1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

First Desktop DDR3 Memory to Come From Super Talent

Discussion in 'News' started by malware, Feb 17, 2007.

  1. malware New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2004
    Messages:
    5,476 (1.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    956
    Location:
    Bulgaria
    [​IMG]

    Super Talent has completed construction of its first DDR3 prototype modules and will be the first to introduce commercial modules. As a member of JEDEC, Super Talent is devoting engineers and time to defining and finalizing the DDR3 specifications. DDR3 is set to be the next PC memory standard and the successor to DDR2 memory. It holds a number of technological advantages over its predecessor. Power consumption has been decreased to 1.5 Volts, while clock speeds have gone up ranging from 800MHz to 1600MHz. In addition, DDR3 modules will also use the same 240-pin form factor. They will not, however, be inter-compatible as DDR2 and DDR3 memory chips have the middle notch located at different positions. Super Talent expects to begin shipping its DDR3 modules long before motherboards supporting them are actually released. Current ship time is estimated at mid-2007.

    Source: DailyTech
     
  2. WarEagleAU

    WarEagleAU Bird of Prey

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2006
    Messages:
    10,808 (3.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    547
    Location:
    Gurley, AL
    Well alright, nice to see someone other than Corsair hit the market first. But really, is this a better bet than Corsair or Mushkin or OCZ or something?
     
  3. Alec§taar New Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2006
    Messages:
    4,677 (1.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    94
    Location:
    Someone who's going to find NewTekie1 and teach hi
    Aha!

    Kind of "neat to know" what kind of RAM will quite possibly be in the next system I construct, around the year 2009 I am estimating, per my "buy ALL new & pop it together every 4-5 yrs. plan"...

    :)

    * I like the sound of the increased speed, most of all, of course... a doubling! Big fan of performance here, as are most of you!

    APK

    P.S.=> I have a strange feeling that we're going to see some MASSIVE increases in the speed of our equipment in the next 5 yrs., that 'put to shame' any we have seen thusfar... IBM came up w/ that idea for making our DRAM's as fast as SRAM as well!

    Maybe, JUST maybe, memory is going to start catching up w/ the internal speeds of the CPU in time (or, @ least, get a HECK of a lot closer than it is presently)... which would be WAY cool imo! apk
     
  4. tkpenalty New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2006
    Messages:
    6,958 (2.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    345
    Location:
    Australia, Sydney
    ...Now I need a motherboard upgrade?
     
  5. ace80

    ace80

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2005
    Messages:
    471 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    28
    Location:
    Surrey, England
    do u think these would actually work in a ddr2 based board if it wasn't for the middle notch being different?
     
  6. OnBoard

    OnBoard New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2006
    Messages:
    3,044 (1.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    379
    Location:
    Finland
    Why not? You can't propably go as low as 1,5V on a ddr2 mobo, but seeing as current ddr2 memory is already run 0,3V over the 1,8V where they started, surely they wouldn't mind the overvolt.
     
  7. Grings

    Grings New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2006
    Messages:
    2,303 (0.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    187
    Location:
    Blighty
    goodbye am2, looks like i wont be upgrading to ddr2 after all, what im wondering is will am2+ support this?, looks like amd's onboard memory bus idea is backfiring again
     
  8. ex_reven New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2006
    Messages:
    5,225 (1.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    171
    I agree with you there. But IMO increases in technology development and its speed will both increase. I also believe (or at least hope) that the rest of the world similarly speeds up with these new speed advances. I'd love to see a point where technology becomes so fast, powerful and capable, that it can lead to the creation of newer technologies in exponential (or at least hugely) decreasing timespans.

    Eg - DDR took 3 years (not a factual figure, just an example) of hard work to develop, DDR2 would in turn take 2 years to design, test and start production, DDR3 takes one year to invent and produce, DDR4 takes 9 months to create, DDR5 - 5 Months....and so on and so forth.

    Its just one of my "hopes" but it might be a long shot :ohwell:
     
  9. EastCoasthandle

    EastCoasthandle New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2005
    Messages:
    6,889 (1.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,506
    I'm still curious as what kind of performance you should expect out of this DDR3...
     
  10. mullered07

    mullered07 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2007
    Messages:
    2,648 (0.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    204
    Location:
    UK
    what kind of timings are we gonna be looking at @ 1600mhz ? :ohwell: 7.7.7.20 ? lol might not be far off ? well time will tell, as i build a new rig every year i will probably be able to have one this time next year with some good ddr3 1200/1400 :rockout:
     
  11. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,684 (6.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,984
    Location:
    some AF base
    DDR3 is coming out to fast how long did we use DDR1 before DDR2 came out? why is this change so much less?
     
  12. EastCoasthandle

    EastCoasthandle New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2005
    Messages:
    6,889 (1.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,506
    That's why I am concerned about the performance benefit.
     
  13. Polaris573

    Polaris573 Senior Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2005
    Messages:
    4,281 (1.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    718
    Location:
    Little Rock, USA
    DDR2 was introduced in 2003. That was quite a while ago, it is about time for something new.
     
  14. tigger

    tigger I'm the only one

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2006
    Messages:
    10,183 (3.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,399
    cool,now we just need to speed up the slowest thing in our machines....................the optical drives,sloooooooow.

    i think i'll stick with the ram i've got now and hold off buying summat till this ddr3 comes along.
     
  15. macawman New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2006
    Messages:
    6 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    modesto,ca
    Pics of DDR3 mobo

    Chile Hardware has shots of the new DDR3 Biostar TP353-a7 Deluxe P35 mobo. Just google chile hardware.
     
  16. Murasame

    Murasame New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2006
    Messages:
    172 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Location:
    L.A.
    You can also see the Biostar DDR3 board at vr-zone
     
  17. Lazzer408

    Lazzer408

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2007
    Messages:
    2,547 (0.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    338
    Location:
    Illinois
    They should just take ddr-2 and stripe it.
     
  18. EastCoasthandle

    EastCoasthandle New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2005
    Messages:
    6,889 (1.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,506
    [​IMG]
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page