1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Finally bit the bullet and got my daughter a NETBOOK...

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by HookeyStreet, Jan 19, 2010.

  1. HookeyStreet

    HookeyStreet Eat, sleep, game!

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2004
    Messages:
    7,135 (1.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    523
    Location:
    Great Yarmouth, England
    ....and Im surprised at how good it is. Ive been putting off getting her a 'new' laptop for a while now (as I was out of work and shes only 11 etc). She had been using my old Fujitsu Siemens laptop and the wife gave me her nice new Acer Aspire :rockout:

    BUT..

    I wasnt happy with this because even though my laptop is an old shitkicker now, it was MY old shitkicker and had EVERYTHING I wanted on it (ie 5.1 via optical headphone jack, VGA port on the left hand side so I could easily connect it to my TV etc etc). So as Ive started a new job I thought I would treat my daughter to a new computer.

    I left it totally upto her and she chose the Acer Aspire One Netbook (Intel Atom 1.6 dual core, 160GB HDD, 1GB of DDR2, webcam, wireless and Windows XP Home Edition: £230) and I have to admit I really like it :D

    Obviously, being a TPU forum member, I instantly thought "Im gonna need to upgrade the RAM on this!" and "XP! Thats going for a start!" LOL

    Sadly, the ATOM N270 isnt a 64-Bit CPU so I couldnt install Windows 7 64Bit Ultimate on it :(. But apart from this, its running great. Anyone else been surprised by these little laptops?
     
  2. RejZoR

    RejZoR

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2004
    Messages:
    4,838 (1.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,022
    Location:
    Europe/Slovenia
    I have one, from the older series (A150). I love it. But lately i've decided to pimp it up a bit so i've replaced one 512MB RAM stick with 1GB, so i have 1,5GB total RAM and i'll be getting Seagate Momentus 7200.4 500GB beast to speed up system and app loading and provide more storage for movies and music. 160GB is nice but it gets filled fast.
     
  3. HookeyStreet

    HookeyStreet Eat, sleep, game!

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2004
    Messages:
    7,135 (1.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    523
    Location:
    Great Yarmouth, England
    Good stuff :D
     
  4. kyle2020 Guest

    Yep, I sold one to a customer last christmas, they are surprisingly nippy, super portable and really cute too. Cracking little things and really well priced.
     
  5. HookeyStreet

    HookeyStreet Eat, sleep, game!

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2004
    Messages:
    7,135 (1.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    523
    Location:
    Great Yarmouth, England
    Agreed. But I do think popping 2GB of RAM in them from the start wouldnt hurt ;)
     
  6. DaveK

    DaveK

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2008
    Messages:
    1,889 (0.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    145
    I'd probably get one for college next year (September '10) but I'd probably need a disc drive, I have to say they are pretty well priced and have good features just shame about the disc drive.

    Can't you only have a certain amount of RAM and HDD space in them?
     
  7. HookeyStreet

    HookeyStreet Eat, sleep, game!

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2004
    Messages:
    7,135 (1.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    523
    Location:
    Great Yarmouth, England
    Im not sure. There may be a limit, but Im sure Ive seen them with 2GB+ of RAM (after sale upgrade)

    Would you need the DVDROM all the time? If not, just grab an external USB slimline one to tuck away ;)
     
  8. DaveK

    DaveK

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2008
    Messages:
    1,889 (0.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    145
    Do USB powered DVD drives exist? I wouldn't mind having one in my bag just incase I needed it. If so I'll probably pick up a netbook. Something that's small and can easily slip into a bag is handy to have.
     
  9. RejZoR

    RejZoR

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2004
    Messages:
    4,838 (1.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,022
    Location:
    Europe/Slovenia
    What i love with netbooks is battery. I mean you can watch movies for 3 hours, listen to music for 5 hours, browse the web for nearly 6 hours.
     
  10. CJCerny

    CJCerny

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2008
    Messages:
    856 (0.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    250
    Location:
    Akron, OH
    I would make sure that you can type comfortably on it first. I have an Asus 1005 and think it's great, especially for the money, but I would not want to have to type a lot of papers on it. Consider a 11.6" netbook with a full sized keyboard if you do a lot of typing.
     
  11. HookeyStreet

    HookeyStreet Eat, sleep, game!

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2004
    Messages:
    7,135 (1.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    523
    Location:
    Great Yarmouth, England
    Yep, USB powered slimline drives, like the ones in laptops ;)

    Heres an example: http://www.scan.co.uk/Product.aspx?WebProductID=1039285&source=froogle
     
  12. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,953 (12.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,382
    I got an Asus 900HA open box for $179 a while ago and it's been perfect. Came with everything. I swear Newegg just gave me a new one. Anyways, I replaced the RAM in it with 2gb G.Skill ram and threw in a larger 7200rpm HDD. Couple of weeks ago I put Windows 7 Pro 32 bit and it's turned amazing. 7 works far better than XP with this thing. Higher def video even works better.
     
  13. HookeyStreet

    HookeyStreet Eat, sleep, game!

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2004
    Messages:
    7,135 (1.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    523
    Location:
    Great Yarmouth, England
    I was going to put Vista 32Bit on when I realised that I couldnt put Win 7 64Bit on it :( But I think it would really need 2GB of RAM to run it smoothly (an upgrade which you obviously did before hand ;) ) As I dont want to upgrade it yet I may just pop Win 7 32Bit on it, surely that would be an improvement over XP lol

    But like most peeps are saying, they are pretty nice little systems for the net etc :)
     
  14. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    20,223 (6.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,264
    I have an ASUS 1000H. Wonderful little machine.

