1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Finally, time for a new rig [any suggestions]

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by warup89, Jan 8, 2008.

  1. warup89

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2006
    Messages:
    1,124 (0.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    102
    Location:
    FL
    Well my current "gaming" PC has reached 2 yrs, and still plays games pretty well [not counting DX10 games]. But its time for a change :)

    I'm gonna start buying it by parts, and so far this is what i came up with:

    CPU: AMD Phenon 9500 [190$] http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16819103226

    MOBO: GIGABYTE GA-MA790X-DS4 [160$] http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16813128075

    PSU: Rosewill RX 750wtt [140$] http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16817182069

    RAM: x2 WINTEC AMPO 2GB (36$ x2=) [72$] http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16820161172

    GFX: so far ...ATI Radeon HD3870 512mb [250$] http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16814129100

    CASE: so far... http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16811294006 [120$]

    OS: Vista Ultimate 64bit [190$] http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16832116215

    --> Total: 1122$

    (was gonna go Intel quad but it was a little bit too expensive)

    *Also since im gonna be buying by parts its gonna take around 2 months to complete it, which components should i purchase first?
  2. quickie New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2007
    Messages:
    238 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    26
    After looking at what you have so far, I was going to suggest going Intel for gaming. But lets say you want to stick with AMD.

    How about getting an Athlon64 Black Edition and just oc'ing it. The Phenom 9500 at stock speeds is not that great a cpu, considering you can get an Athlon64 BE for way cheaper and oc it.

    When (and if) they finally release a Phenom at better clocks, you can upgrade to it then.

    I think its best to get everything in one shot. Save up and buy everything at the same time.
    But if you are going to buy part, by part, get the case/psu/etc stuff first. Those things don't change in price as often as other pc parts. Maybe by the time you are ready to buy the mobo/cpu/etc you'll have enough for an Intel cpu :)
  3. hat

    hat Maximum Overclocker

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    16,914 (5.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,063
    Location:
    Ohio
  4. pepsi71ocean New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2007
    Messages:
    1,471 (0.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    125
    Location:
    The Peoples Republic of New South Jersey
    anythign that doesn't have a limited return warranty, , leave your gfx cards, and cpu till later on, because they have a limited return policy on newegg. I made the mistake of buying my gfx card early, and as suck my step up program is going to expire earlier than the other components of my system.
  5. warup89

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2006
    Messages:
    1,124 (0.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    102
    Location:
    FL
    I never used a xeon before, but i read that is a Q6600 in disguise so i might give it a go. The RAM is prefect, i tought it was too expensive but i noticed the mail-in-rebate, as for the PSU, I currently have a 550watt psu and it has a hard time feeding my current system properly, so i was aiming at 650+, oh and the motherboard seems pretty nice for its price.
  6. hat

    hat Maximum Overclocker

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    16,914 (5.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,063
    Location:
    Ohio
    What brand, and what amps does it have? Also, is is dual rail?
    Multi rail is pretty crap IMO. With one big rail, you're sure you're getting all your power. However with multi rails you could have one rail maxed out and the other pretty much on vacation...

    And no, the xeon isn't a q6600 in disguise, it's a real server chip. Ask trt, he has the 2.13GHz 1066FSB quad core xeon, and it's 3GHz stable on the lowest voltage his motherboard will do (1.08v)
    Crunching for Team TPU
  7. pepsi71ocean New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2007
    Messages:
    1,471 (0.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    125
    Location:
    The Peoples Republic of New South Jersey
    I have a single rail 800Watt PSU, the rail is running at 66 Amps,

    I second what hat says, i have seen what a over-taxed multi rail does to a computer.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page