1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Finally, buying my new computer thursday

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by u2konline, Feb 18, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. u2konline

    u2konline

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2008
    Messages:
    1,947 (0.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    98
    Location:
    Dundalk, Maryland
    Thread closing

    ....................
    Last edited: Feb 19, 2009
  2. spearman914

    spearman914 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2008
    Messages:
    3,339 (1.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    502
    Location:
    Brooklyn, New York 11223
  3. farlex85

    farlex85 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2007
    Messages:
    4,830 (1.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    638
    $50 is a pretty good deal for any computer I'd say, so long as it works, good find. Except for a few occasional circumstances (when cards are first released), buying a video card from best buy is almost always a terrible idea, you could find cheaper video cards at literally any other place that sells video cards. If your terribly aversed to shopping online, get someone else to do it for you, no reason to get robbed. Or look for fry's or microcenter, although they are a bit overpriced too. Good luck w/ the computer though, make sure you power it on and such before handing over the cash. Although hell, even if it doesn't work $50 may be worth it depending on what it's got under the hood. :toast:
  4. freaksavior

    freaksavior To infinity ... and beyond!

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2006
    Messages:
    8,059 (2.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    897
    i work at best buy and i can agree they are expensive
    Crunching for Team TPU
  5. spearman914

    spearman914 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2008
    Messages:
    3,339 (1.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    502
    Location:
    Brooklyn, New York 11223
    Yea they are. Saw a 8800 GT for $170 once. Off topic: Did u see at dell, they had a 9500 GT for $120. :wtf:
  6. u2konline

    u2konline

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2008
    Messages:
    1,947 (0.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    98
    Location:
    Dundalk, Maryland
    Bestbuy is expensive true, however i don't mind spending 80 bucks for that card(however read on). I am not on a budget, but i really don't feel like spending 100 or more for it, so 80 is good. And besides i am selling my fx5200, evga 6200, radeon 7000, jaton fx5200, Diamond 9250 at a computer shop and they are giving me 60 dollars for them. So its not like i am wasting money here.

    So i only plan to keep my Visiontek 2400HD, Bfg 6200, and 3dfuzion fx5500 and a 8400gs for my P3. And for my new rig, i will have that 3650 1GB.

    aND farlex85 Yea i will make sure to check it. It works tho, only thing that seems wrong with it, is the button on the dvd drive. But i will replace that. But yea i will make sure everything is cool before i buy it.

    Anyways, peace.
  7. hat

    hat Maximum Overclocker

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    16,899 (6.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,061
    Location:
    Ohio
    I can beat a GeForce 7100 for 50 bucks. Hell, if I sold my 8600GTS, I would probably sell it for $60, and it has a Zalman VF900 on it, not the stock cooler.

    Oh look it's a 7300GS for $21.99 ($27.98 shipped to my location with UPS 3 day shipping). Too bad you don't buy anything online.

    If the WHOLE COMPUTER is 50 bucks, then it wouldn't suprise me if
    A. it doesn't work
    B. it has parts stripped out of it... which would bring me back to A
    Crunching for Team TPU
  8. spearman914

    spearman914 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2008
    Messages:
    3,339 (1.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    502
    Location:
    Brooklyn, New York 11223
    ahhhh... Why can't u just go buy the 3850 @ newegg?? U won't regret it. But it's up to u. If 20 fps is playable to u then the 3850 won't be much of a difference.
  9. hat

    hat Maximum Overclocker

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    16,899 (6.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,061
    Location:
    Ohio
    You're going to keep 4 video cards for one computer? Sell everything but the HD2400 or 8400GS... I'm not sure which is faster.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  10. spearman914

    spearman914 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2008
    Messages:
    3,339 (1.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    502
    Location:
    Brooklyn, New York 11223
    hat says thanks.
  11. freakshow

    freakshow

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2007
    Messages:
    959 (0.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    108
    i had a 3650 once pop it in then through it in the trash cause thats what they are it trash :laugh:
  12. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,919 (7.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,644
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    I don't know to say. I would recommend some things but you always shoot them down. Just go with what ever you want.
  13. Error 404

    Error 404 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2008
    Messages:
    1,777 (0.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    169
    Location:
    South Australia
    Don't bother with the 1 GB 3650, its completely pointless with the 1 GB of RAM on it. Go for anything of a similar price with less RAM, you'll be getting a faster card. 3850, 9500 GT, all those could wipe the floor with a 3650 1 GB. The 1 GB only makes it cost more with almost no performance boost.
  14. farlex85

    farlex85 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2007
    Messages:
    4,830 (1.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    638
    I would argue that any time you spend more than you need to, you are wasting money. If your trading and such good job, but you could have done better. I would sell all those cards and get a decent one card, unless you just enjoy fiddling w/ low end stuff. You could easily sell all those and get a decent mid-range card (3850/3870, 8800gts 320, 4670, ect) which would open up much better gaming possiblilities.
  15. hat

    hat Maximum Overclocker

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    16,899 (6.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,061
    Location:
    Ohio
    he hates cards with power connectors for some reason
    Crunching for Team TPU
  16. u2konline

    u2konline

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2008
    Messages:
    1,947 (0.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    98
    Location:
    Dundalk, Maryland
    I am going to the pawn shop tomorrow and look it over and if everything works good, i will buy it tomorrow and go to best buy and buy the card. So if everything works out, i will have my new computer tomorrow.

