (only thing I can think of) for both card types & ask people what they have & their results.

    I know I want the Prelude. *Drool*

    I don't know much about PSU either. Just know that efficiency is the name of the game for them.

    Those speakers looked good. So...

    Can you put 1000 RAM in a 1066 MB?

    Asus is synonymous with MBs. Nice N & S bridge chips on the MB. Nice FSB. Supports dual channel (a must)! I don't care that it has 4 Ram slots because you can't use 4 anyway, right? 7 expansion slots with good ratio (2x 16s: 2x 1s: 3x reg.). Not familiar w/ PATA. Nice amount of SATAs. Has a raid controller, but I don't know if it is a good one? Don't know about the onboard audio or LAN chips? USB 2.0 F&B, firewire, etc. good! Overall, looks good.

    Why not go the Xeon for a little bit more, if you don't mind me asking?

    Zalmans are always nice.

    The Arctic Cooler is the type of cooler I was looking at. Keeps airflow going from front/bottom to back/top, which is the best airflow, right?

    My friend (a semi-hardcore gamer) tells me that he has heard many a great thing about those headsets!


    Yeah, I think a quad is a safe bet.

    We need to talk more about the GFX card. The 9600s are coming out in Feb! (around the 21st I think)

    Not familiar w/ 780i or specifics of Geforces. 4.6 is rather amazing, if I do say so myself.


    I want great sound for HD movies and games a little too. Just a preference of mine.


    Thank you.


    Like I said, we need to discuss the GFX cards more.

    Ditto, I don't know much about Nvidia or GFX cards in general.

    I just want to OC it to great stability.

    The Xeon seems to be rather cheap for a quad, so, I figured I go for it. You know?
    Last edited: Jan 24, 2008
  8. niko084

    niko084

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2006
    Messages:
    7,636 (2.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    729
    It's not they don't actually work, its that AMD can't keep up right now...
    As far as the quads, they could have been much better though.

    PS- 1333mhz ram at 1:1 would require 666.5 FSB...
    Do the math there....
    666x9 = 5994 mhz... I certainly hope you want to buy TEC cooling, and a WAY more expensive board...

    I mean you could leave your ram less than 1:1 but seriously why just to lose performance... You will never need that kinda memory bandwidth anyways.

    As for the ram, I have had my Crucial Balistix 800 at over 1100.
    That Gskill uses the same physical chips Micron D9's.
  9. asb2106

    asb2106 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2008
    Messages:
    1,940 (0.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    149
    Location:
    kTOwN WI!!
    thumbs down,(to bad there isnt a smilie for that)
    the phenoms cant get you very far, I have loved AMD since the release of the athlon 64 but ever since conroe I have been an intel user. I was so excited about a "true" quad core but they have been nothing but garbage. When AMD can get the quirks out of phenom Ill hop back over the fence and love it, but until I can get a phenom that can up to 3.4 ~ 3.6 range Im sticking with Intel. The problem then becomes when AMD can hit that, the 45nm intels are gonna destroy that.

    I dont think AMD will have a chance to be back on top until 2010 or later.
  10. Franklinwallbrown

    Franklinwallbrown New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2007
    Messages:
    1,228 (0.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12
    So, I've heard about AMD. I'm a bit on an AMD fanboy, just because I like to root for the underdog, but I'm not going to go AMD & sacrifice performance.

    Yeah, my math was a little off.

    What kind of memory bandwidth would you recommend?

    Micron D9s are good for OCing?


    It would seems so :(
  11. asb2106

    asb2106 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2008
    Messages:
    1,940 (0.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    149
    Location:
    kTOwN WI!!
    Micron D9's are the best for OCing
    Franklinwallbrown says thanks.
  12. Franklinwallbrown

    Franklinwallbrown New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2007
    Messages:
    1,228 (0.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12
    Good to know! Thanks.
  13. asb2106

    asb2106 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2008
    Messages:
    1,940 (0.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    149
    Location:
    kTOwN WI!!
    a system I built almost identical to mine (p5b deluxe, q6600) with crucial balliztix was able to hit 475 FSB rock solid with out any issues. My system with some OCZ gold 800 I topped out at 419 stable. So in curiousity I put the d9s in my system and i got a stable OC of 468, I couldnt get the 475 but it was proof to me that d9's are the way to go! I would get some new memory but i cant complain about 3.6 q6600 and 800mhz ram, its fast enough, if I could do it again it would be D9's all day
  14. DaMulta

    DaMulta My stars went supernova

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Messages:
    16,117 (5.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,454
    Location:
    Oklahoma T-Town
    The ram I posted on that build is about 100 for 2 gigs.

