1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

First Build Complete, What's next? Need some Help.

Discussion in 'System Builder's Advice' started by Truquitos, Oct 28, 2011.

  1. Truquitos New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2011
    Messages:
    29 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Hi!
    yesterday I put together my first new build and everything seems to be working fine.
    I then proceed to install my Crucial M4 218GB SSD, Windows 7 and drivers on it.
    Now i would like to know what its next to do? besides installing programs.
    I want to know what test or things I should do with my new system to know if everything
    is working at its best.
    Also, i would like to overclock my system to about 4.5GHz - 4.8GHz, as well as my video card, but in a range that will give me a few year with no problems of span life of components.
    right now i dont know the temperature of nothing because i dont know how to. if you can help me with that i will really appreciate.

    system specs:
    Corsair Obsidian Series 800D
    ASRock Z68 Extreme7 Gen3
    Core i7-2700K
    Corsair H100
    Shin-Etsu X23-7783D Thermal Compound
    Corsair HX850 850W
    CORSAIR Vengeance 16GB 1600MHz
    SSD crusial M4
    2X MSI R6970 Lightning Radeon
    LITE-ON Black 12X BD-R
    SAMSUNG Black 12X BD-ROM
    Scythe Kaze Master Pro 5.25 Fan Controller

    The Corsair H100 i connected the fans to the Fan controller? is that OK?
    also the fan controller comes with some temp readers, but i dont know where to place them.
     
  2. Truquitos New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2011
    Messages:
    29 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    no help?
     
  3. Fourstaff

    Fourstaff Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    9,202 (5.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,985
    Location:
    Home
    cpuz,gpuz,realtemp,furmark etc.

    fan is ok
     
    Truquitos says thanks.
  4. stargazer7 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2011
    Messages:
    157 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    17
    psu runs a little on hot side

    "Something else test five has brought us is a very high exhaust temperature reading. This is far from the highest I've ever seen, but it's getting up there... no doubt about it. And with an intake temperature of only forty five degrees, too. Now, let me be clear - I do believe this unit can handle the fifty degree ambient rating given by Corsair. I've seen units survive temperatures of over ninety degrees, and this unit is no doubt better built than some of them. But I have to tell you, I'd like to see that number get a bit lower, if only to save Corsair from the inevitable flood of "my power supply is running really hot - is that bad?" e-mails that are likely to follow. Once again, this isn't something that really worries me, it just bothers me a bit."

    if you want to refund, send it back for an ax750 or tx750v2. they're both better and enough for your setup. i'm not sure if you still can save money by sending back that 2600k for a 2500k. but if you wanted to get the best of best and ensure it, you should have ordered a 2700k
     
  5. MT Alex

    MT Alex

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2009
    Messages:
    3,804 (1.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,640
    Things are a little slow around here, due to the recent release of BF3. As far as hardware monitoring goes, I like to use CPUID Hardward Monitor, which can be found here: http://www.cpuid.com/softwares/hwmonitor-pro.html

    For your GPUs, I use MSI Afterburner, which is found here: http://event.msi.com/vga/afterburner/download.htm
    This has an add on, Kombuster, which does a good job of stressing your gpus, to clarify their temps at full load, as well as their stability.

    For CPU, you could use Intel Burn Test, or good old Prime 95 to test temperatures at full load as well as overclocking stability. http://www.overclock.net/downloads/137251-prime95.html

    If you really want to see how your system is performing, join us in Battlefield 3:) http://battlelog.battlefield.com/bf3/platoon/2832655391301170011/listmembers/
     
  6. stargazer7 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2011
    Messages:
    157 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    17
    sorry for that 2600k part.... i saw it wrong. why did you buy a board with an nvidia nf200? you dont want it to crossfire :slap:
     
  7. Fourstaff

    Fourstaff Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    9,202 (5.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,985
    Location:
    Home
    Board supports both CF and SLi, non issue :slap:
     
    Truquitos and MT Alex say thanks.
  8. MT Alex

    MT Alex

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2009
    Messages:
    3,804 (1.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,640
    Yup. Works fine for Crossfire. I think it's fair to point out the OP wants suggestions, not nit picking. Oh well, you have to get 18 posts a day somehow:laugh:
     
  9. xstayxtruex

    xstayxtruex

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2008
    Messages:
    91 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12
    Meh. The 2700k is practically the same exact chip and revision as the 2600k. The only difference being the 2700k has a base multiplier of 35 instead of 34. If you were going to end up overclocking it anyway, the 2700k was a waste of the 2600k difference in money.

    google "guide to overclocking the 2600k" (or 2700k) there are lots, just look for the one that seems the most thought out in your opinion and follow it. They'll usually start you out with a core voltage of ~1.32V and have you set your multiplier to which ever highest clock you're most comfortable with, i.e. 4.8GHz being 48 multiplier x 100MHz bus speed. If the computer doesn't post, reset the the cmos and try again with ever increasing Vcore readings in .05V increments while keeping the multiplier the same until you find a stable post. Run Prime 95 and test the stress of the clock to see if it continues to work out for you.

