1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

First Ever build...good guide? Advice? Parts arrive tomorrow!

Discussion in 'System Builder's Advice' started by Guttboy, Jan 14, 2009.

1. Guttboy

Guttboy New Member

Thanks Received:
    Hi Folks!

Well I have bitten the bullet and ordered all my parts on my first-ever build by my lonesome!:) I have been bopping around gathering data from this forum and others and:) I am truly excited to do this. Fortunately for me, everything has worked out shipping wise and everything gets here tomorrow! (Hope FedEx and UPS are early....:D)

My first question, since its my first build, are there any comprehensive guides out there that you would suggest for building a PC from scratch? Really looking for folks guidance...perhaps you were the author or have used such a guide in the past?

Now a little about the system. First and foremost I want to OC this PC as I did it in the past with an older system and really liked doing it!

Here is the list:

CPU: E8400 (E0) 3.0 Ghz
    MOBO: Gigabyte GA-EP45-UD3P
    RAM: G.Skill 4Gb (2x2Gb) DDR2 1066 (PC 8500)
    PSU: Corsair 750TX 750Watt
    VIDEO: Sapphire 4850x2 2Gb
    HDD: 2 Western digital 1TB 32mb cache HDDs (accidentally ordered two:eek:)
    MONITOR: LG W2600H-PW 25.5" (1920x1200)
    CPU COOLER: Xigmatek S1283 with bracket
    CASE: CM690
    CD/DVD: Samsung 22x DVD+-R with Lightscribe
    MISC: Arctic 5 paste, 4 extra Scythe 120mm fans, etc....

I will be "canning" my Xfi Extreme Gamer sound card, mouse, keyboard, mic, etc and moving it to this build.

I inadvertantly ordered two of the 1TB HDDs. I could use it in this system or put an enclosure around it and use it for my DVR. Will have to see. Not sure if I want to go with a RAID 0 or 1 setup. Perhaps no RAID at all....Recommendations?

I will be overclocking this system, doing some transfer of home movies to DVD, an occassional game, etc...