1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

First Intel Clarkdale Core i3 Low-Voltage Overclocking Feat Yields 4 GHz at 0.832 V

Discussion in 'News' started by btarunr, Jul 21, 2009.

  1. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    28,513 (11.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,637
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    Depending on which i7 you're referring to. Some i7s are LGA-1366, some of them will be LGA-1156.
  2. farlex85

    farlex85 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2007
    Messages:
    4,830 (1.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    638
    Depends on which clarkfields I think too, this looks like 1156 but I think some will use a different socket. It's all very confusing.......

    Wait nvm I guess I'm getting clarkdale and clarkfield confused. So 1156 for these I guess.
  3. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    28,513 (11.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,637
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    Clarksfield = quad-core mobile. It uses a mobile socket. There's a nice chart here: http://www.techpowerup.com/index.php?97604
  4. TheMailMan78

    TheMailMan78 Big Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    20,969 (7.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,526
    So Intel doesn't have a uniform socket for its desktop? FYI I'm not being a smart ass. I want to understand.
  5. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,921 (6.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,644
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    They have 2 sockets now. 1366 and 1156, 1366 has i7 and i9 with X58 and 1156 has i7, i5 and i3. 1156 is dual channel DDR3 and P55.
  6. farlex85

    farlex85 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2007
    Messages:
    4,830 (1.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    638
    That chart bta just posted also shows 1155. :confused: Wiki shows that one too for Lynnfield. So 3 desktop variants? A p57 or q57 is apparently a lga 1156 and lga 1155 socket. That chart also apparently says i3 will be 775. It's all very confusing.......
  7. phanbuey

    phanbuey

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2007
    Messages:
    5,203 (2.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    973
    Location:
    Miami
    It may be a typo? maybe they meant 1156?
  8. HalfAHertz

    HalfAHertz

    Joined:
    May 4, 2009
    Messages:
    1,887 (0.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    378
    Location:
    Singapore
    The 1155 one will be the SoC e.i. CPU+GPU, while the 1156 will be just CPU
    farlex85 says thanks.
  9. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    19,914 (6.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,016
    I really think Intel has shot themselves in the foot with the double socket crap.
    Crunching for Team TPU 50 Million points folded for TPU
  10. farlex85

    farlex85 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2007
    Messages:
    4,830 (1.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    638
    No I don't think so I saw that on Wiki too recently. I don't get the i3 thing either, as it says 775 is DMI. So P45s are just gonna stop shipping w/ FSB? I think at this point intel maybe doesn't even know WTF they are doing and are just slinging stuff all over the place. :laugh: By this time next year their master plan should be somewhat clear at least.

    So will both chips work in both sockets? Or when buying a P57 will one need to be careful to buy the right P57 or lose out on a critical feature?
  11. Frick

    Frick Fishfaced Nincompoop

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2006
    Messages:
    10,574 (3.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,205
    It's like the old Athlon FX days.. Not too mention early P4!
  12. HalfAHertz

    HalfAHertz

    Joined:
    May 4, 2009
    Messages:
    1,887 (0.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    378
    Location:
    Singapore
    Why? The market is what, 80-90% OEM? Usually people who buy prebuilt machines just use it untill it breaks down and don't give a rat's azz about what's inside as long as it works and rarely upgrade. So Having alot of READY and AVAIBLE solutions that suit every uninformed individual's need > having a single solution that has to be reconfigured every time to fullfill the user's needs

  13. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,921 (6.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,644
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    THREE sockets now? I didn't hear about 1155.. Source?
  14. phanbuey

    phanbuey

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2007
    Messages:
    5,203 (2.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    973
    Location:
    Miami
    If it has three sockets + an FSB-less lga 775 than this is just getting riF*(&cockulus. Maybe their business plan is to confuse the crap out of all enthusiasts so that they have to buy 1366.
  15. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    19,914 (6.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,016
    There is no reason that a single socket can't suit every uninformed desktop users needs. 775 did it perfectly for years.
    phanbuey says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU 50 Million points folded for TPU
  16. HalfAHertz

    HalfAHertz

    Joined:
    May 4, 2009
    Messages:
    1,887 (0.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    378
    Location:
    Singapore
    Yes but things have moved on now. The newer technology has arrived and is going to take over. Intel tries to incorporate more and more stuff into the CPU die and reduce costs** and simplify the platform
    How many solutions are there for LGA775? G31, G41, G43, P35, P45, X38, X48 etc. and that's just on intel's side... How many solutions are we going to have now? p55, p53, x58

    **Intel knows that it cannot compete with all the motherboard manufacturers at once, so they are playing it smart. They are trying to incorporate more and more stuff into the CPU so that they could increase their control on the market, taking away production from the mobo manufacturers and making a greater profit
    Last edited: Jul 21, 2009
  17. Bjorn_Of_Iceland

    Bjorn_Of_Iceland

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2008
    Messages:
    3,177 (1.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    375
    mmm.. 5GHZ. good bye VC bottleneck
  18. HalfAHertz

    HalfAHertz

    Joined:
    May 4, 2009
    Messages:
    1,887 (0.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    378
    Location:
    Singapore
    phanbuey says thanks.
  19. Sasqui

    Sasqui

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2005
    Messages:
    7,619 (2.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,384
    Location:
    Manchester, NH
    It is really disspointing. I think in the end, they'll somehow increae sales of CPUs and chipsets because of it. There has to be some sinister money making logic behind it.
  20. phanbuey

    phanbuey

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2007
    Messages:
    5,203 (2.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    973
    Location:
    Miami
    Intel doesn't really have to compete with the motherboard manufacturers, as intel supplies them with the actual chipsets, southbridges, and licenses. Intel is primarily a supplier to MB manufacturers rather than a competitor, it does manufacture MB's, but it is still primarily in a supplier relationship with MB manufacturers. For intel, the more intel-compatible MBs are floating around the market, the better.

    The only reason LGA 775 has so many chipsets is because its been around for a LONG time... wait 3 years for 1156,1155, and 1366, and they will have a ton too I mean you already have in the pipeline: p55, p57, h55, h57, q57 and x58
    Last edited: Jul 21, 2009
  21. TheMailMan78

    TheMailMan78 Big Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    20,969 (7.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,526
    Man I am confused. Why can't they do one socket per generation. AMD learned this lesson with the FX way back when. Hell if I know what to buy now.
  22. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    28,513 (11.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,637
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    Don't need to be. Roll the dice, pick a socket, stick to its upgrade path. It will be faster and/or offer more value than that of AMD at least in the foreseeable future.
    Assimilator says thanks.
  23. HalfAHertz

    HalfAHertz

    Joined:
    May 4, 2009
    Messages:
    1,887 (0.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    378
    Location:
    Singapore
    I'm pretty sure the NB and SB are produced by the MB vendors and just licenced by intel
  24. phanbuey

    phanbuey

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2007
    Messages:
    5,203 (2.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    973
    Location:
    Miami
    Nope - they order them:

    http://www.emsnow.com/newsarchives/archivedetails.cfm?ID=10936

    They fuse them to their boards, but Im pretty sure that the cores of the chipsets are intel made. They give out the license and the design of the chipsets to MB partners like Gigabyte so that they can design the motherboards around them.
  25. TheMailMan78

    TheMailMan78 Big Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    20,969 (7.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,526
    Man I couldnt do that. I need to know all the details before I buy anything.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page