1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

First Build, Feedback Please!!

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by Johnny5, Aug 13, 2007.

  1. Johnny5

    Johnny5 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2007
    Messages:
    218 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    Hey guys, long time reader but very few posts.. Im putting together my first build so far this is what im working with. Feedback on how to improve this build hardware wise and bring down the overall cost. without further ado..

    CPU: Q6600 ($284)

    Motherboard: Gigabyte GA-P35-DS3R ($136)

    Memory: CORSAIR Dominator 2GB 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM 1066 ($205)

    Video Card: eVGA 8800 GTX 768MB ($516)

    Hard Drive: Seagate ST3300631A-RK New Seagate Barracuda 7200 ($89)

    Case: Thermaltake Soprano DX ($110)

    Power Suppy: Antec NeoPower 650 Blue ($114)

    Total: $1454 usd
     
  2. InnocentCriminal

    InnocentCriminal Resident Grammar Amender

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2005
    Messages:
    6,484 (1.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    847
    That's a pretty damn good spec. Is this the first time you're building a PC?

    I must admit I'm not a fan (no pun intended) on large ATX cases, but that Thermaltake case looks great as well as offering enough room to move your family into it. ;)

    The CPU is a great, I'd try and get hold of a G0 stepping Q6600 if you can as these are meant to be extremely overclockable and should cost the same as any other revision. D'you plan on using the stock HSF? This is well and good, but you could be better off with a quieter, after-market cooler. Maybe something from Thermaltake. Still, that's adding to the cost which is going backwards I guess - if needed, you could always add one at a later date.

    Can't say anything about the Antec PSU as I haven't read any reviews. I would recommend the Corsair 550W or 620W but these will most likely be more expensive. In my opinion, their currently the best make of PSU on the market.

    You haven't mentioned which OS you're planning on using. You planning on XP, Vista (32bit or 64?) maybe you fancy y'chances with Linux... ;)

    Good luck, and I hope you can post a work log of the build or something. If y'need anything, just shout. :)
     
  3. DrunkenMafia

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2007
    Messages:
    2,277 (0.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    232
    Location:
    Cairns QLD, Aussie
    I would go for a different psu man, I havent heard to many good things about antec psu's for a long while now, maybe try something from seasonic, silverstone, corsair, fsp etc..

    and maybe change that ram, I am pretty sure you can get a better deal than that.

    Double check the specs on that case to man, the soprano isn't a huge case and that GTX is HUGE... you may run into space issues. I know that newegg has the antec 900 on special for like $90 or something....
     
  4. mullered07

    mullered07 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2007
    Messages:
    2,648 (0.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    204
    Location:
    UK
    nice specs, although unless your into video editing/encoding multitasking big time you wont see much perf increase from that quad core. A e6850 would serve you better and give you a noticeable boost in games over the q6600
     
  5. InnocentCriminal

    InnocentCriminal Resident Grammar Amender

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2005
    Messages:
    6,484 (1.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    847
    Corsair 550W or 620W ;)

    At that price he's future proofing for a bit and games are slowing becoming multi-threaded, look at S.T.A.L.K.E.R. for instance. With Crysis and Alan Wake coming soon that's another two to add to the list. Forward thinking with back compatibility is what I like to regurgitate. :)
     
    Last edited: Aug 13, 2007
  6. DrunkenMafia

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2007
    Messages:
    2,277 (0.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    232
    Location:
    Cairns QLD, Aussie
    nah its more expensive, heaps nicer, I agree. The only reason I mentioned the 900 is because I saw it pretty cheap at newegg yesterday...

    Antec to make really nice clean cases
     
  7. Easy Rhino

    Easy Rhino Linux Advocate

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2006
    Messages:
    13,541 (4.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,381
    what is your price limit? i would get a different PSU, preferably something like the OCZ GameStream 750watt. its a very reliable PSU that offers a ton of clean power. you will need it considering you are going for the q6600 and the gtx. and if you can spend a bit more cash get a rapter HDD for increased gaming performance. then buy an external HDD for storage.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  8. Johnny5

    Johnny5 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2007
    Messages:
    218 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    thanks guys for the feedback

    Im gong with the quad for the future, sure i probally wont get anything outta of it now but plan for the future.

    I always thought antec was a good psu but im probally wrong.


    As the case is concerned, I really want a nice looking case there arent many i like and the ones i do are mid atx.. ill search around..
     
