1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

First rig, Is this everything/will it work?

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by Jaywray, Mar 21, 2012.

  1. Aquinus

    Aquinus Resident Wat-man

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    Messages:
    6,419 (6.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,158
    Location:
    Concord, NH
    If you wait for Ivy Bridge and Kepler, the prices of some of these components very well might drop. Otherwise better hardware for the same price could be nice. I personally would wait for Ivy Bridge and Kepler to see how it impacts prices since they will be coming out in the relatively near future.

    Also I might add you're paying ~60USD more for the 560 TI than the 6870 for only a couple more frames per second in BF3. I'm perfectly happy with my 6870. I liked it so much I cross-fired it and honestly, the 3DMark 2011 score for the 560 TI and the 6870 are just about exactly the same at stock speeds. I've been able to easily hit 1ghz on both of my 6870s which yielded about 11-13% improvement in frame-rates. I would call that a bargain.
     
  2. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,675 (9.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,153
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    HMMM I dont see this getting good FPS on ultra? A 6870 is neck and neck with 5850 and the 560TI (NON 448 core) is around 6950/7850 speeds. The 560 TI 448 Core is 570/7870 speeds.

    The cpu in BF3 doesn't mean much but I am doubting a 1GB 6870 will run ultra with more that 30FPS
     
    LifeOnMars says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  3. Jaywray New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2011
    Messages:
    47 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14
    Honestly mate, colour and looks matter so little to me, as long as it works and it keeps things cool then it'll be grand :)
    Ehhh unless you know some secret place where they're cheap as hell, I already have a keyboard and was just gona buy a wee cheap mouse to start off with :)
     
  4. Jaywray New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2011
    Messages:
    47 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14
    Problem with kepler is it doesn't have any dates, I was gona start buying the stuff around the end of this month/early april, but if Ivy bridge comes up mid april (who knows if they'll keep for that) I may wait, but to be frank I don't personally see it changing the price, the i-series hasn't dropped a penny since early 2011. (at least in the uk) but I think you'll right, think I may wait a bit for ivy bridge, just buy the processor last :)

    the reason I was initially sold on the 560ti was because I've heard so many good things on it, about the overclocking, where as I haven't for the 6870 ): (don't take offence I just personally haven't heard it!)
     
  5. LifeOnMars

    LifeOnMars New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2008
    Messages:
    2,566 (1.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    396
    Location:
    Kettering,Northants. UK
    I think the GTX 560ti will be fine for your build at 1080p. Honestly, it's doing me grand at 1080p and regarding Vram, the majority of titles are still not hitting the limit with default/high settings.
    I also think you should stay clear of SLI, great when it works..... pain in the ass when it doesnt, not to mention the added heat and noise.

    That said, this mobo I have chosen is SLI capable if you so wish in the future but you would need a beefier PSU. Overclocking the 2500K to 4/4.2 will be a breeze and that cooler will be more than adequate. (It will actually let you go to 4.5GHz in most cases)

    I have come up with a build which is adaptable regarding cost. This for example includes an SSD for your OS and 2TB Drive. It is better to keep the OS and Games separated on different drives even if they are just mechanical ones like myself it is better than just the one holding everything.

    Tell me what you think bud and see what you would change :)

    [​IMG]
     
    Jaywray says thanks.
  6. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,675 (9.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,153
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    TOTAL was cut off by the TPU watermark LOLZ
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  7. LifeOnMars

    LifeOnMars New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2008
    Messages:
    2,566 (1.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    396
    Location:
    Kettering,Northants. UK
    :D Sorted :D How do you find your GTX 560TI Brandon? My card which is the one I have included for his build seems to be coping with everything smoothly with good image quality. I will be SLIng just for shits and giggles but by all accounts, it looks like Kepler will be my next card in a few months time.
     
  8. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (7.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    I would only SLI if you were going to do an upgrade to utilize Nvidia surround. Just my .02
     
    LifeOnMars says thanks.
  9. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,675 (9.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,153
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    I have the 2GB version and I love it, Stock clocks are lower than the regular 1GB version but I have set my stock clocks to some of the 1GB cards and it works without voltage bump. I have broke over 30K in 3dmark06 finally! I get around 5300 in 3dmark11 on stock clocks. I love this card really!
     
    LifeOnMars says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  10. LifeOnMars

    LifeOnMars New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2008
    Messages:
    2,566 (1.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    396
    Location:
    Kettering,Northants. UK
    Is that you saying you are not that impressed by your 460 SLI or what JR? Surely the framerates would increase nicely, especially with a high clocked 2500K behind them?
     
  11. Jaywray New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2011
    Messages:
    47 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14

    Man I think I'm gona go for exactly that :)... exceeept, I just cant afford the SSD ): £750 is the absolute max I have, and... I changed my mind about waiting for the new ivy bridge LOL AMD announced it's quitting the processor war in the computer market... time for intel prices to skyrocket...

