1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

First Pre-built Desktop with AMD FX-9590 Begins Rolling Out

Discussion in 'News' started by btarunr, Jul 16, 2013.

  1. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    28,371 (11.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,607
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    Despite its $900-ish retail presence, AMD's 5 GHz eight-core processor, the FX-9590, was designed to be an OEM part, where OEMs could deploy the right motherboard and cooling solution for the 220W TDP chip. One of the first OEMs to [dare to] come out with one such contraption is Japan's Mouse Computer. The company's G-Tune Masterpiece a1500BA1 desktop includes an AMD FX-9590 processor, and Radeon HD 8990 (re-branded HD 7990 "Malta") graphics card as standard equipment.

    The Masterpiece a1500BA1 uses a Cooler Master Seidon 120XL to tame the 220W AMD FX-9590, and an unannounced MSI 990FXA-GD80 V2 motherboard to seat it. Other components include Kingston HyperX DDR3-1866 MHz 16 GB dual-channel memory, Samsung 840 Pro 256 GB SSD, an additional 3 TB HDD, a Blu-ray writer, and an unknown 1200W 80 Plus Gold-certified PSU. Windows 8 64-bit comes pre-installed. Based on the 32 nm "Vishera" silicon, AMD FX-9590 is an eight-core processor in the AM3+ package, with 4.80 GHz nominal and 5.00 GHz TurboCore frequency. The 5.00 GHz Turbo state spools up for all eight cores. Backed by a 1-year warranty (besides individual component warranties), the Masterpiece a1500BA1 is priced at a staggering 449,800 JPY (US $4,500).

    [​IMG]

    Source: Hermitage Akihabara
  2. TRWOV

    TRWOV

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2011
    Messages:
    3,471 (3.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,014
    Location:
    Mexico
    $4500? What a steal!
    Crunching for Team TPU
  3. Relayer

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2009
    Messages:
    237 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    29
    8990, huh! LOL. I understand the whole rebranding back when it originally occurred. Seems pretty pointless at this point in time, though.
  4. Lionheart

    Lionheart

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2008
    Messages:
    4,033 (1.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    797
    Location:
    Milky Way Galaxy
    What a bargain :wtf:
  5. the54thvoid

    the54thvoid

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2009
    Messages:
    3,241 (1.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,470
    Location:
    Glasgow - home of formal profanity
    Well, I never knew they were allowed to rebrand like that. I mean, I know the GTX 770 is just a highly overclocked GTX 680 with Boost 2.0. But really, 8990 is just a 7990 Malta reference? With no difference (I'm only guessing that).

    Terrible tactics.
  6. theoneandonlymrk

    theoneandonlymrk

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2010
    Messages:
    3,371 (2.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    562
    Location:
    Manchester uk
    Yes it is from both gfx companies, and they're exactly as bad as each other and doing exactly the same thing.
  7. ensabrenoir

    ensabrenoir

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2010
    Messages:
    1,181 (0.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    186
    :eek:.....UNBELIEVEBLE.......with this price point ...and performance level AMD...has finally stolen the performance crown..... rock on guys...rock on!!!!!! :roll:

    Seriously though any sub zero testing yet?
  8. tigger

    tigger I'm the only one

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2006
    Messages:
    10,183 (3.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,399
  9. Jorge

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2013
    Messages:
    722 (1.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    79
    Only a damn fool would spend that kind of money on that box.
  10. 2wicked

    2wicked

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2008
    Messages:
    261 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    94
    Location:
    Directly above the center of the Earth
  11. suraswami

    suraswami

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2005
    Messages:
    6,096 (1.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    802
    Location:
    Republic of Asia (a.k.a Irvine), CA
    Can this heat my water too apart from serving as home heater? :roll:
  12. linoliveira

    linoliveira

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2011
    Messages:
    126 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    22
    Location:
    Portugal
    It maybe can cook some eggs and vegetables :roll:

    Sorry I saw one image I could not resist to post :laugh:

    [​IMG]


    EDIT: saw a review couple days ago of this CPU: HERE. Don't know if its legit though...
    Last edited: Jul 16, 2013
    Lionheart says thanks.
  13. theoneandonlymrk

    theoneandonlymrk

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2010
    Messages:
    3,371 (2.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    562
    Location:
    Manchester uk
    If it burns the owners a clown.... simples
  14. drdeathx

    drdeathx

    Joined:
    May 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,132 (1.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    479
    Location:
    Chicago burbs
    LOL Einstein, its NOT Bulldozer. try again

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page