    Last edited: Aug 13, 2007
  9. hat

    hat Maximum Overclocker

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    16,995 (5.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,085
    Location:
    Ohio
    The Antec SMARTPOWERS are junk, the others should be fine. 650W will power that system easily. Looks nice and balanced. If your CPU gets the G0 stepping, you can almost effortlessly overclock to 3GHz (G0 usually hits 3.9 on air). I strongly reccomend this cooler if your budget allows. My uncle has this on his 6000+ (stock) and he lives on the 3rd floor of an apartment building which is always like 80F, and his CPU NEVER broke 45c. It usually stays around 42-41 after hours of BF2142. That's in a case with 2 8800GTS.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  10. Johnny5

    Johnny5 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2007
    Messages:
    218 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    ok, updated specs

    CPU: Q6600 ($284)

    Motherboard: Gigabyte GA-P35-DS3R ($136)

    Memory: CORSAIR Dominator 2GB 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM 1066 ($205)

    Video Card: eVGA 8800 GTX 768MB ($516)

    Hard Drive: Seagate ST3300631A-RK New Seagate Barracuda 7200 ($89)

    Case: Antec Nine Hundred Black Steel ($90)

    Power Suppy: OCZ Technology 700W GameXStream ($127)

    Total: $1447 usd

    question: Is there a way to identify the quad cores with g0 stepping, maybe by model number or lot number?
     
    Last edited: Aug 13, 2007
  11. InnocentCriminal

    InnocentCriminal Resident Grammar Amender

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2005
    Messages:
    6,484 (1.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    847
    I presume it's best to ask the retailer you're buying from in advice.

    If you missed my previous question, what OS d'you plan to run with this rig?
     
    Johnny5 says thanks.
  12. Johnny5

    Johnny5 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2007
    Messages:
    218 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    I still want to run xp till vista gets its act together.
     
  13. InnocentCriminal

    InnocentCriminal Resident Grammar Amender

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2005
    Messages:
    6,484 (1.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    847
    Good man!

    From the way you're pricing your components I expect your either from the States or Canada right?

    I'm not sure if Scan (UK) deliver overseas but they definitely sell G0 stepping Q6600's for £170 ($340USD). I know that's a lot more than for what you've got listed but it's a certainty it's a G0 stepping. To be honest you're more likely to come across them in the States, cheaper too!

    You've listed the 8800GTX - when d'you plan on building this thing, relatively soon? I better point you into the direction of a thread I made for potential DX10.0 buyers.
     
  14. hat

    hat Maximum Overclocker

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    16,995 (5.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,085
    Location:
    Ohio
    You can identify what spetting you have by downloading CPU Z. It will tell you stepping and more.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  15. mullered07

    mullered07 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2007
    Messages:
    2,648 (0.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    204
    Location:
    UK
    gonna be a bit late by then if hes already bought it, cant send it back cause its not a g0 stepping
     
  16. hat

    hat Maximum Overclocker

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    16,995 (5.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,085
    Location:
    Ohio
    Most q6600's are G0 now. It's just a way of checking which stepping you have.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  17. Johnny5

    Johnny5 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2007
    Messages:
    218 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    I did all my pricing thru www.pricewatch.com and are in US funds. Im looking to build within a month but will be waiting till the last second to purchase so there is a chance the price might come down.
     
  18. Agility

    Agility

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2005
    Messages:
    1,646 (0.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    51
    Location:
    Singapore
    You might wanan wait for the next-gen Gigabyte DQ6 X35 board from intel if you're buying a p35. X35 has dual X16 PCI-E to run of for your crossfire. Also i would recommend a ATI card since if're hogging on that mobo. I would also recommend a E6850 and the new silverstone 850W. Wizzard reviewed it lask week. Go for stable PSU rather then just PSU with high watts.
     
  19. InnocentCriminal

    InnocentCriminal Resident Grammar Amender

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2005
    Messages:
    6,484 (1.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    847
    Meh... I wouldn't recommend anything but a Q6600. Dual core will be the minimum in 6 to 12 months and (new) multi-thread applications such as games will start to take advantage and I can't help but think he'd stuck with a stupidly fast dual core CPU that's out-dated. He's thinking of future proofing I expect.

    I'll have to read that SilverStone PSU review as I freaking love SilverStone cases. I can't help but bollock on about how good Corsair's current PSU range is. Even it's 620W is capable of powering a Q6600 & a 8800GTX SLi set up - I'm still trying to track down the new article... with pictures!
     
  20. Johnny5

    Johnny5 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2007
    Messages:
    218 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    After some research Im looking for suggestion on a different mobo. What do you guys like?
     
  21. InnocentCriminal

    InnocentCriminal Resident Grammar Amender

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2005
    Messages:
    6,484 (1.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    847
    You looking for mATX or full ATX?
     
  22. Johnny5

    Johnny5 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2007
    Messages:
    218 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    sorry, full ATX
     
  23. InnocentCriminal

    InnocentCriminal Resident Grammar Amender

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2005
    Messages:
    6,484 (1.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    847
    Hmmm... decent motherboard for the Q6600 - what sort of budget are we looking at for this?
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page