    And yes, i don't buy cards that needs a power connector.

    I have a question

    newegg / bestbuy says the card is a DDR2, but over at gpureview it says GDDR3?
    http://www.visiontek.com/products/cards/retail/3650_1g_PCIe.html
  17. farlex85

    farlex85 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2007
    Messages:
    4,830 (1.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    638
    I'd love to hear how you reason out playing games on a computer that strictly uses video cards without power connectors. Seriously, why?

    And whatever the manufacturer's website says is the one that is most likely true.
  18. hat

    hat Maximum Overclocker

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    16,899 (6.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,061
    Location:
    Ohio
    There are many different versions of any video card. On low/midrange cards, there are often both GDDR2 and GDDR3 versions. about a year and a half ago when I bought mt 8500gt, I stupidly bought a GDDR2 version, but there were GDDR3 versions available. Maybe I just couldn't afford it at the time...
    Crunching for Team TPU
  19. u2konline

    u2konline

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2008
    Messages:
    1,947 (0.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    98
    Location:
    Dundalk, Maryland
    If i can get a bigger image of the box, i will find out if its gddr3 or ddr2, either way seems like a pretty good budget card. The first 2 games which i plan to play on my new rig is Crysis demo, and JERICHO at max settings. Crysis demo i will play at 1280x1024 high/medium settings. However, Sound and shadows i will keep on low, seems like a waste to put them on high or even medium.

    Well i just want to stick to the trend of not having to plug anything up to my video card. I understand alot of video cards require them to get full power or whatever, however, if they make cards without the need of them, why not buy it?
    Also, this might sound silly, but i always had a fear of doing it, because it may decrease the life on the PSU or card, so i want to keep everything free. :D

    Doesn't matter tho, whatever reasons, they make cards without the need of them, so its cool with me.
  20. RevengE

    RevengE

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2008
    Messages:
    2,661 (1.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    211
    Location:
    Ohio
    Jesus not this again.
  21. hat

    hat Maximum Overclocker

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    16,899 (6.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,061
    Location:
    Ohio
    It would only decreace the life of your power supply if you buy a crappy power supply, for example, pretty much all power supplies that ship with pre-built computers (gateway, dell, compaq etc) suck. However, my power supply's lifetime wouldn't be affected if I ran my old 8500gt or the card I have now.

    Remember, that even though your video card doesn't have an external power connector, it still gets power from somewhere. It gets power from the PCI-E slot, which of course gets power from the 20/24 pin power connector on your motherboard, so wether you have an external power connector or not, you're still drawing power from your psu, just not as much. The limit for PCI-E 1.0 and 1.1 slots is 75W. The limit for PCI-E 2.0 slots is 150w. Because of this, I would not trust running a PCI-E 2.0 card that doesn't have an external power connector in a motherboard with PCI-E 1.0 or 1.1 slots.

    As of this qutoe... why not buy it? Because these cards are slow compared to cards that do need an external power connector.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  22. RevengE

    RevengE

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2008
    Messages:
    2,661 (1.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    211
    Location:
    Ohio
    and U2 I hope you realize that a computer you buy for 50.00 is not going to
    Be worth your time.
  23. hat

    hat Maximum Overclocker

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    16,899 (6.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,061
    Location:
    Ohio
    pfft. he can probably play crysis on an alarm clock and still be happy with it. we've tried learnin' the boy but he just won't take no learnin'
    Crunching for Team TPU
  24. RevengE

    RevengE

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2008
    Messages:
    2,661 (1.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    211
    Location:
    Ohio
    :roll: Yeah Im sure.;)
  25. farlex85

    farlex85 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2007
    Messages:
    4,830 (1.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    638
    You gotta strike out every now and then get your feet wet. Your fear of power connectors is unfounded, and using ones that don't need it is fine if all your playing is wow or something. But your trying to play graphically demanding games, and no matter how well you think your computer is doing with them it's performing terribly, which is something you could easily remedy by simply taking some advice every now and then and trying something new. It's like somebody who refuses to go outside and enjoy the pretty colors b/c all they've ever done is sit inside and are afraid of going out and no matter how much others tell them it's fine they simply refuse all logic in favor of ignorance.

    I also find it hard to imagine why you come to a tech forum full of people who build their own computers and constantly reject suggestions of how to make a computer better, and in fact fully intentionally keep it terrible. That's like going to a car enthusiast community and saying "hey look at my decade old plymoth reliant w/ 200k miles on it I just bought from the dealership. No I'm not gonna get any new parts or mess with it at all, I'm just gonna race it, it works fine." *facepalm* I'm all for if it works for you great and fiddling w/ old hardware and such, but your defying all logic here as to why you do what you do and why you tell us. :confused:
    Last edited: Feb 18, 2009
    CDdude55 says thanks.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page