1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Firefox, opera, IE all freeze/lockup when downloading a file to any hard drive

Discussion in 'General Software' started by Nick89, Nov 1, 2008.

  1. Nick89

    Nick89

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2006
    Messages:
    1,742 (0.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    176
    Location:
    The Nevada Wasteland
    I just reinstalled windows on my system because of a hardware upgrade and it still didnt fix the problem, I did a virus/adaware scan and my system is 100% free of crap.

    When I try to save any file from any site using anyone of my three web browsers(Firefox,Opera,IE) to any of my three hard drives they freeze/lockup

    HELP ME PLEASE before I smash my computer........:banghead::banghead::banghead:
     
  2. jbunch07

    jbunch07 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2008
    Messages:
    5,261 (2.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    614
    Location:
    Chattanooga,TN
    Going buy your specs I take it you have XP SP3?
     
  3. Nick89

    Nick89

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2006
    Messages:
    1,742 (0.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    176
    Location:
    The Nevada Wasteland
    Yes I fully updated my install of Windows after I reinstalled.

    And BTW they freeze up right when I click the save button
     
  4. jbunch07

    jbunch07 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2008
    Messages:
    5,261 (2.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    614
    Location:
    Chattanooga,TN
    What does error log say?
     
  5. Nick89

    Nick89

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2006
    Messages:
    1,742 (0.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    176
    Location:
    The Nevada Wasteland
    C:\DOCUME~1\Fallout\LOCALS~1\Temp\WER70ec.dir00\opera.exe.mdmp
    C:\DOCUME~1\Fallout\LOCALS~1\Temp\WER70ec.dir00\appcompat.txt

    I just tried downloading the latest Coretemp and Opera locked up, I had to kill it with task manager and the error report thing came up and that was all the info I was abled to get.

    how do I get to the error log?
     
  6. modder New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2008
    Messages:
    382 (0.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    153
    any BSOD ?
     
  7. Nick89

    Nick89

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2006
    Messages:
    1,742 (0.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    176
    Location:
    The Nevada Wasteland
    No Bsod. I just put in a new mobo, CPU, and Ram. This was happing with my old Mobo also...WTFH! and this is a perfect fresh install of WINDOWS!
     
  8. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,324 (7.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,778
    Are you using the Nvidia IDE drivers?
     
  9. modder New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2008
    Messages:
    382 (0.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    153
    I had this problem also (sometimes) ,possible cause :firewall or antivirus (scanning files before download) or browser cache too big
     
  10. Nick89

    Nick89

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2006
    Messages:
    1,742 (0.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    176
    Location:
    The Nevada Wasteland
    No, my board use's NB: AMD 790GX SB: AMD SB750

    I just added all of my Programs to the windows firewall exceptions list
     
  11. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,324 (7.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,778
    Sounds like you may have a hard drive acting up. Try pulling one out at a time, and see if it stops.
     
  12. Nick89

    Nick89

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2006
    Messages:
    1,742 (0.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    176
    Location:
    The Nevada Wasteland
    thats what I was thinking and I did a smart test on all my drives and they are in good condition, but this happens when I try to save files to any of the drives..
     
  13. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,324 (7.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,778
    Well, a single bad drive can screw with the controller, effecting all the drives. And SMART scans don't always pick up errors. It's worth a shot. All it takes is shutting down, and pulling a power cord.
     
  14. Nick89

    Nick89

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2006
    Messages:
    1,742 (0.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    176
    Location:
    The Nevada Wasteland
    Yea you're right, I'll have to test it tommarow I need to goto bed. I have work at 5:30pm Night shift FTW
     
    Last edited: Nov 1, 2008
  15. Nick89

    Nick89

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2006
    Messages:
    1,742 (0.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    176
    Location:
    The Nevada Wasteland
    another prob, I tried accessing some files on my main storage drive and explorer more or less locked up.... I couldnt do anything else after that happed my start menu bar disapeared and then reloaded I guess...

