1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

First time builder, need some inputs

Discussion in 'System Builder's Advice' started by Teiji, May 2, 2012.

1. Teiji New Member

Thanks Received:
    Hello, this is my first time building a PC. I mainly going to use this PC to do visual effects (After Effects), web browsing, watching HD movies, and light gaming (hence the GPU you see below).

I've already bought all the components, and I'm going to start building it this weekend when all the components arrive. However, I'm starting to have concerns on some components and need some input. Below are the components:

ASUS P8Z77-V motherboard
    Intel i7-3770K CPU (will overclock to 4.5Ghz)
    nVidia GTX 550 Ti graphic card (one only)
    OCZ ZT 650W PSU
    G.SKILL Ripjaws X DDR3 1600 (PC3 12800) 4x4GB (16GB)
    Crucial m4 128GB SSD
    Hitachi 1TB harddrive (temporary until HDD price goes down)
    CM Storm Enforcer case + 1 additional 200mm fan (top)
    CM Hyper 212+ cooler

I have several concerns:
    1. Will the 212+ block one of my RAM slot? (Anyone with the same mobo, RAM, and cooler can confirm?)
    2a. Can the PSU powers all of my components, including the OC CPU, with no problem? (I didn't do too much research on PSU and impulse bought this one because it was a deal. I've also sent in the rebate, so I can't return it. :( )
    2b. If the PSU die one day, will it kill all of my components? (The PSU box states that the PSU has "heavy-duty protection circuitry, over-voltage, over-current, over-power, and short circuit." So this should guarantee not killing my other components when it die, right?)

Any input would be appreciated. Thanks.
    Last edited: May 2, 2012
  2. Jetster

Jetster

Thanks Received:
    1. It will be close. But you can always move the fan to the other side and use it as a pull
    2. Yes it will be ok