1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Firefox users no more memory eating!

Discussion in 'General Software' started by laszlo, Dec 5, 2007.

  1. laszlo

    laszlo

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2005
    Messages:
    891 (0.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    105
    Location:
    66 feet from the ground
  2. zCexVe

    zCexVe

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2007
    Messages:
    417 (0.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    30
    Location:
    Los Angeles,CA
    Downloading....Lets C.
     
  3. zCexVe

    zCexVe

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2007
    Messages:
    417 (0.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    30
    Location:
    Los Angeles,CA
    Well OMG!!
    Same 3 tabs
    before=60412
    Now=828
    reduced percent =98.62%
     
  4. panchoman

    panchoman Sold my stars!

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2007
    Messages:
    9,595 (3.64/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,200
    scanned with avg, nice and clean. and AMAZING!!!!!

    just took a quick video. used runescape(java) in firefox to cause it to eat some memory.

    video link: hold up one sec
     
  5. laszlo

    laszlo

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2005
    Messages:
    891 (0.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    105
    Location:
    66 feet from the ground
    all for tpu members and not only!

    i'm glad is working ;1st i don't believe the numbers but seems what mozilla team have to learn.:laugh:


    :toast:
     
  6. DanTheBanjoman SeƱor Moderator

    Joined:
    May 20, 2004
    Messages:
    10,553 (2.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,383
    So let's say FF is using 100MB of RAM, with this program, that lowers the usage by 500-1000% it will use between 100*5=500MB and 100*10=1000MB less. So between -400 and -900MB of RAM usage. Interesting, it adds RAM :)


    However, 98% reduction as zCexVe states is pretty impressive. Wondering if I should actually be impressed at the reduction or at the inefficiency of FF. Quite disturbing to know how much RAM it is wasting. What is the program actually doing? Removing caches or something? Does it slow down anything? (noticeably or not) Perhaps I should give it a try.
     
  7. panchoman

    panchoman Sold my stars!

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2007
    Messages:
    9,595 (3.64/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,200
    see my video. i forgot to build a pallete and so the thing didn't render right, re rendering as i type
     
  8. Black Light New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2007
    Messages:
    156 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9
    Wow
     
  9. panchoman

    panchoman Sold my stars!

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2007
    Messages:
    9,595 (3.64/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,200
  10. laszlo

    laszlo

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2005
    Messages:
    891 (0.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    105
    Location:
    66 feet from the ground

    I use it from 15 minutes and haven't noticed anything wrong or bad;and i torture now firefox!
     
  11. panchoman

    panchoman Sold my stars!

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2007
    Messages:
    9,595 (3.64/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,200
    +1

    firefox is great now!
     
  12. Silverel

    Silverel New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2007
    Messages:
    1,769 (0.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    233
    Location:
    Detroit, MI
    Holy crap!

    My standard 40-60MB browsing has dropped down to 2MB with half a dozen tabs!

    Most excellent! Good find!
     
  13. black light burns

    black light burns New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2007
    Messages:
    151 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13
    i can't get it working..
     
  14. panchoman

    panchoman Sold my stars!

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2007
    Messages:
    9,595 (3.64/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,200
    the optimizer makers actually claims that this speeds up firefox because of the less usage. in that video it dropped my 126k and rising memory usage down to under 5k :twitch:
     
  15. panchoman

    panchoman Sold my stars!

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2007
    Messages:
    9,595 (3.64/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,200
    did you unpack everything and then double like the optimizer, did you get the little tray icon? see my video
     
  16. ktr

    ktr

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2006
    Messages:
    7,407 (2.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    687
    i believe you need netframework 2.0 to make this work.
     
  17. black light burns

    black light burns New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2007
    Messages:
    151 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13
    thanks.i don't have that so that could b y.:banghead:
     
  18. laszlo

    laszlo

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2005
    Messages:
    891 (0.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    105
    Location:
    66 feet from the ground
    i have now 20 open tabs and FF is eating 1340K and the optimizer 1200K
     
  19. black light burns

    black light burns New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2007
    Messages:
    151 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13
    yes u do need netframework


    768k being used now with 5 tabs open..the opt. is using 586k
     
  20. kwchang007

    kwchang007 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2007
    Messages:
    3,979 (1.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    185
    Location:
    Severn, MD, USA.
    Wow this is amazing. 150,000 k down to like 1,500 k.
     
  21. theonetruewill New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2006
    Messages:
    2,996 (1.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    240
    Location:
    London - Close your eyes and you'll see me
    Holy crap this is good. Mozilla need to see this!
     
  22. Silverel

    Silverel New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2007
    Messages:
    1,769 (0.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    233
    Location:
    Detroit, MI
    Hmm... Interesting.

    I've got this installed on this P3 600mhz box at work, and it really is pounding away on the CPU. 100% usage all the time. It's doing a good job at keeping the mem usage low, and it still allows me to work unhindered. Just seems a little odd that it uses any spare processing power to do whatever it's doing.

    I wonder what you guys with the beefy procs are looking at usage-wise.
     
  23. kwchang007

    kwchang007 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2007
    Messages:
    3,979 (1.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    185
    Location:
    Severn, MD, USA.
    Very interesting, my cpu consumption is jumping everywhere 25-35% ish. This isn't really a slow processor either. Part of it is probably I'm running internet radio. But still very interesting that it uses that much cpu power....huh thanks for that heads up.

    EDIT: you know what, I'd rather keep the cpu running cooler, like right now I'm seeing 1-5% utilization. FF won't go to crazy, and if it does I'll open the program then close it

    EDIT again: Much lower cpu utilization once I reopened it....hmm, ok it was the internet radio that's making it go crazy, I think that anything that streams info makes the program go berserk trying to keep ram usage down. I think FF should take note of this, but not make it THAT aggressive.
     
    Last edited: Dec 5, 2007
  24. panchoman

    panchoman Sold my stars!

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2007
    Messages:
    9,595 (3.64/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,200
    it doesn't eat any cpu for me
     
  25. theonetruewill New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2006
    Messages:
    2,996 (1.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    240
    Location:
    London - Close your eyes and you'll see me
    I'm getting 1-11% CPU usage total. Optimizer is not even showing above 00, and firefox occasionally slips up to about 08 max so far, while it normally sits at about 01-04.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page