    I noticed that when I tried to open a certain folder in my f drive the drive didnt even spin up...
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Nov 1, 2008
  16. kenkickr

    kenkickr

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2007
    Messages:
    4,867 (1.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,505
    It sounds like to me a corrupted OS Install, corrupted win updates, or a drive getting fritzy. I would grab ubcd, http://www.ultimatebootcd.com/, and check your main drive out.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  17. Nick89

    Nick89

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2006
    Messages:
    1,742 (0.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    176
    Location:
    The Nevada Wasteland
    Update

    We'll I've done some tests and sofar I think its one of my 250GB HDs my seagate to be precise:(

    But I saved a file to my 80gb C drive and then later tried opening the folder on the drive and the window Froze....I cannot figure this out..........

    I bought a 640GB HD of newegg to back up all my crap...

    I reinstalled windows and that didn't do anything.
     
    Last edited: Nov 13, 2008
  18. Nick89

    Nick89

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2006
    Messages:
    1,742 (0.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    176
    Location:
    The Nevada Wasteland
    I've come to the conclusion that satan himself is causing the errors that im having....

    opera locks up when deleting emails...

    whole system freezes when saving any file from the internet using any browser, if i try to do anything or start any new process the new process freezes also.

    cant open folders with big files.

    I changed my motherboard, ram, and CPU. Then reinstalled windows and am having the same problem.

    I've built 4 computers this year for people and have never had this many problems...:cry:

    I just want to cry now, how is this possible? I CHANGED MOBO PROC AND RAM! AND REINSTALLED WINDOWS WTFH.:banghead:

    Please someone help me.
     
  19. modder New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2008
    Messages:
    382 (0.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    153
    "cant open folders with big files" interesting!,possible Paging File problem.
    Method from microsoft --Increase the Size of the Paging File-- sometimes we forget how to do that
    To change the size of the paging file, follow these steps:
    1. Click Start, and then click Control Panel.
    2. Do one of the following: • If Control Panel on your computer is in Classic view, double-click System.
    • If Control Panel on your computer is in Category view, click Performance and Maintenance, and then click System.

    3. In the System Properties dialog box, click the Advanced tab.
    4. In the Performance pane, click Settings.
    5. In the Performance Options dialog box, click the Advanced tab.
    6. In the Virtual memory pane, click Change.
    7. Click Custom size, and then in the Initial size (MB) box and the Maximum size (MB) box, type a number that is larger than the number that is currently listed.
     
  20. Nick89

    Nick89

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2006
    Messages:
    1,742 (0.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    176
    Location:
    The Nevada Wasteland
    Ok I changed the page file, maby it will do somthing. default was 2046mb I changed it to 3100mb.

    should I have a page file on all my hard drives? I have three and the page file is only on my C drive with windows
     
  21. modder New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2008
    Messages:
    382 (0.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    153
    should I have a page file on all my hard drives? if you want but it isn't necessary .choose another drive than C drive .better drive without windows and no RAID 0 (striped disks) .i hope a good feedback
     
  22. AphexDreamer

    AphexDreamer

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2007
    Messages:
    7,250 (2.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    956
    Location:
    C:\Program Files (x86)\Aphexdreamer\
    Are you overclocking or have you increased the PCIe Frequency by any chance?
     
  23. Cybrnook2002

    Cybrnook2002

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2007
    Messages:
    1,043 (0.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    227
    Location:
    Michigan, United States
    try copying some large files off cd or dvd onto your disks all at once. See if it locks up. ( to me it sounds like that HD is going out on you)
     
    Nick89 says thanks.
  24. Nick89

    Nick89

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2006
    Messages:
    1,742 (0.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    176
    Location:
    The Nevada Wasteland
    Well I changed the PF and sofar I havent been able to recreat any of the problems that I was having. I used DPC and the results were very good.

    I dont want to say its fixed just yet, but I thank you guys so much for the replys and trying to help:toast:

    this has made me feel like such a noob:rolleyes::laugh:

    And no I havent overclocked at all yet.:(
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page