1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

firefox sluggish scrolling

Discussion in 'General Software' started by Darkgundam111, Jan 17, 2011.

  1. Darkgundam111 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2009
    Messages:
    627 (0.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    18
    whenever i go to sites with lots of images such as newegg.com, firefox's scrolling is super sluggish and choppy. I have googled up how to fix this but none of the fixes have worked. any ideas why that would be? i have a pretty decent computer, so i don't see how performance should be impaired.
  2. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,411 (10.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,976
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    Sounds like low 2d clocks, my 5850 had this issue before when the screen save and other 2d opjects were very slow, try changing them.
    Darkgundam111 says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  3. Darkgundam111 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2009
    Messages:
    627 (0.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    18
    oh how do i do that with the gefore gtx 460?
  4. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,411 (10.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,976
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    download MSI afterburner and test
    Crunching for Team TPU
  5. Darkgundam111 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2009
    Messages:
    627 (0.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    18
    msi afterburner has no 2d clock modifying, only 3d clocks, unless i am not seeing it
  6. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,411 (10.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,976
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    Crunching for Team TPU
  7. Darkgundam111 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2009
    Messages:
    627 (0.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    18
    didn't work either. i tried googling some info seems like there isn't any other way cept flashing the bios with upped 2d clocks. and i don't want to do any flashing :(
  8. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,411 (10.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,976
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    HMm that sux man. i know ATI cards can have the 2d clocks changed
    Darkgundam111 says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  9. Darkgundam111 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2009
    Messages:
    627 (0.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    18
    yeah this sucks. i can see the 2d clocks are low when i am not using 3d apps, wonder if theres a way to trick it into thinking it needs to raise the clocks hmm.
  10. wolf

    wolf Performance Enthusiast

    Joined:
    May 7, 2007
    Messages:
    5,541 (2.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    842
    I thought the 9800GTX+ didnt have 2d/3d clocks, wasnt that introduced in the GTX200 series?

    I could well be wrong, but a few weeks back i was using an XFX 9800GTX (65nm) and it had no 2d clocks.
  11. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,411 (10.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,976
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
  12. Darkgundam111 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2009
    Messages:
    627 (0.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    18
    thats weird, i think i remember when using rivatuner on my pny 9800GTX+ it had 2d clock control. i am wondering whether 2d clocks is really the issue here because i tried something. what i did was go to the nvidia control panel and then for the application "mozilla firefox" i change the power config to prefered maximum, which when i checked afterburner, it shows that the clocks are at the 3d clock speeds and my gpu temp did raise higher than normal for web browsing. so i am not sure if what i did meant anything.


    that nvidia inspector does have 2d clock speeds! very cool, but i am not sure if they will work gonna test it out .
  13. 95Viper

    95Viper

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2008
    Messages:
    4,284 (2.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,531
    Location:
    στο άλφα έως ωμέγα
    Sorry, I don't use Firefox, but try:

    If you are using any themes, change or dis-able them.

    If that does not work try this: Solved: Firefox Freezes Every 10 Seconds, Scrolling is Jumpy

    Also, try, disabling "Enhance pointer precision" in the mouse properties for testing purposes; if you are using MS mouse drivers.

    Goodluck :)
    Last edited: Jan 17, 2011
    Darkgundam111 says thanks.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page