    All of this should be in whatever guide you end up finding on the internet. Happy overclocking!:rockout:
     
  10. stargazer7 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2011
    Messages:
    157 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    17
    yes its an issue. i had a 780i that lasted 8 months, and it was non ref too. chip ran hot, died then shot the slots. the op has ZERO reason to get an nf200 for cfing two radeons. he could just have bought a regular board and it'd have worked the best. you dont need a bridge chip for two cards. it drops down performance to a non bridge situation from latency. and if you do, get a Lucid for cf. but non bridge is the best for amd setups.

    maingear's pre builts come oc'ed at 5.2. take a read, they dont seem to be same thing anymore. reviews have been ocing beyond 5ghz on aio. also its $10 more expensive than 2600k....

    http://www.eteknix.com/reviews/processors/intel-core-i7-2700k-flagship-showdown-review/3/
     
    Last edited: Oct 29, 2011
  11. Truquitos New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2011
    Messages:
    29 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Thank you guys. Well i went with the corsair HX850 because is a excellent PSU and it performs like an 80 gold standard psu. Also, a lot of people recommend it. So 1 last question. For the corsair h100 it coma with 2 fans, but I didn't connect those fans to the pump, I connected them to my fan controller, so I can control them easier, is that OK? Or what do you suggest? Thanks
     
  12. stargazer7 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2011
    Messages:
    157 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    17
    corsair link had a bug that stopped powering fans. it's fixed now but you're doing it better in fact by taking load off that pump. fan controllers are the best to power fans. they have regulators to push seperate power than mobo or h100

    [​IMG]
     
  13. Fourstaff

    Fourstaff Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    9,202 (5.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,985
    Location:
    Home
    Of course there will be reliability penalty for using an additional component, but given that the board has been purchased we can do little about it.

    Connecting a fan to the fan header(s) onboard is fine, but keep an eye on the temp if you are planning to keep fans running at very low rpm. No need to get fancy fan controllers, unless you plan to run enough fans for a typhoon in your case.

    As for 2700K, personally I wouldn't be bothered, because usually you don't want to max out the oc on SB i7's just yet, they offer plenty of power at stock already. A few multi bump is more than enough for now. In the future, maybe, but currently money is better spent elsewhere.
     
  14. stargazer7 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2011
    Messages:
    157 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    17
    yeah, i know. just saying..

    yes, onboard headers are just fine. but he has a Kaze Master so it's better off offloading them there

    and i totally agree on 2700k. he should have gone 2500k, though we cant do something at this point. well hey, he got the fastest one at least. they seem to be doing 5.2 and above. i also thought it'd be the same as 2600k. i think they improved their process.
     
  15. Truquitos New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2011
    Messages:
    29 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Well I went with that board because you guys recommend me that board. But now I see a few littl issues with it. Do you think this will be an issue now? I haven't notice nothing yet. I went with the 2700K because I have the money and because I'm not planning to upgrade my machine for a good 2 years at least. Also I have the kaze master pro and it comes with temp readers, so where you think I can place them? Thanks
     
  16. Truquitos New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2011
    Messages:
    29 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    On the OC part, I just want to bumb my i7 a little and learn how to do it correctly. This is like and experimental machine in some part lol. Also I'm aiming at a decent OC around 4.5GHz to 4.8GHz, dO you think a OC like that will short the life span of my i7?
     
  17. stargazer7 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2011
    Messages:
    157 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    17
    lol well, shouldnt be that big of an issue. my 780i did suck. those Asrock are some of the strongest options. but i still wouldnt have gotten a board with an nvidia pci expander for CF.

    Kaze master is put in a 5.25 inch cd&dvd slot. :)

    on OC, it wouldnt shorten the lifespan of your chip. they last for years and you wont push it any hard. you may be able to OC 5ghz+
     
  18. stevednmc

    stevednmc New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2009
    Messages:
    916 (0.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    83
    Location:
    nebraska
    I think he meant where to put the temp leads, not the unit itself...:rolleyes: I kinda have the samequestion, as i am unsure how to mount the temp probes in my build..otherwise I would have answered. No threadjack here though! Subbed
     
  19. Truquitos New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2011
    Messages:
    29 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    yes, that is correct!
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page