1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

First Build looking for feedback

Discussion in 'System Builder's Advice' started by Darkleoco, Sep 18, 2011.

  1. Darkleoco

    Darkleoco

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2011
    Messages:
    1,598 (1.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    247
    Location:
    Cullowhee, North Carolina
    Processor: Intel Core i7-2600k
    Motherboard: Asus P67 Sabertooth TUF edition
    Power Supply: Corsair AX1200W
    Ram: Kingston 8GB DDR3 unbuffered
    Graphics Card: Radeon HD 6990
    Case: CoolerMaster HAF X
    Cpu Cooler: CoolerMaster V6 GT

    I will be using 2 1TB Hard Drives and a standard disk drive and monitor, I am wondering whether using a simple 1920x1080 monitor will look poor with the 6990?
     
    Last edited: Sep 18, 2011
  2. PVTCaboose1337

    PVTCaboose1337 Graphical Hacker

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2006
    Messages:
    9,512 (2.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,143
    Location:
    San Antonio, Texas
    I personally prefer ATI cards over NVIDIA, reason being the blacker blacks, and a genuinely better color range. You don't really notice it unless you own either card, so I would say pick the NVIDIA for the driver support.

    What is the computer used for? You might be better off saving the cash and getting a 2500k if you don't need the HT.
     
  3. Darkleoco

    Darkleoco

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2011
    Messages:
    1,598 (1.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    247
    Location:
    Cullowhee, North Carolina
    This is going to be a High-End Gaming Rig which I might also use for video editing and depending on my card choice I will eventually be upgrading to a quad-sli or crossfire system, also I already have all of the components listed because I managed to get some of them on sale however the GTX 590 and Radeon HD 6990 were all out of stock where I was looking.
     
  4. rfowler30

    rfowler30 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2010
    Messages:
    80 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    if your going for 3D vision, then nvidia is the way to go, but ati does have bigger vram in their higher end gpus which would help "future proof" your hardware more so. the only con with ati is they still use 256 bus width for their graphic cards. i went with nvidia because i have a 3d tv, but if ati had way better 3d profiles(lord knows ati needs lots more), then id go with ati. i loved my old 5870.
     
  5. Darkleoco

    Darkleoco

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2011
    Messages:
    1,598 (1.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    247
    Location:
    Cullowhee, North Carolina
    I'm not going for anything with a 3D Tv or monitor, what Nvidia card did you choose btw?
     
  6. rfowler30

    rfowler30 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2010
    Messages:
    80 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    check my specs, i use 2 gtx 580s in sli. very fast, plays all games at max settings great. got two of these babies cuz im sick of upgrading my gpu every generation just to barely be able to play the latest games at max settings. i got something that would atleast last me for 2 years. always look up the 3dmark vantage and 3d mark 11 scores if you get an sli or crossfire gfx, some gpus scale very well(such as 2xgtx 580s) others like the 2x gtx 560 tis do not scale that well(in 3d mark vantage atleast). also look at the gpu scores for benchmarks for games, thats really the ultimate determinate of the performance of the dual gpu setup.
     
  7. Darkleoco

    Darkleoco

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2011
    Messages:
    1,598 (1.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    247
    Location:
    Cullowhee, North Carolina
    Sadly I'm not able to get 2 580's right now which is partly why I'm looking at the 590 or 6990 since I can start with one card that isn't completely blown away by SLI 580's, also how long would I be able to expect a Quad-SLI or 6990 Crossfire System to last before it starts to become a bit dated?
     
  8. rfowler30

    rfowler30 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2010
    Messages:
    80 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    oh boy, if you went with quad sli setup with the gfx choices you want, you wouldnt have to worry about that being outdated until dx12 comes out lol
     
  9. Darkleoco

    Darkleoco

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2011
    Messages:
    1,598 (1.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    247
    Location:
    Cullowhee, North Carolina
    How far off are we from dx12 though lol
     
  10. rfowler30

    rfowler30 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2010
    Messages:
    80 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    i have no idea, but i cant wait lol jj
     
  11. lilhasselhoffer

    lilhasselhoffer

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2011
    Messages:
    1,672 (1.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,036
    Location:
    East Coast, USA
    Two comments for you:

    1) Why choose a 1200 Watt power supply. The system you're looking at could run at 650-800 watts, and the power supply would be more efficient.