    I ran it with XP home for a few days just to see how it ran, then popped Vista Business 32-bit on it(with 1GB of RAM still). With a SD card in always in the SD slot doing Readyboot, Vista actually seemed better then XP w/ 1GB of RAM.

    I then upgraded to a 500GB 5400RPM hard drive, and 2GB of RAM, and Vista worked perfectly.

    I moved to Win7 as soon as possible though, because I like new, and I have to say Win7 is excellent on these little guys!

    I don't really see not being 64-bit a problem, considering I don't think many of us are going to stick 4+GB of RAM in them.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU 50 Million points folded for TPU
  15. HookeyStreet

    HookeyStreet Eat, sleep, game!

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2004
    Messages:
    7,135 (1.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    523
    Location:
    Great Yarmouth, England
    Awesome :rockout:

    The problem about it not being 64Bit for me is the fact that I have Windows 7 64Bit and not 32Bit :( Otherwise, I would stick the 32Bit Windows 7 on it for her as Im sure that would run fine with 1GB of DDR2 :D

    Ive also got a spare, very small 4GB flash drive lying around doing nothing. Should I enable ReadyBoost on it for her (when I can install Win7 on it).....will it help?
     
  16. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    20,223 (6.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,264
    If you've got the 64-bit version, you've got the 32bit version, you just need the disc which you can "find" online. The keys are completely interchangable.
     
    HookeyStreet says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU 50 Million points folded for TPU
  17. theonedub

    theonedub habe fidem

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2009
    Messages:
    7,215 (3.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,802
    Netbooks are pretty sweet if you don't need a lot of horsepower. I was going to pick up that Aspire One (199.99 at my local Target), but they felt a little slow for what I needed it for. Ended up going the CULV route- which I think is a great compromise (3gb RAM, 64bit Win7, see specs).

    One note, the N270 is not a dual core, it is a hyperthread enabled single.
     
    HookeyStreet says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  18. warup89

    warup89

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2006
    Messages:
    1,131 (0.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    104
    Location:
    WA
    Just beware that the earliest ACER Aspire One's will accept a maximum of 1.5gb of RAM since it already comes with a 512mb stick soldered on and only one socket available. Still 1.5gb for a netbook is more than enough, if you use it as a netbook of course not as a laptop.
     
    HookeyStreet says thanks.
  19. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,953 (12.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,382
    I'm pretty much on a lesser machine at work (s754 2.2ghz 1gb DDR 400) and running 7 32bit very well with it. You don't have to have 2gb's, but it will probablly help out with things like videos.
     
    FreedomEclipse and HookeyStreet say thanks.
  20. HookeyStreet

    HookeyStreet Eat, sleep, game!

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2004
    Messages:
    7,135 (1.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    523
    Location:
    Great Yarmouth, England
    oic ;) Trouble is, my 64Bit doesnt have a 'key' either ;)
     
  21. MN12BIRD

    MN12BIRD

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Messages:
    471 (0.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    78
    I just replaced the hard drive on one of these Acer Aspire One netbooks. The 160GB HD failed in it and what a PITA that thing is. I don't know if they have changed this yet but on this one I had to tear the entire thing apart. I mean keyboard off to open the clamshell and take the motherboard completely out to get to the HD and RAM slot!! WTF! Who puts a RAM slot on the bottom of the motherboard but then no hatch to get to it?? The HD and RAM are right under the motherboard, touching the bottom of the clamshell. Two simple trap doors is all it would take. Heck at least one for the RAM!

    But otherwise it was great fun. It only had 1GB of RAM on it IIRC but I put Ubuntu Netbook remix on it and it worked very well!
     
  22. HookeyStreet

    HookeyStreet Eat, sleep, game!

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2004
    Messages:
    7,135 (1.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    523
    Location:
    Great Yarmouth, England
    Yeah theyve changed the design. This one has 3 trap doors underneath ;)
     
  23. pantherx12

    pantherx12 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2009
    Messages:
    9,714 (4.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,699
    Location:
    ENGLAND-LAND-LAND
    Have to say every netbook I'ev used has made me not want to touch them again.

    I think its mostly due to full size laptops only being slightly more money for so much more hardware.

    I always recommend to people saving up a few more pence towards a full sizer : ]

    Especially if bought on line you can get systems with graphics and huge hdds etc for as little as 320 if you look around.


    Glad someone likes them though lol
     
  24. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse ~Technological Technocrat~

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    14,031 (5.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,423
    Running windows 7 64bit on my backup rig which is a FX-55 2.6Ghz 939skt, 2Gb DDR400, X850XT PE (still an awesome card) the mobo is...ummmm, I think its a MSI Neo2 Platinum (Nforce3 ultra??)

    since i gave my DC 2.66Ghz X2 3800+ & Asus A8N32 Deluxe to my dad :(
     
  25. HookeyStreet

    HookeyStreet Eat, sleep, game!

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2004
    Messages:
    7,135 (1.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    523
    Location:
    Great Yarmouth, England
    I get what your saying, but Im still impressed with the little thing. I personally couldnt use one day in day out. But its ideal for my daughter as she is only 11 :) I think they are ideal for work/college use also :)
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page