1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Firefox is the worst browser ever

Discussion in 'General Nonsense' started by u2konline, Feb 11, 2009.

  1. u2konline

    u2konline

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2008
    Messages:
    1,963 (0.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    100
    Location:
    Dundalk, Maryland
    I had about 10-11 links open at once, while i was downloading some music files(mp3) maybe 7-8 files was downloading at once. The browser started to crawl big time, so i open up task manager and the MEM Usage was near the top, CPU Usage at 100%
    and in processes the mem usage size was 400,000k.

    I do the same thing in seamonkey and my CPU usage is at 10%,
    mem usage near the bottom, and mem usage in processes is at 40,00k.

    Looks like to me, that seamonkey is more easy on the CPU, then firefox.
     
  2. francis511

    francis511

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2006
    Messages:
    2,547 (0.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    271
    Location:
    N.Ireland
    Sure , but worst ever is internet explorer !
     
  3. Haven New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2009
    Messages:
    25 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    I love internet explorer. It's way better. If it had the tab saving feature that firefox did, I would use IE over shitty Firefox all the way.
     
  4. Namslas90 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2006
    Messages:
    4,851 (1.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    555
    Location:
    Earth

    Thats interesting considering that SeaMonkey is also a Mozilla product.

    A PIII with 512 Ram is a little dated for modern software/internet connections.:toast:
     
  5. KieranD

    KieranD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Messages:
    8,119 (2.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    865
    Location:
    Glasgow, Scotland
    its not that bad once you tweak it with addons plus internet exploer isnt that safe has no add ons like firefox does

    its like comparing mc donalds apple pie aka microsoft the giant company to your mums home made stuff that she has tweaked the recipe herself with some cinnamon shit
     
  6. technicks

    technicks

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2006
    Messages:
    3,560 (1.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    257
    Location:
    Enschede, The Netherlands
    @ Namslas

    Yes thats very true.
    My laptop has about the same specs and sometimes i want to throw it out of the Window.:shadedshu So slow.:laugh:
     
  7. jbunch07

    jbunch07 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2008
    Messages:
    5,261 (2.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    614
    Location:
    Chattanooga,TN
    Uhh... Firefox may be a problem but I'm betting that your heavily dated computer might be more of an issue than you browser. :ohwell: But yes firefox can be somewhat of a memory hog, but I would much rather use it over IE.
     
    BUCK NASTY says thanks.
  8. farlex85

    farlex85 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2007
    Messages:
    4,829 (1.64/day)
    Thanks Received:
    638
    Seamonkey and Firefox use the same source code, and function very similarly. Your processor just sucks (or I should say, is outdated). Even the slowest dual-cores (any proc from the last 2 years) will handle browsing w/o so much as a twitch. And yeah your mem is low as well. But you know this, but for some reason insist on trying to prove otherwise. :confused: There was likely something else going on though, b/c even a p3 should be able to do firefox w/o trouble.
     
  9. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    20,842 (6.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,784
    No it isn't, hell I have a laptop with a PIII and 256MB of RAM and it does just fine as an internet machine.

    But yes, it is sluggish, and easily overwhelmed if more than a few tabs are oppened at a time.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  10. El Fiendo

    El Fiendo

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2008
    Messages:
    2,304 (0.94/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,165
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    Mmm. Cinnamon shit. I could go for some of that.

     
  11. KainXS

    KainXS

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2007
    Messages:
    5,603 (2.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    502
    ie is a security risk so i always make it so it can't connect to the net, even though firefox is a little tough on the resources i would still say its the best browser available, its just alot more expandable and easy to use than most other browsers

    my firefox is using 60,000 right now and my laptop only has 256mb of rram, but it runs perfect still, i can even play HD videos on this thing, i would saay its that your ram is kinda slow.
     
  12. technicks

    technicks

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2006
    Messages:
    3,560 (1.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    257
    Location:
    Enschede, The Netherlands
    Just having some cinnamon biscuits with tea.:laugh:
     
  13. DaedalusHelios

    DaedalusHelios

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2008
    Messages:
    4,965 (1.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    826
    Location:
    Greensboro, NC, USA
    Firefox is a clean looking browser but it crashes much more often on my systems than IE.

    Keep in mind I am comparing the latest firefox to the latest IE.
     
  14. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    20,842 (6.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,784
    IE isn't a security risk, the person using it is a security risk. Blaming IE for security problems is like blaming guns for murders.

    IE6 used to be a security nightmare, similar to handing a gun with no safety and a hair trigger to a person that has never used a gun before. It is still the persons fault if someone gets shot, but the gun didn't help prevent it. IE7 improve the security situations greatly, and IE8 is damn good security wise.

    Unfortunately, I've seen far to many machines come in loaded with viruses and spyware, and the people were amazed because they didn't use IE, and assumed they were immune. I've even seen customers that believe that they don't need an anti-virus runnning because they use Firefox.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  15. KieranD

    KieranD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Messages:
    8,119 (2.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    865
    Location:
    Glasgow, Scotland
    aw you guys, you know what i meant lol

    try some other browsers, opera, chrome ect do a dl speed check google for one

    do it for all browsers tell us if its the same

    then do it on another pc on the same connection
     
  16. jbunch07

    jbunch07 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2008
    Messages:
    5,261 (2.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    614
    Location:
    Chattanooga,TN
    lol, I've seen it happen too. People can be so ignorant sometimes. :rolleyes:
     
  17. farlex85

    farlex85 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2007
    Messages:
    4,829 (1.64/day)
    Thanks Received:
    638
    Yeah browsers don't really have that much security anyway. The user's browsing habits and proper anti-virus/spyware software are a much better indicator of such problems. Firefox will let you click on spyware just as easy as ie will.
     
  18. KieranD

    KieranD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Messages:
    8,119 (2.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    865
    Location:
    Glasgow, Scotland
    yeah but if people dont have a gun they cant commit murder just like if they dont use IE they probly wont get a virus

    it has vulnerability issues and recently they had the detials problem

    without doing anything to firefox vs without doing anything to IE your less likely if you knwo what i mean

    whats the point in having a gun if your not going to kill someone that like having a bottle opener and only drink out of cartons
     
  19. crtecha

    crtecha New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2008
    Messages:
    2,407 (1.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    207
    Location:
    ipsay meechigan
    I have no issues even close to that. Next time post a screen shot of task manager.
     
  20. farlex85

    farlex85 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2007
    Messages:
    4,829 (1.64/day)
    Thanks Received:
    638
    How so? What can you do in firefox that won't give you a virus that if done in ie will?
     
  21. CDdude55

    CDdude55 Crazy 4 TPU!!!

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2007
    Messages:
    8,179 (2.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,277
    Location:
    Virginia
    I am pretty sure Safari is worse.
     
  22. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,324 (7.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,778
    Sites with malicious ActiveX. But that's about it, and since IE7, the risk has been minimized to a degree.

    As to the OP, get more ram.
     
    farlex85 says thanks.
  23. FordGT90Concept

    FordGT90Concept "I go fast!1!11!1!"

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Messages:
    14,764 (6.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,419
    Location:
    IA, USA
    No browser should ever use 400 MiB of RAM. The only way it should get remotely close to that is with over 200 pages open at once. That suggests there is a major memory leak in FireFox.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  24. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,324 (7.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,778
    I just did the same test with 11 different windows open, and 8 files downloading, and my Firefox mem usage was 130k. There's something wrong with your Firefox install.
     
  25. Corrosion

    Corrosion New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2006
    Messages:
    821 (0.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    74
    Location:
    Maplewood, Mn
    :roll::shadedshu Looking at your computer specs im guessing thats why firefox was lagging.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page