1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

First Intel Wolfdale Benchmarks

Discussion in 'News' started by Nyte, Aug 9, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Nyte New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2005
    Messages:
    185 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    34
    Location:
    Toronto ON
    The folks over at Project LAN have gotten their hands on the new Intel Wofldale CPU (6 MB L2 Cache). They compare it against the Intel Core2 Duo E6550 in several benchmarks ranging from games to system applications.

    Also, take note of the 31% increase in performance for Half-Life 2.

    Source: Project Lan
    Last edited: Aug 9, 2007
  2. [I.R.A]_FBi

    [I.R.A]_FBi New Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2007
    Messages:
    7,664 (2.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    540
    Location:
    c:\programs\kitteh.exe
    mad .. pwnage?

    do teh current 775 boards support wolfdale?
  3. NinkobEi

    NinkobEi

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2006
    Messages:
    2,045 (0.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    340
    1024x768 resolution benchmarking. what the eff !
  4. Grings

    Grings New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2006
    Messages:
    2,302 (0.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    184
    Location:
    Blighty
    whoa, 116% improvement in divx 6.6 (w/sse4) cool, and ninkobwi, cpu's show a bigger difference at lower res than at higher res
  5. tvdang7 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2006
    Messages:
    318 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    so this cpu is the same as the ones out now just 45nm and 6mb of cache right? man hl2 gets a big boost. im only on a 2mb right now...... maybe i should jump over.
  6. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    41,978 (11.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,389
    TVdang - the CPU's in your sys specs/sig are only 512K cache, half a meg, not 2MB.

    I've just ordered a Q6600 G0 w/ 8MB, lets hope i dont regret it when the 12MB cache quads come out.
  7. [I.R.A]_FBi

    [I.R.A]_FBi New Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2007
    Messages:
    7,664 (2.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    540
    Location:
    c:\programs\kitteh.exe
    ???
  8. OBR New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2005
    Messages:
    39 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Location:
    Czechia
    This is week old article, original is posted with many pictures on HKEPC!
  9. tvdang7 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2006
    Messages:
    318 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    my sig is like 2 years old. i have an e6300 right now.
  10. DanTheBanjoman Señor Moderator

    Joined:
    May 20, 2004
    Messages:
    10,553 (2.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,383
    Then don't read it.
  11. DanTheBanjoman Señor Moderator

    Joined:
    May 20, 2004
    Messages:
    10,553 (2.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,383
    Lower resolutions prevent the videocard from being a bottleneck, therefor it is logical to benchmark a CPU that way.
  12. metro New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2006
    Messages:
    26 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Damn mates, look around those results come from HKEPC and are about 3 days old.
  13. Grings

    Grings New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2006
    Messages:
    2,302 (0.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    184
    Location:
    Blighty
    it was news to me, which i wouldnt have known if someone hadnt posted it here, its not like theyve been released or anything
  14. metro New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2006
    Messages:
    26 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I'm not aguing that, im saying give credit to the real source you at least have to do that
  15. OBR New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2005
    Messages:
    39 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Location:
    Czechia
    I dont Mr. nothing, i like stupid noobs like you are ... :laugh:
  16. mandelore

    mandelore New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2006
    Messages:
    3,251 (1.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    152
    Location:
    UK-small Village in a Valley Near Newcastle
    huh?
  17. breakfromyou New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2005
    Messages:
    298 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Location:
    virginia, usa
    They should. That's the whole point behind P35. DDR3, 1333 FSB support, and 45nm support.
  18. Easy Rhino

    Easy Rhino Linux Advocate

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2006
    Messages:
    13,390 (4.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,223
    that is what i was thinking...
  19. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,324 (8.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,777
    Third that.

    Did he just call dan a noob?
  20. Tatty_One

    Tatty_One Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2006
    Messages:
    16,404 (5.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,345
    Location:
    Worcestershire, UK
    The thread starter gave credit to the source he got it from which I think is the point, if he had of got it from HKEPC I am sure he would have given them credit.
  21. Tatty_One

    Tatty_One Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2006
    Messages:
    16,404 (5.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,345
    Location:
    Worcestershire, UK
    I can only assume from your comment that you dont consider yourself a noob then? The comment Dan made did not insult you and yet you feel it appropriate to come into a thread that you now have said that you have not read and insult people, where I come from one of the definitions of a "noob" is one that insults others without even reading the thread through.....tolerance, patience and good manners cost little but it's things that most of us like to see from time to time in this forum. ;)
    Darkrealms and error_f0rce say thanks.
  22. jothy New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2007
    Messages:
    37 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    alot of p965 boards do also, with a bios flash.
  23. error_f0rce

    error_f0rce New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2006
    Messages:
    942 (0.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12
    Location:
    Wisconsin, USA
    Amen...
    LOL, Dan a noob... that's a good one:rolleyes:
  24. Tuk New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2007
    Messages:
    23 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Looks like SSE4 makes a HUGE performance difference.

    I wish they had compared Wolfdale to a Quad-Core CPU.

    In any case, now I hope people see why buying an E6750 now and Yorkfield later is better than buying the Q6600 after the price drop (Yorkfield @ 4.2Ghz, 8 threads, 12MB). E6750 @ 4.0Ghz gives the same performance as the Q6600 @ 2.4Ghz (stock) until then anyway.
  25. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,324 (8.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,777
    Yeah, but what if you OC the quad?

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page