1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

FFXI low FPS

Discussion in 'Games' started by Sanhime, Jan 17, 2010.

  1. Sanhime

    Sanhime

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2009
    Messages:
    222 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10
    My FPS is 10-12 (according to FRAPS) on a moderately crowded screen (~10 people). I tried all kinds of SLI profile and regedit tweeks, nothing helps.

    My current ssystem is:
    i7 920 OC@3.8
    evga x58 motherboard
    6gb ram
    2 Geforce 285GTX SLI
    onboard sound
    Win7 64bit
    All drivers and directx updated.

    FFXI is so old. Even my old system held at 30 FPS (FFXI is capped at 30 FPS) with 30 people on the screen with all graphics cranked to max and with 2048x2048 background res.
    Old machine: E6600, 2GB ram, 2 Geforce 8800GTS SLI, evga 680i, WinXP 32bit.

    I dont understand what is wrong here. I googled all over the place with no clear remedy.
     
  2. Asylum

    Asylum

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2008
    Messages:
    2,808 (1.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    683
    Location:
    South Carolina
    Sanhime says thanks.
  3. Cold Storm

    Cold Storm Battosai

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2007
    Messages:
    15,014 (5.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,999
    Location:
    In a library somewhere on this earth
    Have you tried disabling SLI for that game only?
     
  4. Sanhime

    Sanhime

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2009
    Messages:
    222 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10
  5. Asylum

    Asylum

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2008
    Messages:
    2,808 (1.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    683
    Location:
    South Carolina
    Best drivers i have found for SLI.
    Work better than any of the new drivers.
    Check my scores on 06 and Vantage in the forums.

    If its just that game that has problems its not the drivers its the game.
     
    Sanhime says thanks.
  6. Cold Storm

    Cold Storm Battosai

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2007
    Messages:
    15,014 (5.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,999
    Location:
    In a library somewhere on this earth
    Drivers, are what you would call, "wonder" driver suit, for the cards.. Yeah, it's a older version, but they have seen to be stable on the front of both benches and "useage" Via SLI
     
    Sanhime says thanks.
  7. zithe

    zithe

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2008
    Messages:
    3,088 (1.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    345
    Location:
    North Chili, NY
    No reason to have two cards running for that game lol. This game is 8 years old. :laugh:
     
  8. Sanhime

    Sanhime

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2009
    Messages:
    222 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10
    I know, but thats not the point. My old machine ran this game far better than what I currently have.
     
  9. Sanhime

    Sanhime

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2009
    Messages:
    222 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10
    Well, I tried that driver, it didnt seem to help, maybe 1 or 2 FPS extra. :/
    It seems to have made the game more unstable. Thanks for the suggestions though.
     
  10. Cold Storm

    Cold Storm Battosai

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2007
    Messages:
    15,014 (5.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,999
    Location:
    In a library somewhere on this earth
    whenever you uninstall driver suits, how do you do it?
     
    Sanhime says thanks.
  11. Sanhime

    Sanhime

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2009
    Messages:
    222 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10
    I unstall from the control panel. I remove the stereoscopic driver first, then physx driver next, then the main driver, then reboot.
     
  12. Cold Storm

    Cold Storm Battosai

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2007
    Messages:
    15,014 (5.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,999
    Location:
    In a library somewhere on this earth
    Here is the best way to reinstall drivers.

    Erocker's way ;)


    That's the way I've been doing it since I started swapping parts.. What most likely is happening is that the reg files are still being kept, or some file tied to the reg. and it's conflicting with the new drivers that are installed..
     
    Sanhime says thanks.
  13. Sanhime

    Sanhime

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2009
    Messages:
    222 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10
    I followed the Erocker method, the game is still unstable. I think the game just does not run as smoothly on newer OS and hardware. Thanks again
     
  14. Cold Storm

    Cold Storm Battosai

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2007
    Messages:
    15,014 (5.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,999
    Location:
    In a library somewhere on this earth
    Oh, still a few things we can try... Well, can think of one off hand since I'm at work.


    Win 7 has a "compatibility" finder.. What it does, is if you know a "desired" OS that windows had, that works with the program, it will allow you to run it via that OS. Sort of like a Virtual OS. Now, I've had about 50/50 chance of it working on some programs I've tried it on, but it might work with that.. Should show up when you right click the icon for FF11.. If not, google around that phrase and should teach ya how to do it..
     
    Sanhime says thanks.
  15. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,807 (13.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,190
    That game uses a shader model barely supported by new cards. If you love the game, perhaps build an old system out of used parts to play it.
     
    Sanhime says thanks.
  16. Sanhime

    Sanhime

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2009
    Messages:
    222 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10
    Does shader model have something to do with shadows? Thats primarily where the huge dip in FPS comes from, when the shadow is set on high
    ***edit***
    I didnt uninstall the Visual C++ stuff, i did that now, the game is stable, but the FPS remains almost unchanged

    Perhaps the game just runs bad because its a simple PS2 port. xbox360 version has similar choppy with the same amount of people on the screen too.
     
    Last edited: Jan 17, 2010
  17. Cold Storm

    Cold Storm Battosai

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2007
    Messages:
    15,014 (5.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,999
    Location:
    In a library somewhere on this earth
    Yeah, Shaders is Nvidia's special "shadow" formula.

    It's like Erocker says, the shader model isn't set for the newer cards, so you'll have to keep the "shadow effect" down low. The card can max it out, yes, but it's not designed for the "new tech"
     
    Sanhime says thanks.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page