    Wilie has had his set up to 1400 with ease.


    Because you not building this today. I say get the new 3870 X2 card that's coming out next week. I myself have some Palit 1Gb cards on the way.....

    How do you want to cool your system?

    Air (I can't see myself going back to air)
    Water
    Water + TEC if you do it right it can be safe.....must have a relay
    Phase which is $$$$
  15. asb2106

    asb2106 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2008
    Messages:
    1,940 (0.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    149
    Location:
    kTOwN WI!!
    now that I have used water with such sucess Ill never go back to air. I OCed a system for a friend and his e4400 was up to 72 degrees with what i thought was a mild OC. I have a 50% OC and my temps are alittle warm but never hot(always less that 50C)

    I use a custom swiftech system I built and Im really interested in TEC, DaMulta, can you recommend a good CPU block, Im familiar with the extra PS needed along with the relay setup to hook it all in(Swiftech has a great guide with their TEC unit)
  16. Franklinwallbrown

    Franklinwallbrown New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2007
    Messages:
    1,228 (0.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12
    D9s it is!

    Should I go 2gigs or 4? Many have said 4 because of price.

    1400 1:1?

    Well, I would like to get peoples opinions that have the cards & if you could find some that would be great! It seems to me, looking at the specs, that the ATI's are better, but many adamantly say they are not. I don't have any way to gauge GFX cards because I have only had one computer & this one has a 6600, which is old! If you guys could get facts for the cards that would also be nice.

    Cooling! Oh, I don't know. I am afraid of water. All I know is air. TEC...what is that? Phase...what is that?

    Guide me, oh, wise ones!
  17. DaMulta

    DaMulta My stars went supernova

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Messages:
    16,117 (5.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,454
    Location:
    Oklahoma T-Town
    I use 4 sticks of ram, some people say don't do that. But each his own, and I don't think in most cases you will need more than 2.


    Tec is used with water to hit subzero temps. Which means a better stable and higher overclock.

    This is the TEC block that I have been thinking about
    http://www.frozencpu.com/products/6...er_Socket_754_775_939_940_AM2.html?tl=g30c105


    Don't be afraid of water, it's the best all around way to cool a system. Just don't take short cuts like some of us do from time to time....

    Right now I have my CPU on a Danger Den block and a mase4 on my video card. I want to go back to TEC sometime this year.



    A phase is like having your A/C system on your machine.
  18. Franklinwallbrown

    Franklinwallbrown New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2007
    Messages:
    1,228 (0.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12
    What ever you guys think I should do. I'm not the expert, but if we go water I need your help!
  19. DaMulta

    DaMulta My stars went supernova

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Messages:
    16,117 (5.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,454
    Location:
    Oklahoma T-Town
    Water is easier than what people think it is. Maybe TEC isn't the way to go for you. You viod the warrenty on your motherboard when you go tec.

    GIGABYTE 3D AURORA GZ-FSCA1-ATB Black Aluminum ATX Full Tower Computer Case - Retail $139.99
    Has holes for water cooling, and the black ice will go right on the back on the case.
    Danger Den DD12V-D5 Fixed Speed Pump $76.95

    Danger Den Dual 5 1/4" Bay Reservoir : $31.95

    Black Ice GTX240 $99.95

    Now that rad I think will pull 800-1200 watts from a system of hear with max fans. It is around thatn that.
    I have that rad and used to cool two 180Watt TECs with it.

    Now you need to look at what kind of blocks you want. With a fan controller you can make the system kindda quite with water.
    Last edited: Jan 25, 2008
  20. Franklinwallbrown

    Franklinwallbrown New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2007
    Messages:
    1,228 (0.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12
    Why that case?

    Lead the way; when I get the money! Until then you can teach me.
  21. DaMulta

    DaMulta My stars went supernova

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Messages:
    16,117 (5.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,454
    Location:
    Oklahoma T-Town
    Because it's easy to work on a water system with it, and is a good case at the same time.
  22. Franklinwallbrown

    Franklinwallbrown New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2007
    Messages:
    1,228 (0.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12
    It was all aluminum. Therefore, light.
  23. DaMulta

    DaMulta My stars went supernova

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Messages:
    16,117 (5.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,454
    Location:
    Oklahoma T-Town
    and colder
  24. Franklinwallbrown

    Franklinwallbrown New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2007
    Messages:
    1,228 (0.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12
    Ah, well...

    I figured out that the sundialmicro cosmos case dosen't have a MIR. lol, just funny 'cause they have it posted on their site.
  25. DaMulta

    DaMulta My stars went supernova

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Messages:
    16,117 (5.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,454
    Location:
    Oklahoma T-Town

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page