    Thanks for all your help, will everything 100% be in there? I just need a philips screw driver and I'm set? :)
     
    LifeOnMars says thanks.
  12. LifeOnMars

    LifeOnMars New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2008
    Messages:
    2,566 (1.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    396
    Location:
    Kettering,Northants. UK
    Everything should come with the items listed (If you are missing anything like standoffs etc just pm me and I'll send you some mate). The GFX card even comes with SLI connector if needed in the future.

    I know you said this is your first but have you fitted parts in a rig before and are you aware of precautions you should take?

    Sell a lung and include the SSD, they are worth it :)

    Oh and what OS are you using?
     
  13. Jaywray New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2011
    Messages:
    47 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14
    Very much appreciated man :), Ill wait an extra week and get the ssd then, if you really suggest it man :).

    Annnd, I've changed bits and pieces, and I've a mate who used to work in a computer referb company, who'll be coming round to help me out, I know about grounding etc, the old touch the case trick :)

    Ehhh probably windows 7, I've used Linux before, and I like it... just it's not all that compatible for gaming, even with WINE it's hit or miss.
     
    Last edited: Mar 22, 2012
    LifeOnMars says thanks.
  14. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (7.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    Not at all. From a performance perspective, you got games coming out that will eat up and enjoy cards with more than a 1gb framebuffer.

    edit
    right now I'm on a 1600x.900 display. So very little bottleneck.
     
    Last edited: Mar 22, 2012
    LifeOnMars says thanks.
  15. LifeOnMars

    LifeOnMars New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2008
    Messages:
    2,566 (1.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    396
    Location:
    Kettering,Northants. UK
    Nice one. Make sure it's a 64bit OS so you can use the RAM to the max. Have fun and good luck. Post here with a log of your build, PICS would be great.

    Make sure you are a regular on here bud and join the TPU UK thread for a nice bit of English banter;)
     
  16. OneMoar

    OneMoar

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010
    Messages:
    3,564 (2.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,027
    Location:
    Rochester area
    Personally I would opt for a z86 board like the Extreme 3 gen 3 ... having use of the onchip video switching is handy also the hyper 212+ is a better cooler
     
  17. LifeOnMars

    LifeOnMars New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2008
    Messages:
    2,566 (1.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    396
    Location:
    Kettering,Northants. UK
    Huh? That's the exact board in the setup he is going for and the Evo will be enough to handle the 4-4.2ghz overclock he wanted and most probably 4.5Ghz unless he is unlucky with the chip.
     
  18. Yo_Wattup New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2012
    Messages:
    790 (0.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    200
    Location:
    Brisbane, Australia
    Chyea'... maybe if you play on 1440x900...

    Everything in this post is 100% accurate... wow... perfect post. :rockout:
     
  19. Aquinus

    Aquinus Resident Wat-man

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    Messages:
    6,419 (6.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,158
    Location:
    Concord, NH
    Actually, lower resolutions games tend to be more CPU demanding, a faster CPU would benefit more than a faster GPU at this resolution.

    Maybe this will clarify how fast each chip runs.
    BF3, Ultra, 4x AA, 16x AF @ 1920x1200. (Thanks Guru3d.)

    3 more FPS for 60 dollars? The 6870 might be a better option all around even if it isn't faster. (The 6870 can hit 1ghz core clock too.)
    [​IMG]
     
  20. LifeOnMars

    LifeOnMars New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2008
    Messages:
    2,566 (1.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    396
    Location:
    Kettering,Northants. UK
    I'm loving the fact that I can play Mafia 2, Batman AA & AC, Mirrors Edge, Alice- Madness, Just Cause 2 with full Physx and full features at 1080p with max settings. It overclocks like no ones business also, so yeh, for an extra 60 bucks that's not to bad really is it? ;) You also don't have to put with AMD's shitty drivers and yes, I have owned numerous types of their cards in the past so no smarmy fanboy comments please.

    Regarding your comment on lower resolution CPU utilization. You should have just said that the CPU is the smallest common denominator the more you decrease your resolution. Therefore the lower the res you are gaming at the less important it is to have an uber graphic card as CPU's are pushing out more frames for games at that res :D
     
    Last edited: Mar 23, 2012
  21. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    12,914 (4.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,608
    why not go Z68 or Z77 for the motherboard?
     
  22. Aquinus

    Aquinus Resident Wat-man

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    Messages:
    6,419 (6.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,158
    Location:
    Concord, NH
    I wouldn't have bought another 6870 if the drivers weren't usable. I've never run into an issue with AMD video drivers with the games I play. Even since I started using Crossfire, I haven't had an issue.
     
    Last edited: Mar 23, 2012
  23. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    12,914 (4.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,608
    Im in same situation and so is my bro, no driver issues, infact he upgraded ontop of his drivers and had no crippling effects at all
     
  24. LifeOnMars

    LifeOnMars New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2008
    Messages:
    2,566 (1.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    396
    Location:
    Kettering,Northants. UK
    Oh for the love of god read the thread :shadedshu

    Also, some people don't have issues with AMD. I did, especially for some of the games I play. They are perfectly fine cards for the majority.
     
  25. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    12,914 (4.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,608
    chill dude, just wonderin honestly since the Z68 fixed many issues P67 had
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 0 (0 members and 0 guests)

Share This Page