1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

First Intel Clarkdale Core i3 Low-Voltage Overclocking Feat Yields 4 GHz at 0.832 V

Discussion in 'News' started by btarunr, Jul 21, 2009.

  1. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,921 (6.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,644
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    Anyone know the price? These would be AWESOME for crunching!
     
  2. r9

    r9

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2008
    Messages:
    2,144 (0.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    284
    Dual cores are not givingup easy.
     
  3. Fx

    Fx

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2008
    Messages:
    513 (0.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    88
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    /golfclap
     
  4. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,896 (13.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,304
    This chip makes my E8600 4ghz 1.18v look like a hot Pentium! I'd love a new Intel chip that I can put the overclocks on without investing in an large water cooling loop.
     
  5. laszlo

    laszlo

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2005
    Messages:
    891 (0.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    105
    Location:
    66 feet from the ground
    amd were are u?:cry:
     
  6. h3llb3nd4

    h3llb3nd4 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2009
    Messages:
    3,323 (1.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    307
    Location:
    Durban, South Africa
    at their HQs in the US
     
  7. laszlo

    laszlo

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2005
    Messages:
    891 (0.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    105
    Location:
    66 feet from the ground
    i know that but it seems they are far.. far away :laugh:
     
  8. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,921 (6.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,644
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    I'm sure they got something cooking. But this isn't TOO exciting. Core 2 Duo's can already do similar, this just does it at lower voltage. The HT is cool, but if this is priced at around ~120$-150$ then AMD's 720 would be in direct competition as it's only at 120$ and has 1 more core and 1 one less thread.
     
  9. phanbuey

    phanbuey

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2007
    Messages:
    5,207 (2.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    975
    Location:
    Miami
    AMD is in Austin too.
     
    ShadowFold says thanks.
  10. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,921 (6.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,644
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    Bleh I was thinking of ATi...
     
  11. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,896 (13.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,304
    Sunnyvale, CA. Is their HQ. :p
     
    phanbuey says thanks.
  12. phanbuey

    phanbuey

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2007
    Messages:
    5,207 (2.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    975
    Location:
    Miami
    Yep... Austin is their research campus, my bad... I used to live next to it.

    Linked in is WRONG http://www.linkedin.com/companies/amd
     
  13. KieranD

    KieranD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Messages:
    8,057 (3.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    825
    Location:
    Glasgow, Scotland
    a cpu that runs on no power? impossible everything needs power even carts they need people or horses to push/pull them

    or Erocker as its known Silicone Valley in California!
     
  14. phanbuey

    phanbuey

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2007
    Messages:
    5,207 (2.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    975
    Location:
    Miami
    Wait so 32nm... i remember that anything over 1.4v is no good for 45nm... I wonder what will be the max 32mn voltage - can't be much over 1.2/1.25.
     
  15. DanishDevil

    DanishDevil

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2005
    Messages:
    10,217 (3.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,116
    Location:
    Newport Beach, CA
    I'm in love.
     
  16. Scrizz

    Scrizz

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2007
    Messages:
    2,969 (1.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    411
    Location:
    Florida, US
    niiiice
     
  17. Sasqui

    Sasqui

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2005
    Messages:
    7,758 (2.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,482
    Location:
    Manchester, NH
    I'm in lust!
     
  18. 3870x2

    3870x2

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2008
    Messages:
    4,875 (1.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    689
    Location:
    Joplin, Mo
    It has half the cache because it has half the cores, i figured that was common sense.
    It is the same, it is the same architecture as nehalem. Why would they make 2 separate technologies when nehalem works? Clarkdale and nehalem are very, very similar. Per core, cache is the same, so clock by clock, should be very similar.
     
  19. suraswami

    suraswami

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2005
    Messages:
    6,251 (1.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    837
    Location:
    Republic of Asia (a.k.a Irvine), CA
    hmm, how is a 'Zero' watt bulb possiple :p
     
  20. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    28,864 (11.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,716
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    By bluffing its "wattage".
     
  21. suraswami

    suraswami

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2005
    Messages:
    6,251 (1.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    837
    Location:
    Republic of Asia (a.k.a Irvine), CA
    he he I know, but its generally close to zero watt consumption.
     
  22. Assimilator

    Assimilator

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2005
    Messages:
    623 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    105
    Location:
    South Africa
    That horrible crunching sound you all just heard?

    That was Intel breaking AMD's spine over its knee.
     
  23. farlex85

    farlex85 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2007
    Messages:
    4,829 (1.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    638
    More cache= more performance. A quad w/ 12mb of L2 will generally be a bit better clock for clock than a duo w/ 6mb. Perhaps you would be correct if it wasn't for the fact that the L3 is shared among cores, eliminating a per core comparison.

    It probably is somewhat similar clock/clock performance, but your simply talking out of your ass. On paper they're actually pretty different, they make different technologies to fill different market segments. Clarkdale is nehalem, clarkdale is not bloomfield (i7). ;)
     
    Last edited: Jul 21, 2009
  24. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    28,864 (11.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,716
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    Actually most of them you get here draw anywhere between 5~15 W. A CFL with the same wattage is a "100W bulb" if you know what I mean. ;)
     
  25. TheMailMan78

    TheMailMan78 Big Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    21,188 (7.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,709
    <
    Are these a different socket than the i7's?
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page