1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

First Build Advice, Basic!

Discussion in 'System Builder's Advice' started by kyle2020, Apr 18, 2008.

  1. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (7.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    Too many horror stories of rigs catching on fire and the such.
     
  2. kyle2020 Guest

    i always assumed by reviews and how many people buy them that they were one of the best brands of psu :confused:

    i took the risk and bought a not - so - heard - of one and its been fine so far :D
     
  3. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (7.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    Well, if you can find me the UL "eXXXXXX" number on the label I can research for you and tell you exactly who the OEM was on it.
     
  4. ste2425

    ste2425

    Joined:
    May 27, 2008
    Messages:
    3,431 (1.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    383
    Location:
    Huddersfield, uk
    hey thanks for the help, ill check out the ocz one coz ive heard allot about them and they seem quite good from what ive heard. And the reason im upgrading is coz now i have a 30 pin 300 wat psu coz my ova broke, maby not a smart idea usin it with a 24 pin motherboard but it seem's to work fine :D
     
  5. kyle2020 Guest

    haha i would go with the OCZ - did a quick review read up and they seem good.
     
  6. thoughtdisorder

    thoughtdisorder New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2008
    Messages:
    1,818 (0.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    269
    Location:
    Just South of Mars
    Don't know how I haven't stumbled on this yet! Nice Job Kyle!:toast:
     
  7. kyle2020 Guest

    thank you very much! :D
     
  8. ste2425

    ste2425

    Joined:
    May 27, 2008
    Messages:
    3,431 (1.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    383
    Location:
    Huddersfield, uk
    hey i said 30pin hahaha i mean 20pin woops maby in a nova couple of years:p
     
  9. kyle2020 Guest

    maybe! haha. Anymore build aspects upcoming ste?
     
  10. ste2425

    ste2425

    Joined:
    May 27, 2008
    Messages:
    3,431 (1.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    383
    Location:
    Huddersfield, uk
    actually ive just bough 16 green Leds for the front window, 8 on either side, to give it a glow effect, itl be fun tryin to wire them up to a connector from my psu but hey if all goes wrong ill no not the cut the wire or attach one wire to the other:p
     
  11. ilike2lol

    ilike2lol New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2008
    Messages:
    5 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Blacklick, OH
    I'm very new to learning about computers and am on my way to building my own I'm so glad I found this thread
    This stuff is great to know
    :rockout:
     
  12. kyle2020 Guest

    im glad to hear it! :toast:

    If you need any additional information, im always here to help!
     
  13. ste2425

    ste2425

    Joined:
    May 27, 2008
    Messages:
    3,431 (1.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    383
    Location:
    Huddersfield, uk
    hahaha if if you want any things NOT to do then ask me :p coz i wished id listend when ppl told me instead of blowin up half my computer :p
     
  14. kyle2020 Guest

    bless :laugh:

    Anything at all, just pm me ;)
     
  15. ste2425

    ste2425

    Joined:
    May 27, 2008
    Messages:
    3,431 (1.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    383
    Location:
    Huddersfield, uk
    Just letting u no that ive finish me mods lol added the lights the front window which has a lime green tint, looks great, got all the lights for power hdd etc an fan speed controlls etc an a spare cd drive bay cover thing, Two toggle switched on the bay cover for power an restet errrrrrrrrm i also added i done like thing on the top of the blow hole it mean i dont actually see the hole as its facing backwards but it still suck air in. An its finished, oh i also bought a ati hd 2600 xt graphics card (hope it was a smart mive:p)
     
  16. kyle2020 Guest

    sounds good ste! lets have some pictures then! :)
     
  17. bignokki New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2008
    Messages:
    37 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    Denmark
    Hello, i have a x-cruiser cabinet, and i was wondering if you can change the blues led's in the front with green led's... just wondering if they use different volts and so... ?
     
  18. kyle2020 Guest

    hey bignokki, welcome to TPU - what your asking is for the fan LED's am i correct?
     
  19. bignokki New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2008
    Messages:
    37 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    Denmark
    no it's not the fan LED's it is LED's that is installed in the front... (connected with the 4-pin-molex from psu.. )

    i dont hope I post more than one msg, got a bit internet-probs... :p
     
  20. kyle2020 Guest

    Nope, only one message haha - im having internet problems too . . . damn wireless. Anyway, if your wanting to replace case LED's you will have to see how the originals are being held in place - most likely by glue or solder. You will have to remove them like and then re-glue or solder your new ones in, and im sure a different colour wont draw any more power away than the old ones.
     
  21. ste2425

    ste2425

    Joined:
    May 27, 2008
    Messages:
    3,431 (1.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    383
    Location:
    Huddersfield, uk
    I don't no much about this i just read a how-to sort of guide but my led's are connected straight to the psu through a 4-pin molex and i needed some resistors i think it was one for every four led's or sumit otherwise they didnt work. I had this website that told me what resistor i needed, i just filled info about the led's an power voltage. i can get the website again if you wish, Hopes this helps
     
  22. bignokki New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2008
    Messages:
    37 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    Denmark
    that website would be very nice :D if you can get it to me plz? then I atleast have something to read instead of just guessing...
     
  23. ste2425

    ste2425

    Joined:
    May 27, 2008
    Messages:
    3,431 (1.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    383
    Location:
    Huddersfield, uk
    The website is http://ledcalc.com/ Its good but u have to make shure you no the power supply voltage is. Which will depend on what wire your using if you using a four pin molex. I can like give u some basic info of what i did for mine of you want coz it sounds like were doing/did the same thing.

    The website is good as itl even tell you in what order you need to set the circuit up as well as how strong the resistor needs to be an how many per LED you may need.

    When youve been on the website an put in you power supply voltage an the info on you LED's an clicked claculate. In the table that comes up below look at the 'Nearest higher rated resistor'. Which is the second box on the left. Thats the size resistor you will need. It'l make sense when you go on the website :D
     
    bignokki says thanks.
  24. bignokki New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2008
    Messages:
    37 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    Denmark
    nice that looks awesome... now I'll just have to go and buy my LED's and then calculate my resistor and get one of those :D
     
  25. ste2425

    ste2425

    Joined:
    May 27, 2008
    Messages:
    3,431 (1.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    383
    Location:
    Huddersfield, uk
    kwl :D i got mine of ebay :p so what is it your actually doing with them? any photo's when there done? :D
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page