    2) Patience? November 15 is the release of sandybridge-e, bulldozer is coming next month, and these two factors will influence the price of the 2600k. You may be better off waiting just a little while if you can.


    Otherwise you can consider two changes.
    You could save some money on your video cards. The 6990 and 590 are amazing, but only really shine when running multi monitor or 3D. The 560ti and 6870 lines can save you well over 100 USD, while still running programs with all the eye candy, on a single monitor setup.

    Video editing requires huge amounts of RAM. Moving up to 16GB might help. It isn't likely to influence gaming, but this is really a personal preferrence situation.
     
  12. Darkleoco

    Darkleoco

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2011
    Messages:
    1,598 (1.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    247
    Location:
    Cullowhee, North Carolina
    The Power Supply is because I am going to upgrade to a Quad-SLI or Crossfire System which will need the increased power supply so I opted to buy the needed psu now rather than buy 2 psus also I already have all of the parts other than the monitor and graphics card and I also am going to run multi-monitor when I finish upgrading my system, the current setup is what I consider the bones of my system, I am going to be liquid cooling it and running 2-3 large monitors when I am finished, also I simply chose 8GB of ram to keep cost down for now, my mobo supports 32GB so I will likely be using close to that when I am finished with this system.
     
  13. Darkleoco

    Darkleoco

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2011
    Messages:
    1,598 (1.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    247
    Location:
    Cullowhee, North Carolina
    I've decided that I'm going to use a Radeon 6990 instead of a GTX 590, also if anyone has suggestions on small upgrades or parts I coud get such as fan controls that would be greatly appreciated :)
     
  14. rfowler30

    rfowler30 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2010
    Messages:
    80 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    be sure to get some good side panel cooling supported with your case. make sure you have a big fan such as 200mm supported fan with atleast 100+ cfm for the case. my 2x gtx 580s get hot, had to get 2 antec spot fans to keep these babies cool, i even have to manual change the fan settings for the gpus to 70%. eventually when you get quad sli youll need the big side panel fan will come in handy. when you do go quad crossfire, monitor your gpu temperatures CONSTANTLY, use CPUID HWMONITOR. my gtx 580s were gettin rediculously hot, had to get 2 antec spot fans, lowered the temps by 14c; use to get 80+. long story short, if i was getting hot gpus with just 2 gtx 580s, your quad sli crossfire rig will get hot when you get it. if you need the extra cooling, i highly recommend the antec spot fan if you can place it correctly towards your gpus. never would buy anything from antec, except for this bad boy. included a picture to illustrate my point, cant see the antec fans that well due to the pci express cable placement but id thought id show it to u ne ways.
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Sep 18, 2011
  15. caleb

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2004
    Messages:
    1,551 (0.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    206
    Location:
    Poland,Slask
    Wish I'd have 1 580 :)
    Wait that next month for BD
     
  16. Darkleoco

    Darkleoco

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2011
    Messages:
    1,598 (1.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    247
    Location:
    Cullowhee, North Carolina
  17. Live OR Die

    Live OR Die

    Joined:
    May 19, 2007
    Messages:
    4,023 (1.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    422
    :wtf: you don't use 2 sli connectors for 2 way sli u only need the one :rolleyes:.
     
  18. Darkleoco

    Darkleoco

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2011
    Messages:
    1,598 (1.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    247
    Location:
    Cullowhee, North Carolina
    Where did he even mention using 2 sli connectors?
     
  19. Live OR Die

    Live OR Die

    Joined:
    May 19, 2007
    Messages:
    4,023 (1.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    422
    In his Attached Thumbnail of his rig ;)
    [​IMG]
     
  20. Darkleoco

    Darkleoco

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2011
    Messages:
    1,598 (1.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    247
    Location:
    Cullowhee, North Carolina
    Oh I assumed since you had quoted him he had mentioned it somewhere in their my bad :p
     
  21. rfowler30

    rfowler30 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2010
    Messages:
    80 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    oh i never knew that, i thought you always had to use two :ohwell:, ill change that when i get the chance. thanks.
     
  22. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (6.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    Keep 2 bridges connected. Wont help anything but wont hurt either.
     
  23. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,683 (6.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,984
    Location:
    some AF base
    how so? an 85% efficient unit is just as efficient at 50% as well as 85% load. thats part of the certification process. Most unit actually have a dropoff when pushed harder. They also produce more heat when they are close to max vs one running at half power.
     
    JrRacinFan says thanks.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page