1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Firefox decides to renew 64 bit browser developement.

Discussion in 'General Software' started by johnspack, Jan 6, 2013.

  1. johnspack

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    4,240 (1.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    783
    irlandezul and Depth say thanks.
    More than 25k PPD
  2. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse Crazy Dogmatic Bullsh!t!

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    13,018 (5.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,058
    was having some serious memory leak issues with waterfox. but its good to see Mozilla still working on a x64 web browser, It was silly to halt the project in the first place when everything is quickly moving towards the x64 age, x64 has been a long time coming, and it isnt quite here yet but there are loads of programs out there that support x64 so why not Mozilla??

    Anyway, I use chrome now and firefox to handle some of the sites that dont like chrome.
  3. johnspack

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    4,240 (1.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    783
    Still playing with it, it's much snappier than Waterfox, which is all I was using. I'm now officially going back to Nightly!
    Edit: yeah, all my plugins still work, flash is actually faster... amazing. Plus I think Waterfox is dead now, so this is good....
    More than 25k PPD
  4. johnspack

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    4,240 (1.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    783
    Been testing the high ram usage. Leaving windows open, opening a dozen windows ect, doesn't seem to break 500mb usage. On my system, that's just nothing, so I'm happy with it so far. I assume firefox figures if you have a 64bit system, you must have a decent amount of ram. Which you should!
    More than 25k PPD
  5. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    11,582 (4.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,269
    Firefox Base Code needs to be reworked aka ground up
  6. johnspack

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    4,240 (1.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    783
    I agree, no need for 400-500mbs ram usage for a session. But this is again, very beta, I'm hoping they will severely reduce the ram usage.

    I go through 100s of web pages per day. I need quickness loading page after page. Nightly does it. For some reason my mem usage has actually gone down over the hours, to like 240mbs. I really hope they continue this... I shudder thinking I'll have to use 64 Chrome... sorry Chrome users.
    Last edited by a moderator: Jan 7, 2013
    More than 25k PPD
  7. Drone

    Drone

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2010
    Messages:
    2,345 (1.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,064
    Location:
    Hell
    I bet some fork projects will be much better than this but I am not interested in this anyway. *yawn*
  8. RejZoR

    RejZoR

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2004
    Messages:
    4,295 (1.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    840
    Location:
    Europe/Slovenia
    The problem with forks is that they aren't official. And as such they will always lag behind in development, in updates, in tech support, addons support etc etc. And that sucks, especially with such fast update cycles as there are with Firefox. The very same reason why i don't use Waterfox. It often lags behind official releases for 2 or more weeks and thats just rubbish. I know it's a free project but still.
  9. TheMailMan78

    TheMailMan78 Banstick Dummy

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    20,635 (8.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,244
    Dunno why anyone uses Firefox anymore. Its really lacking when put up against IE 10 and Chrome.
  10. 3870x2

    3870x2

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2008
    Messages:
    4,875 (2.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    689
    Location:
    Joplin, Mo
    Forget about all of that. I use Opera and haven't had to switch since '07. I use IE as my secondary browser.
  11. RejZoR

    RejZoR

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2004
    Messages:
    4,295 (1.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    840
    Location:
    Europe/Slovenia
    Lacking what exactly? Despite constantly checking and using all browsers except IE i keep on returning to Firefox. It seems to have the best extensions. And the latest versions are pretty fast as well. Especially the Firefox 18 which should be released today or very soon at least.
  12. bmaverick

    bmaverick

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2010
    Messages:
    279 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    43
    Location:
    Honky Tonk Nashville, TN
    Been stuck with IE-8-64. My machine just will not install anything higher to work. Glad to jump on the FF-64 to move ahead!
  13. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,246 (10.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,882
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    I only use IE if I need to get on AKO :(
    Crunching for Team TPU
  14. irlandezul

    irlandezul

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2012
    Messages:
    97 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    31
    Thanks . Works ok on win 8 64 .

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page