1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Finally able to upgrade! Buy now or wait for Sandy Bridge!?

Discussion in 'System Builder's Advice' started by dhdude, Sep 20, 2010.

  1. dhdude

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2010
    Messages:
    183 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    45
    Location:
    Kent, UK
    Hey guys,
    I should finally be coming into some money in the next couple of weeks, and I'll finally be able to scratch that terrible upgrade itch!

    I'm on a bit of a budget, but have several options;

    A) Upgrade to 45nm, 12mb L2 Core 2 Quad, keeping existing parts, but maybe buy some DDR3 to go with it that I could possibly carry over to my next rig

    B)Upgrade to new mobo, cpu and RAM; thinking 1156 i5 760 or Xeon X3440

    C) Wait till Sandy Bridge in Q1 2011?

    I'm feeling the inadequacy of my current CPU, previous circumstances forcing me to downgrade from a Q9550 to this, and my uses benefit from those extra threads!

    So what do you think? :banghead:
  2. dhdude

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2010
    Messages:
    183 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    45
    Location:
    Kent, UK
    Sorry I mis-posted in the wrong section, if a mod could move it to the system builder's advice section that'd be great? Really sorry!
  3. mudkip

    mudkip

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2008
    Messages:
    1,226 (0.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    148
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    A) Upgrade CPu/Mem then wait for sandybridge
    dhdude says thanks.
  4. blu3flannel

    blu3flannel

    Joined:
    May 14, 2010
    Messages:
    898 (0.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    120
    Location:
    NYU
    It's only going to be about 3-4 months, I'd suggest holding out until Sandy Bridge and upgrading then.
    dhdude says thanks.
  5. p_o_s_pc

    p_o_s_pc F@H&WCG addict

    Joined:
    May 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13,008 (4.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,183
    Location:
    Newark ohio
    just grab another stick of ram so you can have 4gb and dual channel and wait.
    dhdude says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  6. (FIH) The Don

    (FIH) The Don

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2009
    Messages:
    6,817 (3.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,910
    Location:
    Viking Land
    get a used q6600, q9550 or similat, it will be a massive boost, and as pos said, get another stick of memory
  7. Chevalr1c

    Chevalr1c

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2010
    Messages:
    3,130 (2.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,339
    Wait for AMD Llano/Intel Sandy Bridge.

    IMHO that only makes sense if he can upgrade the RAM to DDR2-1066 (DDR@-667 is probably a huge bottleneck for a C2Q)
    Crunching for Team TPU
  8. dhdude

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2010
    Messages:
    183 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    45
    Location:
    Kent, UK
    Yeah, if I do upgrade to a Core 2 Quad, Ill buy some DDR3 (I have a board that has 4xDDR2 and 2xDDR3 slots) that I can carry over to my next build
  9. LAN_deRf_HA

    LAN_deRf_HA

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2008
    Messages:
    4,502 (1.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    931
    I'd say wait for sandybridge. New cpus/sockets seem to last a bit longer than other parts these days.
    dhdude says thanks.
  10. Achilles1600

    Achilles1600 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2009
    Messages:
    276 (0.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13
    Location:
    edmonton alberta canada
    Is sandybrige going to be a new socket.?:wtf:
  11. (FIH) The Don

    (FIH) The Don

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2009
    Messages:
    6,817 (3.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,910
    Location:
    Viking Land
    yes 1155
  12. Achilles1600

    Achilles1600 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2009
    Messages:
    276 (0.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13
    Location:
    edmonton alberta canada
    Dang it i just got my 1156 socket 2 month's ago. :banghead:
  13. dhdude

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2010
    Messages:
    183 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    45
    Location:
    Kent, UK
    Sorry Achilles :(

    Just a quick update guys, I found a brand new Q9450 for £150, so I snapped it up! Considering the Q9550 goes for around £230 over here, and the Q9650 for £260ish, I didn't think I got a bad deal, did I?
    I'll grab 2x4gb DDR3 sticks over the next couple of months, so I can overclock, and also maybe carry those sticks over to a new rig further on down the line.

    Now I've bought this, I'll prob hold out till the Sandy Bridge replacement for 1366 comes out near the end of next year.

