1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

File Sharing Woes

Discussion in 'General Software' started by AsphyxiA, May 26, 2007.

  1. AsphyxiA

    AsphyxiA New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2005
    Messages:
    632 (0.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    15
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    okies I can't get windows on my brothers computer to share files for anything! I think ive tried everything i possibly can but a few things keep happening. First I turn off the firewall, that always comes back on, even when i disable it in services. It also, in the wizard, windows keeps saying that File and printer sharing has been turned off.????????!!!! I keep turning it on! grrr, I wish networking where as painless on windows as on Linux
     
  2. DRDNA

    DRDNA

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2006
    Messages:
    4,780 (1.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    566
    Location:
    New York
    Whats the OS and mobo?
     
  3. AsphyxiA

    AsphyxiA New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2005
    Messages:
    632 (0.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    15
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    XP some ECS socket 478 MOBO
     
  4. Exeodus

    Exeodus

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2005
    Messages:
    623 (0.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    156
    Location:
    A suburb of Chicago, IL
    Have you tried the network setup wizard?
     
  5. theonetruewill New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2006
    Messages:
    2,996 (1.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    240
    Location:
    London - Close your eyes and you'll see me
    With the firewall, you need to set it it allow file access. Its in advanced options most of the time (or general rules). Also put your network in the trusted zone. What firewall do you have? I hope I can help as I just set up ours about 2 weeks ago. 3 laptops and a desktop all sharing files and a printer.
     
  6. AsphyxiA

    AsphyxiA New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2005
    Messages:
    632 (0.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    15
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    definantly!

    I do have expirience setting up networks in windows but for some reason, IT WON'T WORK!
     
  7. theonetruewill New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2006
    Messages:
    2,996 (1.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    240
    Location:
    London - Close your eyes and you'll see me
    What firewall, if it's Norton thats normally the source of your problems.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page