    What do you guys think, if I do some mild OC'ing will my new CPU good enough to last another year without bottlenecking any single GPU cards out now and in the near future?
  14. f22a4bandit

    f22a4bandit

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2010
    Messages:
    574 (0.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    196
    Location:
    SATX
    You'll be fine doing what you're planning. The RAM is what would hold you back on the performance more than the CPU you just picked up.
    dhdude says thanks.
  15. mtosev

    mtosev New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2005
    Messages:
    1,463 (0.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    145
    Location:
    Maribor, Slovenia
    C)

    spending money now is pointless as new gen cpu are coming in 4mounths time
  16. Hayder_Master

    Hayder_Master

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,173 (2.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    638
    Location:
    IRAQ-Baghdad
    no way, sure best thing is sandy bridge, you can pickup used cpu and good solutions are search for xeon x3210-x3220 or core 2 quad q6600-q9500-q9550

    for me cheap used quad core will be very useful, like q8400-q8500 and it can run everything until today
    dhdude says thanks.
  17. Bjorn_Of_Iceland

    Bjorn_Of_Iceland

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2008
    Messages:
    3,172 (1.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    375
    A Q9650 / Q9550 E0 with a low vid. That would bring you a lot (If you add overclocking in equation). Then wait for sandy / bulldozer
    dhdude says thanks.
  18. puma99dk|

    puma99dk|

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2005
    Messages:
    3,289 (1.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    724
    it's running on a upgraded version of the P55 Chipset called v2 that's what i have heard but what's more it's should be LGA1155 as The Don says but we will see what Intel have done when they release it.
  19. dhdude

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2010
    Messages:
    183 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    45
    Location:
    Kent, UK
    Thanks guys, as I said I scored a brand new Q9450 (rare now I know) for £150 here in the UK, which is pretty good considering Q9550s are £230 now, so I'll be OC'ing shortly, just need some new ram first, that'll come over the next few weeks.

    Still wanna get Sandy Bridge but this should hold me out for the next year, from what I read it looks like a big improvement over existing i7s; if anyone's interested Anandtech have a preview of the Sandy Bridge with benchmarks :)
  20. Hayder_Master

    Hayder_Master

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,173 (2.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    638
    Location:
    IRAQ-Baghdad
    ok i know some sure things about sandy bridge
    1-it's overclocked at 4.9ghz on air
    2-when it's run on stock speed with turbo boost on it's beat all core i7 1156 which 860 and 870, also it's beat almost all core i7 1366 with 4 cores and beat core i7 980x in some tests
    i will try search again to give this links but im very sure i see this tests in respectable sites.

    you going to live in haven man keep dreaming and wait for it:rockout:
  21. overclocking101

    overclocking101

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2009
    Messages:
    2,886 (1.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    405
    Location:
    vermont
    sandy bridge will be good if you he a K cpu otherwise you will not be able to overclock it at all due to intel locking the blck, i will not be getting sandy bridge unless the 1366 replacement has bclck changing possibilites. imo locking the base clock was a bad move. budget buyers buy for overclocked potential for cheap not to be at a set speed. I would hold out with what you have (q9450 and some quality DDR3) until the next gen comes out
  22. hat

    hat Maximum Overclocker

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    16,881 (6.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,060
    Location:
    Ohio
    People have been saying this sort of thing since before 775 came out. If Intel did that, they would end up handing AMD a good chuck of the enthusiast market. I certianly won't be paying $300 for a cpu with an unlocked multi so I can overclock... I want to overclock the $100 cpu just like we have been able to for ages.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  23. crazyeyesreaper

    crazyeyesreaper Chief Broken Rig

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    Messages:
    8,131 (4.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,745
    Location:
    04578
    its been proven Hat intel wants users to pay $50 to unlock there cpus :roll: it will be cracked in days of release and what not but point is they DID do it this time
  24. Bjorn_Of_Iceland

    Bjorn_Of_Iceland

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2008
    Messages:
    3,172 (1.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    375
    Q9450 is good. That would edge out @ 3.6ghz stable for 24/7 realistically
  25. <<Onafets>>

    <<Onafets>>

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2008
    Messages:
    779 (0.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    77
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    Just break off a pin! :D

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page